How to Become a Home Health Aide in Oregon (2026)
Oregon employs about 42,330 home health aides earning a median $44,410 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Home Health Aide here means completing a state-approved home health aide program, competency evaluation, and state listing where required. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
Compare Home Health Aide Schools in Oregon
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition (published, per year) | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Bellingham Technical College | 69.4 | $4,431 in-state / $5,809 out-of-state | Not reported | 42% | Yes* | 256 mi |
| 2 | Highline College | 68.6 | $4,772 in-state / $5,332 out-of-state | $59,261 | 35% | Yes* | 161 mi |
| 3 | Edmonds College | 67.5 | $4,810 in-state / $10,875 out-of-state | $52,875 | 29% | Yes* | 191 mi |
| 4 | Bates Technical College | 65.2 | $6,027 in-state / $12,165 out-of-state | Not reported | 43% | Yes* | 152 mi |
| 5 | Shasta College | 60.4 | $1,197 in-state / $8,853 out-of-state | $71,612 | 23% | Yes* | 306 mi |
| 6 | Peninsula College | 58.8 | $4,718 in-state / $5,270 out-of-state | $44,056 | 37% | Yes* | 215 mi |
| 7 | Tillamook Bay Community College | 51.1 | $4,896 in-state / $5,616 out-of-state | $46,973 | 17% | Yes* | 72 mi |
| 8 | Southwestern Oregon Community College | 48.8 | $7,192 | $48,012 | 40% | Yes* | 146 mi |
| 9 | Northwest Indian College | 46.1 | $4,365 | $49,696 | 18% | Yes* | 255 mi |
| 10 | College of the Redwoods | 42.3 | $1,198 in-state / $8,854 out-of-state | $37,636 | 34% | Yes* | 307 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Oregon employs approximately 42,330 home health aides according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $44,410 1. Nationally, home health aide employment is projected to grow 17.0% from 2024 to 2034, with about 765,800 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Home Health Aide in Oregon, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: state-approved home health aide program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a state-approved home health aide program, competency evaluation, and state listing where required
- Exam: HHA competency evaluation
- Median wage (Oregon): $44,410 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Home Health Aide in Oregon
How to become a Home Health Aide in Oregon? Complete a state-approved home health aide program, competency evaluation, and state listing where required. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a state-approved home health aide program, competency evaluation, and state listing where required. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Oregon? Licensing varies. Confirm with the program and employer. See the licensing section below.
What do home health aides earn in Oregon? The median annual wage for home health aides in Oregon is $44,410 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $37,650 and experienced professionals can earn $53,120 or more 1.
How to Become a Home Health Aide in Oregon
- Meet entry rules. Confirm age, background-check, and health-screening rules with the training program and the employer.
- Complete a state-approved HHA program. Finish an approved home health aide program in Oregon. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Pass the competency evaluation. Complete the skills and knowledge evaluation the state uses for HHAs.
- Get certified or listed. Get listed or certified as an HHA where the state uses that credential. Do not treat a CNA listing as the HHA credential. Confirm with the employer.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Home Health Aide License Requirements in Oregon
Home health aides in Oregon complete an approved HHA program and competency evaluation. Some states certify this role; most do not. Confirm with the employer when a state credential exists.
Typical path
Meet entry rules.
Complete a state-approved HHA program.
Pass the competency evaluation.
Obtain HHA certification or listing from the employer.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the employer before you enroll.
Home Health Aide Wages by Metro Area in Oregon
Home Health and Personal Care Aides Wages by Metro Area in Oregon
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), home health and personal care aides wages in Oregon vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Portland-Vancouver-Hillsboro | 22,860 | $45,570 | $46,350 | $39,120 | $52,900 |
| Salem | 7,040 | $45,200 | $44,190 | $37,320 | $48,340 |
| Grants Pass | 4,640 | $53,120 | $51,080 | $42,610 | $55,120 |
| Eugene-Springfield | 3,630 | $40,690 | $41,410 | $36,890 | $45,810 |
| Medford | 3,000 | $44,950 | $44,410 | $37,800 | $50,460 |
| Albany | 1,460 | $42,120 | $43,800 | $36,890 | $48,720 |
| Bend | 1,400 | $43,140 | $43,620 | $38,380 | $50,010 |
| Corvallis | 670 | $40,800 | $41,940 | $36,920 | $48,470 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for home health aides in Oregon? Oregon currently employs approximately 42,330 home health aides 1. Nationally, home health aide employment is projected to grow 17.0% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a home health aide in Oregon with an out-of-state license? Confirm reciprocity rules with the program and employer.
What training programs are available in Oregon? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Oregon.
How much do home health aides earn in Oregon compared to the national average? The median annual wage for home health aides in Oregon is $44,410, which is $9,510 above the national median of $34,900 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Oregon
Top local programs
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Albany, Oregon (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Ashland, Oregon (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Astoria, Oregon (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Beaverton, Oregon (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Bend, Oregon (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Brookings, Oregon (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Canby, Oregon (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Central Point, Oregon (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Coos Bay, Oregon (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Cornelius, Oregon (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Corvallis, Oregon (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Cottage Grove, Oregon (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Oregon (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Oregon
- Best HVAC Schools in Oregon (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Oregon
- Best Plumbing Schools in Oregon (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Oregon
Explore More Trades in Oregon
- Electrician in Oregon
- Plumber in Oregon
- HVAC Technician in Oregon
- Welder in Oregon
- Carpenter in Oregon
- Solar Installation Technician in Oregon
- Auto Mechanic in Oregon
- CNC Machinist in Oregon
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Oregon
- Medical Assistant in Oregon
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |