How to Become a Massage Therapist in Florida (2026)

Florida employs about 9,280 massage therapists earning a median $49,680 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Massage Therapist here means completing a board-approved massage program that meets this state’s hour requirement, an exam (often MBLEx), and a state massage license where required, then applying through FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance.

Key Facts

  • Median wage (Florida): $49,680/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Employed in Florida: 9,280 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Location quotient: 1.47x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Projected growth: 15.4% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
  • Licensing/credentialing body: FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance (Source: State licensing agency, 2025)

Sponsored - request program info

Compare Massage Therapist Schools in Florida

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
160.6Contact school for pricing$41,51880%53 mi
251.2Contact school for pricing$20,96288%32 mi
350.8Contact school for pricing$31,488Not reported60 mi
449.6Contact school for pricing$34,945Not reported49 mi
548.4Contact school for pricing$23,56778%58 mi
647.7Contact school for pricing$35,542Not reported16 mi
747.6Contact school for pricing$23,23475%26 mi
843.0Contact school for pricing$23,23476%51 mi
931.6Contact school for pricing$22,27473%55 mi
1029.6Contact school for pricingNot reportedNot reported55 mi

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Florida employs approximately 9,280 massage therapists according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $49,680 1. The state’s concentration of massage therapist jobs is 1.47x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, massage therapist employment is projected to grow 15.4% from 2024 to 2034, with about 24,700 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Massage Therapist in Florida, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.

At a Glance

Quick Answers About How to Become a Massage Therapist in Florida

How to become a Massage Therapist in Florida? Complete a board-approved massage program that meets this state’s hour requirement, an exam (often MBLEx), and a state massage license where required. Apply through FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance.

How long does it take? Most people finish a board-approved massage program that meets this state’s hour requirement, an exam (often MBLEx), and a state massage license where required. Confirm current hour totals with the program and FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance.

Do I need a license in Florida? Yes. Florida credentials this role through FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance 3. See the licensing section below.

What do massage therapists earn in Florida? The median annual wage for massage therapists in Florida is $49,680 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $30,310 and experienced professionals can earn $79,220 or more 1.

How to Become a Massage Therapist in Florida

  1. Meet board entry rules. Confirm age and education rules with FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance. Do not treat minimum age as years of work.
  2. Complete a board-approved massage program. Finish the hour requirement FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance publishes. Confirm the current total with the board. This is not a DAS registered apprenticeship.
  3. Pass MBLEx or the state exam. Most states use MBLEx. Confirm with FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance.
  4. Apply for the massage license. Apply to FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance before taking paying clients where the state licenses massage.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Massage Therapist License Requirements in Florida

Massage therapists in Florida complete board-approved hours, pass an exam (often MBLEx), and apply to FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance where the state licenses the trade. See FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance 3.

Typical path

  1. Complete a board-approved program.

  2. Pass MBLEx or the state exam.

  3. Apply to FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance.

Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance before you enroll.

Massage Therapist Wages by Metro Area in Florida

Massage Therapists Wages by Metro Area in Florida

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), massage therapists wages in Florida vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Miami-Fort Lauderdale-West Palm Beach2,740$48,370$52,120$30,260$79,330
Tampa-St. Petersburg-Clearwater1,530$51,470$54,400$31,650$70,720
Orlando-Kissimmee-Sanford1,250$48,480$54,360$29,360$95,620
Jacksonville650$50,600$55,890$31,580$79,040
Cape Coral-Fort Myers390$50,190$57,750$31,660$93,000
North Port-Bradenton-Sarasota380$49,830$55,710$34,070$79,460
Naples-Marco Island320$55,160$61,690$32,760$101,910
Deltona-Daytona Beach-Ormond Beach250$39,780$44,350$30,310$70,270
Palm Bay-Melbourne-Titusville230$48,850$54,070$31,220$81,530
Crestview-Fort Walton Beach-Destin140$49,360$50,090$27,040$76,320
Pensacola-Ferry Pass-Brent140$48,960$53,670$34,110$77,500
Gainesville130$50,270$55,780$32,610$84,040
Port St. Lucie120$49,760$53,360$27,040$83,540
Lakeland-Winter Haven100$50,300$57,760$32,610$80,550
Ocala80$47,550$53,410$27,870$79,370
Sebastian-Vero Beach-West Vero Corridor80$50,980$55,760$40,280$78,060
Punta Gorda60$56,800$62,130$45,910$97,300
Wildwood-The Villages50$51,770$57,470$47,830$74,900

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for massage therapists in Florida? Florida currently employs approximately 9,280 massage therapists 1. Nationally, massage therapist employment is projected to grow 15.4% from 2024 to 2034 2.

Can I work as a massage therapist in Florida with an out-of-state license? Contact the FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.

What training programs are available in Florida? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Florida.

How much do massage therapists earn in Florida compared to the national average? The median annual wage for massage therapists in Florida is $49,680, which is $8,270 below the national median of $57,950 according to BLS data 1.

In Florida

Top local programs

Explore More Trades in Florida

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

  3. FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance - Licensing Information: https://www.doh.state.fl.us/ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)