How to Become a Massage Therapist in Delaware (2026)
Delaware employs about 230 massage therapists earning a median $58,870 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Massage Therapist here means completing a board-approved massage program that meets this state’s hour requirement, an exam (often MBLEx), and a state massage license where required, then applying through Delaware Department of State - Division of Professional Regulation - Board of Massage and Bodywork.
Compare Massage Therapist Schools in Delaware
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition (published, per year) | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Center for the Healing Arts | 68.7 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 94% | — | 44 mi |
| 2 | Anne Arundel Community College | 63.3 | $4,322 in-state / $11,522 out-of-state | $55,889 | 31% | Yes* | 56 mi |
| 3 | Lancaster School of Cosmetology & Therapeutic Bodywork | 59.1 | Contact school for pricing | $34,264 | 70% | — | 59 mi |
| 4 | Aveda Institute-Maryland | 56.6 | Contact school for pricing | $25,463 | 97% | — | 43 mi |
| 5 | Camden County College | 55.1 | $4,320 in-state / $4,416 out-of-state | $55,466 | 31% | Yes* | 39 mi |
| 6 | Lansdale School of Business | 48.1 | $12,150 | $37,351 | 85% | — | 59 mi |
| 7 | Cortiva Institute | 38.4 | Contact school for pricing | $35,989 | 84% | — | 49 mi |
| 8 | Academy of Massage and Bodywork | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | $32,178 | Not reported | — | 17 mi |
| 9 | American Institute-Cherry Hill | 28.0 | Contact school for pricing | $36,918 | 56% | — | 47 mi |
| 10 | Lincoln Technical Institute-Moorestown | 27.4 | Contact school for pricing | $42,316 | 54% | — | 52 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Delaware employs approximately 230 massage therapists according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $58,870 1. Nationally, massage therapist employment is projected to grow 15.4% from 2024 to 2034, with about 24,700 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Massage Therapist in Delaware, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: board-approved massage therapy program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a board-approved massage program that meets this state’s hour requirement, an exam (often MBLEx), and a state massage license where required
- Licensing authority: Delaware Department of State - Division of Professional Regulation - Board of Massage and Bodywork
- Exam: MBLEx or the exam the board uses
- Median wage (Delaware): $58,870 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Massage Therapist in Delaware
How to become a Massage Therapist in Delaware? Complete a board-approved massage program that meets this state’s hour requirement, an exam (often MBLEx), and a state massage license where required. Apply through Delaware Department of State - Division of Professional Regulation - Board of Massage and Bodywork.
How long does it take? Most people finish a board-approved massage program that meets this state’s hour requirement, an exam (often MBLEx), and a state massage license where required. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Delaware Department of State - Division of Professional Regulation - Board of Massage and Bodywork.
Do I need a license in Delaware? Yes. Delaware credentials this role through Delaware Department of State - Division of Professional Regulation - Board of Massage and Bodywork 3. See the licensing section below.
What do massage therapists earn in Delaware? The median annual wage for massage therapists in Delaware is $58,870 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $46,250 and experienced professionals can earn $98,220 or more 1.
How to Become a Massage Therapist in Delaware
- Meet board entry rules. Confirm age and education rules with Delaware Department of State - Division of Professional Regulation - Board of Massage and Bodywork. Do not treat minimum age as years of work.
- Complete a board-approved massage program. Finish the hour requirement Delaware Department of State - Division of Professional Regulation - Board of Massage and Bodywork publishes. Confirm the current total with the board. This is not a DAS registered apprenticeship.
- Pass MBLEx or the state exam. Most states use MBLEx. Confirm with Delaware Department of State - Division of Professional Regulation - Board of Massage and Bodywork.
- Apply for the massage license. Apply to Delaware Department of State - Division of Professional Regulation - Board of Massage and Bodywork before taking paying clients where the state licenses massage.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Massage Therapist License Requirements in Delaware
Massage therapists in Delaware complete board-approved hours, pass an exam (often MBLEx), and apply to Delaware Department of State - Division of Professional Regulation - Board of Massage and Bodywork where the state licenses the trade. See Delaware Department of State - Division of Professional Regulation - Board of Massage and Bodywork 3.
Typical path
Complete a board-approved program.
Pass MBLEx or the state exam.
Apply to Delaware Department of State - Division of Professional Regulation - Board of Massage and Bodywork.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Delaware Department of State - Division of Professional Regulation - Board of Massage and Bodywork before you enroll.
Massage Therapist Wages by Metro Area in Delaware
Massage Therapists Wages by Metro Area in Delaware
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), massage therapists wages in Delaware vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Philadelphia-Camden-Wilmington | 1,500 | $59,560 | $65,530 | $33,720 | $124,800 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for massage therapists in Delaware? Delaware currently employs approximately 230 massage therapists 1. Nationally, massage therapist employment is projected to grow 15.4% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a massage therapist in Delaware with an out-of-state license? Contact the Delaware Department of State - Division of Professional Regulation - Board of Massage and Bodywork for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Delaware? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Delaware.
How much do massage therapists earn in Delaware compared to the national average? The median annual wage for massage therapists in Delaware is $58,870, which is $920 above the national median of $57,950 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Delaware
Top local programs
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Delaware (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Dover, Delaware (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Georgetown, Delaware (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Lewes, Delaware (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Middletown, Delaware (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Milford, Delaware (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Millsboro, Delaware (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Newark, Delaware (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Ocean View, Delaware (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Smyrna, Delaware (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Wilmington, Delaware (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Delaware (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Delaware
- Best HVAC Schools in Delaware (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Delaware
- Best Plumbing Schools in Delaware (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Delaware
Explore More Trades in Delaware
- Electrician in Delaware
- Plumber in Delaware
- HVAC Technician in Delaware
- Welder in Delaware
- Carpenter in Delaware
- Solar Installation Technician in Delaware
- Auto Mechanic in Delaware
- CNC Machinist in Delaware
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Delaware
- Medical Assistant in Delaware
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Delaware Department of State - Division of Professional Regulation - Board of Massage and Bodywork - Licensing Information: https://dpr.delaware.gov/boards/massagebodyworks/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |