How to Become a Massage Therapist in Arkansas (2026)
Arkansas employs about 430 massage therapists earning a median $39,990 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Massage Therapist here means completing a board-approved massage program that meets this state’s hour requirement, an exam (often MBLEx), and a state massage license where required, then applying through Arkansas Department of Health - Cosmetology and Massage Therapy Section - Board of Health.
Compare Massage Therapist Schools in Arkansas
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition (published, per year) | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Gould's Academy | 61.6 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 84% | — | 142 mi |
| 2 | SPBK Enterprises Inc | 60.6 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 71% | — | 190 mi |
| 3 | Holmes Community College | 53.5 | $3,710 in-state / $6,610 out-of-state | $39,984 | 39% | Yes* | 198 mi |
| 4 | Massage Institute of Memphis | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 100% | — | 135 mi |
| 5 | WellSpring School of Allied Health-Springfield | 44.5 | Contact school for pricing | $32,078 | 76% | — | 160 mi |
| 6 | Concorde Career College-Southaven | 44.0 | Contact school for pricing | $34,501 | 65% | — | 135 mi |
| 7 | Clary Sage College | 43.1 | Contact school for pricing | $31,820 | 80% | Yes* | 214 mi |
| 8 | University of Arkansas Community College Rich Mountain | 40.1 | $3,696 in-state / $4,272 out-of-state | $38,192 | 55% | — | 108 mi |
| 9 | Concorde Career College-Memphis | 36.0 | Contact school for pricing | $34,501 | 55% | — | 141 mi |
| 10 | Blue Cliff College-Alexandria | 36.0 | Contact school for pricing | $26,644 | 34% | Yes* | 255 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Arkansas employs approximately 430 massage therapists according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $39,990 1. Nationally, massage therapist employment is projected to grow 15.4% from 2024 to 2034, with about 24,700 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Massage Therapist in Arkansas, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: board-approved massage therapy program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a board-approved massage program that meets this state’s hour requirement, an exam (often MBLEx), and a state massage license where required
- Licensing authority: Arkansas Department of Health - Cosmetology and Massage Therapy Section - Board of Health
- Exam: MBLEx or the exam the board uses
- Median wage (Arkansas): $39,990 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Massage Therapist in Arkansas
How to become a Massage Therapist in Arkansas? Complete a board-approved massage program that meets this state’s hour requirement, an exam (often MBLEx), and a state massage license where required. Apply through Arkansas Department of Health - Cosmetology and Massage Therapy Section - Board of Health.
How long does it take? Most people finish a board-approved massage program that meets this state’s hour requirement, an exam (often MBLEx), and a state massage license where required. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Arkansas Department of Health - Cosmetology and Massage Therapy Section - Board of Health.
Do I need a license in Arkansas? Yes. Arkansas credentials this role through Arkansas Department of Health - Cosmetology and Massage Therapy Section - Board of Health 3. See the licensing section below.
What do massage therapists earn in Arkansas? The median annual wage for massage therapists in Arkansas is $39,990 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $24,180 and experienced professionals can earn $74,530 or more 1.
How to Become a Massage Therapist in Arkansas
- Meet board entry rules. Confirm age and education rules with Arkansas Department of Health - Cosmetology and Massage Therapy Section - Board of Health. Do not treat minimum age as years of work.
- Complete a board-approved massage program. Finish the hour requirement Arkansas Department of Health - Cosmetology and Massage Therapy Section - Board of Health publishes. Confirm the current total with the board. This is not a DAS registered apprenticeship.
- Pass MBLEx or the state exam. Most states use MBLEx. Confirm with Arkansas Department of Health - Cosmetology and Massage Therapy Section - Board of Health.
- Apply for the massage license. Apply to Arkansas Department of Health - Cosmetology and Massage Therapy Section - Board of Health before taking paying clients where the state licenses massage.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Massage Therapist License Requirements in Arkansas
Massage therapists in Arkansas complete board-approved hours, pass an exam (often MBLEx), and apply to Arkansas Department of Health - Cosmetology and Massage Therapy Section - Board of Health where the state licenses the trade. See Arkansas Department of Health - Cosmetology and Massage Therapy Section - Board of Health 3.
Typical path
Complete a board-approved program.
Pass MBLEx or the state exam.
Apply to Arkansas Department of Health - Cosmetology and Massage Therapy Section - Board of Health.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Arkansas Department of Health - Cosmetology and Massage Therapy Section - Board of Health before you enroll.
Massage Therapist Wages by Metro Area in Arkansas
Massage Therapists Wages by Metro Area in Arkansas
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), massage therapists wages in Arkansas vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Little Rock-North Little Rock-Conway | 210 | $43,030 | $46,480 | $27,570 | $73,680 |
| Memphis | 160 | $47,320 | $52,400 | $27,690 | $90,920 |
| Fort Smith | 40 | $37,110 | $43,540 | $26,490 | $70,390 |
| Hot Springs | 40 | $27,040 | $41,070 | $24,620 | $90,970 |
| Fayetteville-Springdale-Rogers | N/A | $41,920 | $47,790 | $26,650 | $76,300 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for massage therapists in Arkansas? Arkansas currently employs approximately 430 massage therapists 1. Nationally, massage therapist employment is projected to grow 15.4% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a massage therapist in Arkansas with an out-of-state license? Contact the Arkansas Department of Health - Cosmetology and Massage Therapy Section - Board of Health for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Arkansas? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Arkansas.
How much do massage therapists earn in Arkansas compared to the national average? The median annual wage for massage therapists in Arkansas is $39,990, which is $17,960 below the national median of $57,950 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Arkansas
Top local programs
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Arkadelphia, Arkansas (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Arkansas (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Batesville, Arkansas (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Bella Vista, Arkansas (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Benton, Arkansas (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Bentonville, Arkansas (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Blytheville, Arkansas (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Bryant, Arkansas (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Cabot, Arkansas (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Camden, Arkansas (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Centerton, Arkansas (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Conway, Arkansas (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Arkansas (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Arkansas
- Best HVAC Schools in Arkansas (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Arkansas
- Best Plumbing Schools in Arkansas (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Arkansas
Explore More Trades in Arkansas
- Electrician in Arkansas
- Plumber in Arkansas
- HVAC Technician in Arkansas
- Welder in Arkansas
- Carpenter in Arkansas
- Solar Installation Technician in Arkansas
- Auto Mechanic in Arkansas
- CNC Machinist in Arkansas
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Arkansas
- Medical Assistant in Arkansas
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Arkansas Department of Health - Cosmetology and Massage Therapy Section - Board of Health - Licensing Information: http://www.healthy.arkansas.gov/contact-us ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |