How to Become an Interior Designer in New Mexico (2026)
New Mexico employs about 90 interior designers earning a median $60,850 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most interior designers train through an approved program before entering the field in New Mexico.
Compare Interior Designer Schools in New Mexico
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Eastern New Mexico University-Roswell Campus | 54.6 | Contact school for pricing | $54,827 | 30% | Yes* | 89 mi |
| 2 | New Mexico State University-Grants | 52.6 | Contact school for pricing | $54,874 | Not reported | Yes* | 142 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute | 52.4 | Contact school for pricing | $34,652 | Not reported | Yes* | 88 mi |
| 4 | New Mexico State University-Dona Ana | 48.7 | Contact school for pricing | $54,874 | 17% | Yes* | 152 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Santa Fe Community College | 46.6 | Contact school for pricing | $53,855 | Not reported | Yes* | 96 mi |
| 6 | El Paso Community College | 46.5 | Contact school for pricing | $39,712 | 23% | Yes* | 177 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Northern New Mexico College | 46.0 | Contact school for pricing | $61,774 | Not reported | Yes* | 123 mi |
| 8 | Luna Community College | 43.4 | Contact school for pricing | $38,111 | 33% | Yes* | 96 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | Navajo Technical University | 43.0 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 16% | Yes* | 175 mi |
| 10 | University of New Mexico-Valencia County Campus | 42.2 | Contact school for pricing | $59,818 | Not reported | — | 71 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
New Mexico employs approximately 90 interior designers according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $60,850 1. Nationally, interior designer employment is projected to grow 3.2% from 2024 to 2034, with about 7,800 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become an Interior Designer in New Mexico, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school or community college
- Typical timeline: varies by program; confirm with the school
- Median wage (New Mexico): $60,850 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become an Interior Designer in New Mexico
How to become an Interior Designer in New Mexico? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for interior designers in New Mexico.
How long does it take? interior designer training length in New Mexico varies by program. Confirm current requirements with the school and the state board before you enroll.
What do interior designers earn in New Mexico? The median annual wage for interior designers in New Mexico is $60,850 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $41,480 and experienced professionals can earn $90,540 or more 1.
How to Become an Interior Designer in New Mexico
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most New Mexico training programs require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete an approved training program. Enroll in an approved interior designer program in New Mexico that combines classroom instruction with supervised practice.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to interior designers in New Mexico before you start working.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Interior Designer Wages by Metro Area in New Mexico
Interior Designers Wages by Metro Area in New Mexico
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), interior designers wages in New Mexico vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Albuquerque | 40 | $54,530 | $62,270 | $39,380 | $77,610 |
| Santa Fe | 40 | $72,800 | $84,520 | $53,960 | $179,990 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for interior designers in New Mexico? New Mexico currently employs approximately 90 interior designers 1. Nationally, interior designer employment is projected to grow 3.2% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in New Mexico? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in New Mexico.
How much do interior designers earn in New Mexico compared to the national average? The median annual wage for interior designers in New Mexico is $60,850, which is $2,640 below the national median of $63,490 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In New Mexico
Top local programs
- Best Interior Design Schools in Alamogordo, New Mexico (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Albuquerque, New Mexico (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Artesia, New Mexico (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Carlsbad, New Mexico (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Clovis, New Mexico (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Deming, New Mexico (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Espanola, New Mexico (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Farmington, New Mexico (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Gallup, New Mexico (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Grants, New Mexico (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Hobbs, New Mexico (2026)
- Best Interior Design Schools in Las Cruces, New Mexico (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in New Mexico (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in New Mexico
- Best HVAC Schools in New Mexico (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in New Mexico
- Best Plumbing Schools in New Mexico (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in New Mexico
Explore More Trades in New Mexico
- Electrician in New Mexico
- Plumber in New Mexico
- HVAC Technician in New Mexico
- Welder in New Mexico
- Carpenter in New Mexico
- Solar Installation Technician in New Mexico
- Auto Mechanic in New Mexico
- CNC Machinist in New Mexico
- Certified Nursing Assistant in New Mexico
- Medical Assistant in New Mexico
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |