How to Become an Interior Designer in Mississippi (2026)
Mississippi employs about 330 interior designers earning a median $43,740 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most interior designers train through an approved program before entering the field in Mississippi.
Compare Interior Designer Schools in Mississippi
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Copiah-Lincoln Community College | 63.6 | Contact school for pricing | $36,902 | 51% | Yes* | 92 mi |
| 2 | Itawamba Community College | 63.0 | Contact school for pricing | $41,849 | Not reported | Yes* | 121 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | East Mississippi Community College | 57.7 | Contact school for pricing | $42,022 | 44% | Yes* | 58 mi |
| 4 | Hinds Community College | 53.6 | Contact school for pricing | $40,042 | Not reported | Yes* | 65 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Holmes Community College | 53.5 | Contact school for pricing | $39,984 | Not reported | Yes* | 28 mi |
| 6 | Meridian Community College | 50.6 | Contact school for pricing | $50,810 | Not reported | Yes* | 52 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | East Central Community College | 46.4 | Contact school for pricing | $36,389 | 38% | — | 32 mi |
| 8 | Jones County Junior College | 45.6 | Contact school for pricing | $36,340 | Not reported | Yes* | 83 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | Mississippi Delta Community College | 41.8 | Contact school for pricing | $37,960 | Not reported | Yes* | 75 mi |
| 10 | Shelton State Community College | 40.6 | Contact school for pricing | $50,082 | 26% | Yes* | 115 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Mississippi employs approximately 330 interior designers according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $43,740 1. Nationally, interior designer employment is projected to grow 3.2% from 2024 to 2034, with about 7,800 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become an Interior Designer in Mississippi, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school or community college
- Typical timeline: varies by program; confirm with the school
- Median wage (Mississippi): $43,740 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become an Interior Designer in Mississippi
How to become an Interior Designer in Mississippi? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for interior designers in Mississippi.
How long does it take? interior designer training length in Mississippi varies by program. Confirm current requirements with the school and the state board before you enroll.
What do interior designers earn in Mississippi? The median annual wage for interior designers in Mississippi is $43,740 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $31,660 and experienced professionals can earn $88,710 or more 1.
How to Become an Interior Designer in Mississippi
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Mississippi training programs require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete an approved training program. Enroll in an approved interior designer program in Mississippi that combines classroom instruction with supervised practice.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to interior designers in Mississippi before you start working.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Interior Designer Wages by Metro Area in Mississippi
Interior Designers Wages by Metro Area in Mississippi
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), interior designers wages in Mississippi vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Memphis | 220 | $58,600 | $60,880 | $38,530 | $94,310 |
| Jackson | 100 | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A |
| Gulfport-Biloxi | 30 | $45,070 | $59,240 | $34,400 | $92,720 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for interior designers in Mississippi? Mississippi currently employs approximately 330 interior designers 1. Nationally, interior designer employment is projected to grow 3.2% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Mississippi? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Mississippi.
How much do interior designers earn in Mississippi compared to the national average? The median annual wage for interior designers in Mississippi is $43,740, which is $19,750 below the national median of $63,490 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Mississippi
Top local programs
- Best Interior Design Schools in Bay St. Louis, Mississippi (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Biloxi, Mississippi (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Brandon, Mississippi (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Brookhaven, Mississippi (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Byram, Mississippi (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Canton, Mississippi (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Clarksdale, Mississippi (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Cleveland, Mississippi (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Clinton, Mississippi (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Columbus, Mississippi (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Corinth, Mississippi (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in D Iberville, Mississippi (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Mississippi (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Mississippi
- Best HVAC Schools in Mississippi (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Mississippi
- Best Plumbing Schools in Mississippi (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Mississippi
Explore More Trades in Mississippi
- Electrician in Mississippi
- Plumber in Mississippi
- HVAC Technician in Mississippi
- Welder in Mississippi
- Carpenter in Mississippi
- Solar Installation Technician in Mississippi
- Auto Mechanic in Mississippi
- CNC Machinist in Mississippi
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Mississippi
- Medical Assistant in Mississippi
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |