How to Become a Home Health Aide in Washington (2026)
Washington employs about 103,260 home health aides earning a median $47,730 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Home Health Aide here means completing a state-approved home health aide program, competency evaluation, and state listing where required. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
Compare Home Health Aide Schools in Washington
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition (published, per year) | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Bellingham Technical College | 69.4 | $4,431 in-state / $5,809 out-of-state | Not reported | 42% | Yes* | 133 mi |
| 2 | Highline College | 68.6 | $4,772 in-state / $5,332 out-of-state | $59,261 | 35% | Yes* | 58 mi |
| 3 | Edmonds College | 67.5 | $4,810 in-state / $10,875 out-of-state | $52,875 | 29% | Yes* | 75 mi |
| 4 | Bates Technical College | 65.2 | $6,027 in-state / $12,165 out-of-state | Not reported | 43% | Yes* | 62 mi |
| 5 | Shasta College | 60.4 | $1,197 in-state / $8,853 out-of-state | $71,612 | 23% | Yes* | 449 mi |
| 6 | Peninsula College | 58.8 | $4,718 in-state / $5,270 out-of-state | $44,056 | 37% | Yes* | 127 mi |
| 7 | Tillamook Bay Community College | 51.1 | $4,896 in-state / $5,616 out-of-state | $46,973 | 17% | Yes* | 169 mi |
| 8 | Southwestern Oregon Community College | 48.8 | $7,192 | $48,012 | 40% | Yes* | 295 mi |
| 9 | North Idaho College | 46.4 | $3,396 in-state / $8,736 out-of-state | $50,312 | 38% | Yes* | 208 mi |
| 10 | Northwest Indian College | 46.1 | $4,365 | $49,696 | 18% | Yes* | 132 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Washington employs approximately 103,260 home health aides according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $47,730 1. Nationally, home health aide employment is projected to grow 17.0% from 2024 to 2034, with about 765,800 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Home Health Aide in Washington, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: state-approved home health aide program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a state-approved home health aide program, competency evaluation, and state listing where required
- Exam: HHA competency evaluation
- Median wage (Washington): $47,730 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Home Health Aide in Washington
How to become a Home Health Aide in Washington? Complete a state-approved home health aide program, competency evaluation, and state listing where required. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a state-approved home health aide program, competency evaluation, and state listing where required. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Washington? Licensing varies. Confirm with the program and employer. See the licensing section below.
What do home health aides earn in Washington? The median annual wage for home health aides in Washington is $47,730 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $40,130 and experienced professionals can earn $54,980 or more 1.
How to Become a Home Health Aide in Washington
- Meet entry rules. Confirm age, background-check, and health-screening rules with the training program and the employer.
- Complete a state-approved HHA program. Finish an approved home health aide program in Washington. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Pass the competency evaluation. Complete the skills and knowledge evaluation the state uses for HHAs.
- Get certified or listed. Get listed or certified as an HHA where the state uses that credential. Do not treat a CNA listing as the HHA credential. Confirm with the employer.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Home Health Aide License Requirements in Washington
Home health aides in Washington complete an approved HHA program and competency evaluation. Some states certify this role; most do not. Confirm with the employer when a state credential exists.
Typical path
Meet entry rules.
Complete a state-approved HHA program.
Pass the competency evaluation.
Obtain HHA certification or listing from the employer.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the employer before you enroll.
Home Health Aide Wages by Metro Area in Washington
Home Health and Personal Care Aides Wages by Metro Area in Washington
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), home health and personal care aides wages in Washington vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Seattle-Tacoma-Bellevue | 54,670 | $48,210 | $49,500 | $44,190 | $54,980 |
| Washington-Arlington-Alexandria | 50,450 | $38,530 | $39,110 | $30,670 | $46,080 |
| Portland-Vancouver-Hillsboro | 22,860 | $45,570 | $46,350 | $39,120 | $52,900 |
| Spokane-Spokane Valley | 10,580 | $47,410 | $47,030 | $38,670 | $48,630 |
| Kennewick-Richland | 4,800 | $47,810 | $47,170 | $38,610 | $48,170 |
| Yakima | 4,770 | $44,490 | $44,130 | $38,170 | $45,070 |
| Olympia-Lacey-Tumwater | 3,370 | $44,060 | $44,760 | $37,840 | $47,480 |
| Bellingham | 2,350 | $44,080 | $45,020 | $38,240 | $48,080 |
| Bremerton-Silverdale-Port Orchard | 2,130 | $46,980 | $48,030 | $42,560 | $49,250 |
| Longview-Kelso | 1,780 | $47,840 | $47,100 | $39,580 | $48,040 |
| Mount Vernon-Anacortes | 1,200 | $42,690 | $43,070 | $36,390 | $50,630 |
| Walla Walla | 1,160 | $47,700 | $46,000 | $37,750 | $47,700 |
| Wenatchee-East Wenatchee | 1,120 | $47,730 | $47,200 | $39,360 | $48,380 |
| Lewiston | 870 | $36,400 | $38,000 | $29,190 | $48,150 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for home health aides in Washington? Washington currently employs approximately 103,260 home health aides 1. Nationally, home health aide employment is projected to grow 17.0% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a home health aide in Washington with an out-of-state license? Confirm reciprocity rules with the program and employer.
What training programs are available in Washington? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Washington.
How much do home health aides earn in Washington compared to the national average? The median annual wage for home health aides in Washington is $47,730, which is $12,830 above the national median of $34,900 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Washington
Top local programs
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Aberdeen, Washington (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Anacortes, Washington (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Arlington, Washington (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Auburn, Washington (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Bainbridge Island, Washington (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Battle Ground, Washington (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Bellevue, Washington (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Bellingham, Washington (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Bonney Lake, Washington (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Bothell, Washington (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Bremerton, Washington (2026)
- Best Home Health Aide Programs in Burien, Washington (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Washington (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Washington
- Best HVAC Schools in Washington (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Washington
- Best Plumbing Schools in Washington (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Washington
Explore More Trades in Washington
- Electrician in Washington
- Plumber in Washington
- HVAC Technician in Washington
- Welder in Washington
- Carpenter in Washington
- Solar Installation Technician in Washington
- Auto Mechanic in Washington
- CNC Machinist in Washington
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Washington
- Medical Assistant in Washington
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |