How to Become a Home Health Aide in Montana (2026)
Montana employs about 10,400 home health aides earning a median $36,630 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Home Health Aide here means completing a state-approved home health aide program, competency evaluation, and state listing where required. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
Compare Home Health Aide Schools in Montana
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition (published, per year) | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Bellingham Technical College | 69.4 | $4,431 in-state / $5,809 out-of-state | Not reported | 42% | Yes* | 549 mi |
| 2 | Highline College | 68.6 | $4,772 in-state / $5,332 out-of-state | $59,261 | 35% | Yes* | 532 mi |
| 3 | Lake Region State College | 68.5 | $5,520 | $60,667 | 52% | Yes* | 571 mi |
| 4 | Edmonds College | 67.5 | $4,810 in-state / $10,875 out-of-state | $52,875 | 29% | Yes* | 534 mi |
| 5 | Bates Technical College | 65.2 | $6,027 in-state / $12,165 out-of-state | Not reported | 43% | Yes* | 539 mi |
| 6 | Morgan Community College | 59.9 | $4,252 in-state / $16,852 out-of-state | $48,025 | 45% | Yes* | 584 mi |
| 7 | Colorado Mesa University | 56.7 | $9,927 in-state / $25,124 out-of-state | $58,601 | 41% | Yes* | 555 mi |
| 8 | Aims Community College | 52.8 | $2,258 in-state / $11,786 out-of-state | $51,704 | 40% | Yes* | 546 mi |
| 9 | Davis Technical College | 47.9 | Contact school for pricing | $47,706 | 57% | — | 409 mi |
| 10 | North Idaho College | 46.4 | $3,396 in-state / $8,736 out-of-state | $50,312 | 38% | Yes* | 277 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Montana employs approximately 10,400 home health aides according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $36,630 1. Nationally, home health aide employment is projected to grow 17.0% from 2024 to 2034, with about 765,800 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Home Health Aide in Montana, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: state-approved home health aide program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a state-approved home health aide program, competency evaluation, and state listing where required
- Exam: HHA competency evaluation
- Median wage (Montana): $36,630 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Home Health Aide in Montana
How to become a Home Health Aide in Montana? Complete a state-approved home health aide program, competency evaluation, and state listing where required. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a state-approved home health aide program, competency evaluation, and state listing where required. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Montana? Licensing varies. Confirm with the program and employer. See the licensing section below.
What do home health aides earn in Montana? The median annual wage for home health aides in Montana is $36,630 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $29,370 and experienced professionals can earn $44,740 or more 1.
How to Become a Home Health Aide in Montana
- Meet entry rules. Confirm age, background-check, and health-screening rules with the training program and the employer.
- Complete a state-approved HHA program. Finish an approved home health aide program in Montana. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Pass the competency evaluation. Complete the skills and knowledge evaluation the state uses for HHAs.
- Get certified or listed. Get listed or certified as an HHA where the state uses that credential. Do not treat a CNA listing as the HHA credential. Confirm with the employer.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Home Health Aide License Requirements in Montana
Home health aides in Montana complete an approved HHA program and competency evaluation. Some states certify this role; most do not. Confirm with the employer when a state credential exists.
Typical path
Meet entry rules.
Complete a state-approved HHA program.
Pass the competency evaluation.
Obtain HHA certification or listing from the employer.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the employer before you enroll.
Home Health Aide Wages by Metro Area in Montana
Home Health and Personal Care Aides Wages by Metro Area in Montana
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), home health and personal care aides wages in Montana vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Missoula | 1,950 | $38,050 | $38,310 | $29,490 | $44,560 |
| Billings | 1,660 | $36,640 | $36,870 | $30,230 | $44,740 |
| Great Falls | 990 | $34,540 | $34,490 | $27,460 | $43,660 |
| Helena | 960 | $36,570 | $36,810 | $29,270 | $45,550 |
| Bozeman | 710 | $39,280 | $41,060 | $35,280 | $47,060 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for home health aides in Montana? Montana currently employs approximately 10,400 home health aides 1. Nationally, home health aide employment is projected to grow 17.0% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a home health aide in Montana with an out-of-state license? Confirm reciprocity rules with the program and employer.
What training programs are available in Montana? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Montana.
How much do home health aides earn in Montana compared to the national average? The median annual wage for home health aides in Montana is $36,630, which is $1,730 above the national median of $34,900 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Montana
Top local programs
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Butte, Montana (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Helena, Montana (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Kalispell, Montana (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Missoula, Montana (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Montana (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Montana (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Montana
- Best HVAC Schools in Montana (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Montana
- Best Plumbing Schools in Montana (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Montana
Explore More Trades in Montana
- Electrician in Montana
- Plumber in Montana
- HVAC Technician in Montana
- Welder in Montana
- Carpenter in Montana
- Solar Installation Technician in Montana
- Auto Mechanic in Montana
- CNC Machinist in Montana
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Montana
- Medical Assistant in Montana
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |