How to Become a Home Health Aide in Iowa (2026)
Iowa employs about 25,800 home health aides earning a median $36,080 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Home Health Aide here means completing a state-approved home health aide program, competency evaluation, and state listing where required. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Iowa): $36,080/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Iowa: 25,800 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.60x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 17.0% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Home Health Aide Schools in Iowa
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | South Central College | 60.0 | Contact school for pricing | $52,003 | 34% | Yes* | 128 mi |
| 2 | Marshalltown Community College | 59.9 | Contact school for pricing | $52,110 | Not reported | Yes* | 34 mi |
| 3 | Iowa Lakes Community College | 59.8 | Contact school for pricing | $47,158 | Not reported | Yes* | 105 mi |
| 4 | Southwestern Community College | 57.2 | $8,064 - $16,951 | $51,650 | 56% | Yes* | 109 mi |
| 5 | Northeast Iowa Community College | 56.6 | $6,780 - $17,838 | $50,002 | 50% | Yes* | 88 mi |
| 6 | Kirkwood Community College | 56.3 | Contact school for pricing | $48,663 | Not reported | Yes* | 90 mi |
| 7 | Indian Hills Community College | 56.1 | Contact school for pricing | $50,322 | Not reported | Yes* | 105 mi |
| 8 | Hawkeye Community College | 54.6 | Contact school for pricing | $49,163 | 38% | Yes* | 48 mi |
| 9 | Iowa Central Community College | 54.0 | Contact school for pricing | $46,682 | Not reported | Yes* | 48 mi |
| 10 | Minnesota State College Southeast | 51.4 | Contact school for pricing | $51,496 | 49% | Yes* | 139 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Iowa employs approximately 25,800 home health aides according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $36,080 1. Nationally, home health aide employment is projected to grow 17.0% from 2024 to 2034, with about 765,800 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Home Health Aide in Iowa, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: state-approved home health aide program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a state-approved home health aide program, competency evaluation, and state listing where required
- Exam: HHA competency evaluation
- Median wage (Iowa): $36,080 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Home Health Aide in Iowa
How to become a Home Health Aide in Iowa? Complete a state-approved home health aide program, competency evaluation, and state listing where required. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a state-approved home health aide program, competency evaluation, and state listing where required. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Iowa? Licensing varies. Confirm with the program and employer. See the licensing section below.
What do home health aides earn in Iowa? The median annual wage for home health aides in Iowa is $36,080 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $30,420 and experienced professionals can earn $45,490 or more 1.
How to Become a Home Health Aide in Iowa
- Meet entry rules. Confirm age, background-check, and health-screening rules with the training program and the employer.
- Complete a state-approved HHA program. Finish an approved home health aide program in Iowa. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Pass the competency evaluation. Complete the skills and knowledge evaluation the state uses for HHAs.
- Get certified or listed. Get listed or certified as an HHA where the state uses that credential. Do not treat a CNA listing as the HHA credential. Confirm with the employer.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Home Health Aide License Requirements in Iowa
Home health aides in Iowa complete an approved HHA program and competency evaluation. Some states certify this role; most do not. Confirm with the employer when a state credential exists.
Typical path
Meet entry rules.
Complete a state-approved HHA program.
Pass the competency evaluation.
Obtain HHA certification or listing from the employer.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the employer before you enroll.
Home Health Aide Wages by Metro Area in Iowa
Home Health and Personal Care Aides Wages by Metro Area in Iowa
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), home health and personal care aides wages in Iowa vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Omaha | 7,480 | $36,450 | $38,130 | $31,850 | $44,630 |
| Des Moines-West Des Moines | 6,210 | $36,350 | $36,820 | $30,800 | $44,520 |
| Davenport-Moline-Rock Island | 2,280 | $34,370 | $35,410 | $29,900 | $44,260 |
| Cedar Rapids | 2,260 | $35,370 | $36,650 | $29,850 | $46,390 |
| Iowa City | 1,780 | $35,630 | $36,180 | $30,240 | $44,590 |
| Waterloo-Cedar Falls | 1,320 | $36,510 | $36,830 | $27,360 | $46,380 |
| Sioux City | 1,230 | $36,580 | $37,110 | $29,830 | $45,610 |
| Dubuque | 1,020 | $38,090 | $39,090 | $32,220 | $46,220 |
| Ames | 700 | $35,660 | $37,000 | $32,030 | $44,980 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for home health aides in Iowa? Iowa currently employs approximately 25,800 home health aides 1. Nationally, home health aide employment is projected to grow 17.0% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a home health aide in Iowa with an out-of-state license? Confirm reciprocity rules with the program and employer.
What training programs are available in Iowa? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Iowa.
How much do home health aides earn in Iowa compared to the national average? The median annual wage for home health aides in Iowa is $36,080, which is $1,180 above the national median of $34,900 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Iowa
Top local programs
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Altoona, Iowa (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Ames, Iowa (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Ankeny, Iowa (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Bettendorf, Iowa (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Boone, Iowa (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Burlington, Iowa (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Cedar Falls, Iowa (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Cedar Rapids, Iowa (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Clinton, Iowa (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Clive, Iowa (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Coralville, Iowa (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Council Bluffs, Iowa (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Iowa (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Iowa
- Best HVAC Schools in Iowa (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Iowa
- Best Plumbing Schools in Iowa (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Iowa
Explore More Trades in Iowa
- Electrician in Iowa
- Plumber in Iowa
- HVAC Technician in Iowa
- Welder in Iowa
- Carpenter in Iowa
- Solar Installation Technician in Iowa
- Auto Mechanic in Iowa
- CNC Machinist in Iowa
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Iowa
- Medical Assistant in Iowa
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |