How to Become an Interior Designer in Idaho (2026)
Idaho employs about 350 interior designers (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most interior designers train through an approved program before entering the field in Idaho.
Compare Interior Designer Schools in Idaho
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Bridgerland Technical College | 73.8 | Contact school for pricing | $42,070 | Not reported | Yes* | 228 mi |
| 2 | College of Southern Idaho | 68.2 | Contact school for pricing | $46,129 | 34% | Yes* | 122 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Brigham Young University-Idaho | 65.8 | Contact school for pricing | $56,787 | 55% | Yes* | 146 mi |
| 4 | College of Western Idaho | 50.7 | Contact school for pricing | $47,903 | 29% | Yes* | 105 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Treasure Valley Community College | 45.7 | Contact school for pricing | $45,354 | Not reported | Yes* | 118 mi |
| 6 | Blue Mountain Community College | 45.3 | Contact school for pricing | $49,347 | 27% | Yes* | 224 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Idaho employs approximately 350 interior designers according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics 1. Nationally, interior designer employment is projected to grow 3.2% from 2024 to 2034, with about 7,800 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become an Interior Designer in Idaho, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school or community college
- Typical timeline: varies by program; confirm with the school
Quick Answers About How to Become an Interior Designer in Idaho
How to become an Interior Designer in Idaho? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for interior designers in Idaho.
How long does it take? interior designer training length in Idaho varies by program. Confirm current requirements with the school and the state board before you enroll.
How to Become an Interior Designer in Idaho
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Idaho training programs require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete an approved training program. Enroll in an approved interior designer program in Idaho that combines classroom instruction with supervised practice.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to interior designers in Idaho before you start working.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Interior Designer Wages by Metro Area in Idaho
Interior Designers Wages by Metro Area in Idaho
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), interior designers wages in Idaho vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Boise City | 190 | $62,360 | $73,550 | $36,510 | $150,000 |
| Coeur d'Alene | 30 | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for interior designers in Idaho? Idaho currently employs approximately 350 interior designers 1. Nationally, interior designer employment is projected to grow 3.2% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Idaho? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Idaho.
Related guides
In Idaho
Top local programs
- Best Interior Design Schools in Ammon, Idaho (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Blackfoot, Idaho (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Boise, Idaho (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Burley, Idaho (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Caldwell, Idaho (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Chubbuck, Idaho (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Coeur D Alene Post Falls, Idaho (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Coeur D Alene, Idaho (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Eagle, Idaho (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Emmett, Idaho (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Garden City, Idaho (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Hailey, Idaho (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Idaho (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Idaho
- Best HVAC Schools in Idaho (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Idaho
- Best Plumbing Schools in Idaho (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Idaho
Explore More Trades in Idaho
- Electrician in Idaho
- Plumber in Idaho
- HVAC Technician in Idaho
- Welder in Idaho
- Carpenter in Idaho
- Solar Installation Technician in Idaho
- Auto Mechanic in Idaho
- CNC Machinist in Idaho
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Idaho
- Medical Assistant in Idaho
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |