How to Become an Interior Designer in Georgia (2026)
Georgia employs about 3,050 interior designers earning a median $71,760 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most interior designers train through an approved program before entering the field in Georgia.
Compare Interior Designer Schools in Georgia
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Gwinnett Technical College | 55.0 | Contact school for pricing | $50,469 | 29% | Yes* | 72 mi |
| 2 | Athens Technical College | 54.3 | Contact school for pricing | $47,299 | Not reported | Yes* | 81 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Southern Crescent Technical College | 54.3 | Contact school for pricing | $47,009 | 55% | Yes* | 31 mi |
| 4 | South Georgia Technical College | 54.3 | Contact school for pricing | $40,852 | Not reported | Yes* | 61 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Chattahoochee Technical College | 52.1 | Contact school for pricing | $45,209 | Not reported | Yes* | 78 mi |
| 6 | Atlanta Technical College | 47.9 | Contact school for pricing | $40,964 | 46% | Yes* | 61 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Columbus Technical College | 47.2 | Contact school for pricing | $43,818 | 24% | Yes* | 65 mi |
| 8 | Central Georgia Technical College | 46.5 | Contact school for pricing | $42,979 | 44% | Yes* | 30 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | Georgia Piedmont Technical College | 44.5 | Contact school for pricing | $46,601 | 39% | Yes* | 64 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Georgia employs approximately 3,050 interior designers according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $71,760 1. The state’s concentration of interior designer jobs is 1.36x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, interior designer employment is projected to grow 3.2% from 2024 to 2034, with about 7,800 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become an Interior Designer in Georgia, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school or community college
- Typical timeline: varies by program; confirm with the school
- Median wage (Georgia): $71,760 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become an Interior Designer in Georgia
How to become an Interior Designer in Georgia? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for interior designers in Georgia.
How long does it take? interior designer training length in Georgia varies by program. Confirm current requirements with the school and the state board before you enroll.
What do interior designers earn in Georgia? The median annual wage for interior designers in Georgia is $71,760 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $45,190 and experienced professionals can earn $123,820 or more 1.
How to Become an Interior Designer in Georgia
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Georgia training programs require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete an approved training program. Enroll in an approved interior designer program in Georgia that combines classroom instruction with supervised practice.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to interior designers in Georgia before you start working.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Interior Designer Wages by Metro Area in Georgia
Interior Designers Wages by Metro Area in Georgia
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), interior designers wages in Georgia vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Atlanta-Sandy Springs-Roswell | 2,430 | $72,490 | $80,490 | $47,980 | $124,850 |
| Savannah | 100 | $61,290 | $67,250 | $37,440 | $101,530 |
| Chattanooga | 100 | $62,790 | $66,930 | $38,290 | $99,350 |
| Athens-Clarke County | 50 | $63,520 | $71,060 | $41,360 | $101,410 |
| Augusta-Richmond County | 50 | $62,050 | $65,920 | $34,610 | $103,170 |
| Columbus | 40 | $47,780 | $55,400 | $30,630 | $86,290 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for interior designers in Georgia? Georgia currently employs approximately 3,050 interior designers 1. Nationally, interior designer employment is projected to grow 3.2% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Georgia? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Georgia.
How much do interior designers earn in Georgia compared to the national average? The median annual wage for interior designers in Georgia is $71,760, which is $8,270 above the national median of $63,490 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Georgia
Top local programs
- Best Interior Design Schools in Acworth, Georgia (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Albany, Georgia (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Alpharetta, Georgia (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Americus, Georgia (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Athens, Georgia (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Atlanta, Georgia (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Augusta, Georgia (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Bainbridge, Georgia (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Braselton, Georgia (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Brookhaven, Georgia (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Brunswick, Georgia (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Buford, Georgia (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Georgia (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Georgia
- Best HVAC Schools in Georgia (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Georgia
- Best Plumbing Schools in Georgia (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Georgia
Explore More Trades in Georgia
- Electrician in Georgia
- Plumber in Georgia
- HVAC Technician in Georgia
- Welder in Georgia
- Carpenter in Georgia
- Solar Installation Technician in Georgia
- Auto Mechanic in Georgia
- CNC Machinist in Georgia
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Georgia
- Medical Assistant in Georgia
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |