How to Become a Home Health Aide in North Carolina (2026)
North Carolina employs about 58,880 home health aides earning a median $31,240 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Home Health Aide here means completing a state-approved home health aide program, competency evaluation, and state listing where required. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
Key Facts
- Median wage (North Carolina): $31,240/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in North Carolina: 58,880 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.43x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 17.0% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Home Health Aide Schools in North Carolina
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Patrick & Henry Community College | 56.2 | Contact school for pricing | $44,016 | 43% | Yes* | 89 mi |
| 2 | Virginia Western Community College | 54.1 | Contact school for pricing | $48,004 | 40% | Yes* | 124 mi |
| 3 | New River Community College | 53.9 | Contact school for pricing | $49,197 | 47% | Yes* | 125 mi |
| 4 | Spartanburg Community College | 51.3 | Contact school for pricing | $48,991 | Not reported | Yes* | 130 mi |
| 5 | Horry-Georgetown Technical College | 50.3 | Contact school for pricing | $46,000 | 32% | Yes* | 122 mi |
| 6 | Danville Community College | 46.4 | $4,992 - $14,126 | $40,486 | 39% | Yes* | 79 mi |
| 7 | Central Carolina Technical College | 43.9 | Contact school for pricing | $45,876 | Not reported | Yes* | 111 mi |
| 8 | Midlands Technical College | 41.9 | Contact school for pricing | $46,832 | 17% | Yes* | 130 mi |
| 9 | Williamsburg Technical College | 41.4 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | Yes* | 124 mi |
| 10 | York Technical College | 40.4 | Contact school for pricing | $47,738 | Not reported | — | 79 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
North Carolina employs approximately 58,880 home health aides according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $31,240 1. Nationally, home health aide employment is projected to grow 17.0% from 2024 to 2034, with about 765,800 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Home Health Aide in North Carolina, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: state-approved home health aide program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a state-approved home health aide program, competency evaluation, and state listing where required
- Exam: HHA competency evaluation
- Median wage (North Carolina): $31,240 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Home Health Aide in North Carolina
How to become a Home Health Aide in North Carolina? Complete a state-approved home health aide program, competency evaluation, and state listing where required. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a state-approved home health aide program, competency evaluation, and state listing where required. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in North Carolina? Licensing varies. Confirm with the program and employer. See the licensing section below.
What do home health aides earn in North Carolina? The median annual wage for home health aides in North Carolina is $31,240 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $24,690 and experienced professionals can earn $38,680 or more 1.
How to Become a Home Health Aide in North Carolina
- Meet entry rules. Confirm age, background-check, and health-screening rules with the training program and the employer.
- Complete a state-approved HHA program. Finish an approved home health aide program in North Carolina. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Pass the competency evaluation. Complete the skills and knowledge evaluation the state uses for HHAs.
- Get certified or listed. Get listed or certified as an HHA where the state uses that credential. Do not treat a CNA listing as the HHA credential. Confirm with the employer.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Home Health Aide License Requirements in North Carolina
Home health aides in North Carolina complete an approved HHA program and competency evaluation. Some states certify this role; most do not. Confirm with the employer when a state credential exists.
Typical path
Meet entry rules.
Complete a state-approved HHA program.
Pass the competency evaluation.
Obtain HHA certification or listing from the employer.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the employer before you enroll.
Home Health Aide Wages by Metro Area in North Carolina
Home Health and Personal Care Aides Wages by Metro Area in North Carolina
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), home health and personal care aides wages in North Carolina vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Virginia Beach-Chesapeake-Norfolk | 13,650 | $28,420 | $30,690 | $26,090 | $37,190 |
| Charlotte-Concord-Gastonia | 13,520 | $33,680 | $33,500 | $26,920 | $41,560 |
| Raleigh-Cary | 6,970 | $32,570 | $33,330 | $27,060 | $39,430 |
| Greensboro-High Point | 4,620 | $29,440 | $31,120 | $24,240 | $37,430 |
| Winston-Salem | 3,480 | $30,400 | $31,980 | $24,620 | $37,970 |
| Durham-Chapel Hill | 2,840 | $33,630 | $33,970 | $27,770 | $41,850 |
| Wilmington | 2,650 | $31,540 | $32,500 | $27,060 | $38,790 |
| Asheville | 2,280 | $33,280 | $33,810 | $28,700 | $42,950 |
| Hickory-Lenoir-Morganton | 2,040 | $30,490 | $31,330 | $23,570 | $37,380 |
| Fayetteville | 1,770 | $29,150 | $30,450 | $22,880 | $36,570 |
| Greenville | 1,560 | $30,620 | $31,570 | $24,250 | $35,680 |
| Goldsboro | 1,190 | $38,300 | $34,610 | $26,770 | $38,300 |
| Rocky Mount | 890 | $28,910 | $30,390 | $22,420 | $38,000 |
| Burlington | 870 | $30,420 | $32,000 | $24,620 | $37,930 |
| Pinehurst-Southern Pines | 560 | $28,850 | $30,580 | $23,930 | $37,350 |
| Jacksonville | 500 | $31,400 | $32,090 | $22,500 | $39,220 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for home health aides in North Carolina? North Carolina currently employs approximately 58,880 home health aides 1. Nationally, home health aide employment is projected to grow 17.0% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a home health aide in North Carolina with an out-of-state license? Confirm reciprocity rules with the program and employer.
What training programs are available in North Carolina? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in North Carolina.
How much do home health aides earn in North Carolina compared to the national average? The median annual wage for home health aides in North Carolina is $31,240, which is $3,660 below the national median of $34,900 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In North Carolina
Top local programs
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Albemarle, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Apex, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Archdale, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Archer Lodge, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Asheboro, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Asheville, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Belmont, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Boone, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Brevard, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Burlington, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Butner, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Carrboro, North Carolina (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in North Carolina (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in North Carolina
- Best HVAC Schools in North Carolina (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in North Carolina
- Best Plumbing Schools in North Carolina (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in North Carolina
Explore More Trades in North Carolina
- Electrician in North Carolina
- Plumber in North Carolina
- HVAC Technician in North Carolina
- Welder in North Carolina
- Carpenter in North Carolina
- Solar Installation Technician in North Carolina
- Auto Mechanic in North Carolina
- CNC Machinist in North Carolina
- Certified Nursing Assistant in North Carolina
- Medical Assistant in North Carolina
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |