How to Become an Interior Designer in Connecticut (2026)

Connecticut employs about 630 interior designers earning a median $67,330 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most interior designers train through an approved program before entering the field in Connecticut.

Compare Interior Designer Schools in Connecticut

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
168.2Contact school for pricing$50,418Not reportedYes*55 mi
259.9Contact school for pricing$45,380Not reported50 mi
Sponsored Ad
347.6Contact school for pricing$50,13021%Yes*12 mi

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Connecticut employs approximately 630 interior designers according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $67,330 1. Nationally, interior designer employment is projected to grow 3.2% from 2024 to 2034, with about 7,800 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become an Interior Designer in Connecticut, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.

At a Glance

  • Training paths: trade school or community college
  • Typical timeline: varies by program; confirm with the school
  • Median wage (Connecticut): $67,330 per year 1

Quick Answers About How to Become an Interior Designer in Connecticut

How to become an Interior Designer in Connecticut? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for interior designers in Connecticut.

How long does it take? interior designer training length in Connecticut varies by program. Confirm current requirements with the school and the state board before you enroll.

What do interior designers earn in Connecticut? The median annual wage for interior designers in Connecticut is $67,330 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $44,320 and experienced professionals can earn $117,610 or more 1.

How to Become an Interior Designer in Connecticut

  1. Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Connecticut training programs require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
  2. Complete an approved training program. Enroll in an approved interior designer program in Connecticut that combines classroom instruction with supervised practice.
  3. Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
  4. Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to interior designers in Connecticut before you start working.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Interior Designer Wages by Metro Area in Connecticut

Interior Designers Wages by Metro Area in Connecticut

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), interior designers wages in Connecticut vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Bridgeport-Stamford-Danbury260$71,060$74,210$44,320$124,130
Hartford-West Hartford-East Hartford160$69,150$73,450$44,050$112,530
New Haven140$62,460$66,960$49,400$91,760

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for interior designers in Connecticut? Connecticut currently employs approximately 630 interior designers 1. Nationally, interior designer employment is projected to grow 3.2% from 2024 to 2034 2.

What training programs are available in Connecticut? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Connecticut.

How much do interior designers earn in Connecticut compared to the national average? The median annual wage for interior designers in Connecticut is $67,330, which is $3,840 above the national median of $63,490 according to BLS data 1.

In Connecticut

Top local programs

Explore More Trades in Connecticut

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)