How to Become an Interior Designer in Iowa (2026)
Iowa employs about 510 interior designers earning a median $58,040 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most interior designers train through an approved program before entering the field in Iowa.
Compare Interior Designer Schools in Iowa
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Northeast Iowa Community College | 56.6 | $6,780 - $17,838 | $50,002 | 50% | Yes* | 88 mi |
| 2 | Kirkwood Community College | 56.3 | Contact school for pricing | $48,663 | Not reported | Yes* | 90 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Western Technical College | 56.2 | Contact school for pricing | $53,114 | 36% | Yes* | 141 mi |
| 4 | Minnesota State College Southeast | 51.4 | Contact school for pricing | $51,496 | 49% | Yes* | 139 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Rochester Community and Technical College | 50.7 | Contact school for pricing | $55,258 | 27% | Yes* | 119 mi |
| 6 | Des Moines Area Community College | 50.0 | Contact school for pricing | $51,817 | 37% | Yes* | 52 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Iowa Western Community College | 48.3 | Contact school for pricing | $51,139 | Not reported | Yes* | 152 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Iowa employs approximately 510 interior designers according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $58,040 1. Nationally, interior designer employment is projected to grow 3.2% from 2024 to 2034, with about 7,800 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become an Interior Designer in Iowa, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school or community college
- Typical timeline: varies by program; confirm with the school
- Median wage (Iowa): $58,040 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become an Interior Designer in Iowa
How to become an Interior Designer in Iowa? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for interior designers in Iowa.
How long does it take? interior designer training length in Iowa varies by program. Confirm current requirements with the school and the state board before you enroll.
What do interior designers earn in Iowa? The median annual wage for interior designers in Iowa is $58,040 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $39,510 and experienced professionals can earn $118,770 or more 1.
How to Become an Interior Designer in Iowa
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Iowa training programs require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete an approved training program. Enroll in an approved interior designer program in Iowa that combines classroom instruction with supervised practice.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to interior designers in Iowa before you start working.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Interior Designer Wages by Metro Area in Iowa
Interior Designers Wages by Metro Area in Iowa
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), interior designers wages in Iowa vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Omaha | 270 | $67,120 | $71,150 | $44,860 | $101,440 |
| Des Moines-West Des Moines | 190 | $57,840 | $71,830 | $44,510 | $121,020 |
| Cedar Rapids | 50 | $50,300 | $69,600 | $38,270 | $123,190 |
| Iowa City | 50 | $58,890 | $73,070 | $39,520 | $117,730 |
| Davenport-Moline-Rock Island | 40 | $52,410 | $63,310 | $38,850 | $104,370 |
| Waterloo-Cedar Falls | 40 | $59,470 | $67,540 | $35,990 | $115,960 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for interior designers in Iowa? Iowa currently employs approximately 510 interior designers 1. Nationally, interior designer employment is projected to grow 3.2% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Iowa? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Iowa.
How much do interior designers earn in Iowa compared to the national average? The median annual wage for interior designers in Iowa is $58,040, which is $5,450 below the national median of $63,490 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Iowa
Top local programs
- Best Interior Design Schools in Altoona, Iowa (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Ames, Iowa (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Ankeny, Iowa (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Bettendorf, Iowa (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Boone, Iowa (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Burlington, Iowa (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Cedar Falls, Iowa (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Cedar Rapids, Iowa (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Clinton, Iowa (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Clive, Iowa (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Coralville, Iowa (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Council Bluffs, Iowa (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Iowa (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Iowa
- Best HVAC Schools in Iowa (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Iowa
- Best Plumbing Schools in Iowa (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Iowa
Explore More Trades in Iowa
- Electrician in Iowa
- Plumber in Iowa
- HVAC Technician in Iowa
- Welder in Iowa
- Carpenter in Iowa
- Solar Installation Technician in Iowa
- Auto Mechanic in Iowa
- CNC Machinist in Iowa
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Iowa
- Medical Assistant in Iowa
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |