How to Become an Interior Designer in Colorado (2026)
Colorado employs about 2,300 interior designers earning a median $78,390 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most interior designers train through an approved program before entering the field in Colorado.
Compare Interior Designer Schools in Colorado
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Technical College of the Rockies | 84.8 | Contact school for pricing | $47,355 | 96% | — | 150 mi |
| 2 | Red Rocks Community College | 64.2 | Contact school for pricing | $62,695 | 35% | Yes* | 22 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Casper College | 62.5 | Contact school for pricing | $46,963 | Not reported | Yes* | 218 mi |
| 4 | Front Range Community College | 61.3 | Contact school for pricing | $50,353 | 32% | Yes* | 31 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Arapahoe Community College | 57.3 | Contact school for pricing | $57,589 | Not reported | Yes* | 31 mi |
| 6 | Trinidad State College | 54.1 | Contact school for pricing | $49,758 | 55% | Yes* | 186 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Aims Community College | 52.8 | Contact school for pricing | $51,704 | Not reported | Yes* | 62 mi |
| 8 | Colorado Mountain College | 52.3 | $2,616 - $14,799 | $55,406 | 27% | Yes* | 94 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | Pikes Peak State College | 50.3 | Contact school for pricing | $48,538 | 22% | Yes* | 79 mi |
| 10 | Community College of Denver | 37.0 | $4,902 - $19,550 | $53,984 | 18% | Yes* | 31 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Colorado employs approximately 2,300 interior designers according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $78,390 1. The state’s concentration of interior designer jobs is 1.74x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, interior designer employment is projected to grow 3.2% from 2024 to 2034, with about 7,800 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become an Interior Designer in Colorado, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school or community college
- Typical timeline: varies by program; confirm with the school
- Median wage (Colorado): $78,390 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become an Interior Designer in Colorado
How to become an Interior Designer in Colorado? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for interior designers in Colorado.
How long does it take? interior designer training length in Colorado varies by program. Confirm current requirements with the school and the state board before you enroll.
What do interior designers earn in Colorado? The median annual wage for interior designers in Colorado is $78,390 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $48,830 and experienced professionals can earn $133,810 or more 1.
How to Become an Interior Designer in Colorado
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Colorado training programs require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete an approved training program. Enroll in an approved interior designer program in Colorado that combines classroom instruction with supervised practice.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to interior designers in Colorado before you start working.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Interior Designer Wages by Metro Area in Colorado
Interior Designers Wages by Metro Area in Colorado
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), interior designers wages in Colorado vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Denver-Aurora-Centennial | 1,500 | $80,150 | $89,330 | $49,000 | $133,810 |
| Colorado Springs | 130 | $66,440 | $72,260 | $36,510 | $112,100 |
| Fort Collins-Loveland | 110 | $76,800 | $79,100 | $44,790 | $122,550 |
| Boulder | 90 | $80,850 | $81,650 | $54,730 | $110,490 |
| Greeley | 40 | $68,080 | $69,420 | $45,610 | $95,340 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for interior designers in Colorado? Colorado currently employs approximately 2,300 interior designers 1. Nationally, interior designer employment is projected to grow 3.2% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Colorado? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Colorado.
How much do interior designers earn in Colorado compared to the national average? The median annual wage for interior designers in Colorado is $78,390, which is $14,900 above the national median of $63,490 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Colorado
Top local programs
- Best Interior Design Schools in Alamosa, Colorado (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Arvada, Colorado (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Aurora, Colorado (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Boulder, Colorado (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Brighton, Colorado (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Broomfield, Colorado (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Canon City, Colorado (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Castle Pines, Colorado (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Castle Rock, Colorado (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Centennial, Colorado (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Colorado (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Colorado Springs, Colorado (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Colorado (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Colorado
- Best HVAC Schools in Colorado (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Colorado
- Best Plumbing Schools in Colorado (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Colorado
Explore More Trades in Colorado
- Electrician in Colorado
- Plumber in Colorado
- HVAC Technician in Colorado
- Welder in Colorado
- Carpenter in Colorado
- Solar Installation Technician in Colorado
- Auto Mechanic in Colorado
- CNC Machinist in Colorado
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Colorado
- Medical Assistant in Colorado
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |