How to Become a Massage Therapist in Ohio (2026)
Ohio employs about 1,760 massage therapists earning a median $55,990 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Massage Therapist here means completing a board-approved massage program that meets this state’s hour requirement, an exam (often MBLEx), and a state massage license where required, then applying through State Medical Board of Ohio.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Ohio): $55,990/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Ohio: 1,760 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.50x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 15.4% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
- Licensing/credentialing body: State Medical Board of Ohio (Source: State licensing agency, 2025)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Massage Therapist Schools in Ohio
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | EHOVE Career Center | 75.4 | Contact school for pricing | $50,326 | 89% | — | 31 mi |
| 2 | Career and Technology Education Centers of Licking County | 71.2 | Contact school for pricing | $46,534 | 83% | — | 55 mi |
| 3 | Lorain County Community College | 58.2 | Contact school for pricing | $52,814 | 32% | Yes* | 41 mi |
| 4 | Columbus State Community College | 56.1 | Contact school for pricing | $52,681 | 28% | Yes* | 70 mi |
| 5 | Cuyahoga Community College District | 47.6 | Contact school for pricing | $49,698 | 30% | Yes* | 57 mi |
| 6 | Orion Institute | 47.0 | Contact school for pricing | $24,826 | Not reported | — | 75 mi |
| 7 | Stark State College | 46.3 | Contact school for pricing | $49,440 | 23% | Yes* | 53 mi |
| 8 | Hocking College | 44.3 | Contact school for pricing | $44,764 | Not reported | Yes* | 102 mi |
| 9 | Raphael's School of Beauty Culture Inc-Boardman | 39.2 | Contact school for pricing | $20,189 | 70% | — | 93 mi |
| 10 | American Institute of Alternative Medicine | 38.6 | Contact school for pricing | $56,477 | Not reported | — | 62 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Ohio employs approximately 1,760 massage therapists according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $55,990 1. Nationally, massage therapist employment is projected to grow 15.4% from 2024 to 2034, with about 24,700 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Massage Therapist in Ohio, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: board-approved massage therapy program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a board-approved massage program that meets this state’s hour requirement, an exam (often MBLEx), and a state massage license where required
- Licensing authority: State Medical Board of Ohio
- Exam: MBLEx or the exam the board uses
- Median wage (Ohio): $55,990 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Massage Therapist in Ohio
How to become a Massage Therapist in Ohio? Complete a board-approved massage program that meets this state’s hour requirement, an exam (often MBLEx), and a state massage license where required. Apply through State Medical Board of Ohio.
How long does it take? Most people finish a board-approved massage program that meets this state’s hour requirement, an exam (often MBLEx), and a state massage license where required. Confirm current hour totals with the program and State Medical Board of Ohio.
Do I need a license in Ohio? Yes. Ohio credentials this role through State Medical Board of Ohio 3. See the licensing section below.
What do massage therapists earn in Ohio? The median annual wage for massage therapists in Ohio is $55,990 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $40,340 and experienced professionals can earn $78,520 or more 1.
How to Become a Massage Therapist in Ohio
- Meet board entry rules. Confirm age and education rules with State Medical Board of Ohio. Do not treat minimum age as years of work.
- Complete a board-approved massage program. Finish the hour requirement State Medical Board of Ohio publishes. Confirm the current total with the board. This is not a DAS registered apprenticeship.
- Pass MBLEx or the state exam. Most states use MBLEx. Confirm with State Medical Board of Ohio.
- Apply for the massage license. Apply to State Medical Board of Ohio before taking paying clients where the state licenses massage.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Massage Therapist License Requirements in Ohio
Massage therapists in Ohio complete board-approved hours, pass an exam (often MBLEx), and apply to State Medical Board of Ohio where the state licenses the trade. See State Medical Board of Ohio 3.
Typical path
Complete a board-approved program.
Pass MBLEx or the state exam.
Apply to State Medical Board of Ohio.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with State Medical Board of Ohio before you enroll.
Massage Therapist Wages by Metro Area in Ohio
Massage Therapists Wages by Metro Area in Ohio
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), massage therapists wages in Ohio vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cincinnati | 440 | $55,990 | $60,080 | $45,970 | $98,010 |
| Columbus | 390 | $57,580 | $57,930 | $40,690 | $77,030 |
| Cleveland | 350 | $54,770 | $56,260 | $38,640 | $75,470 |
| Akron | 190 | $47,990 | $53,830 | $44,330 | $73,470 |
| Dayton-Kettering-Beavercreek | 130 | $56,720 | $55,320 | $40,280 | $71,530 |
| Toledo | 90 | $54,850 | $55,800 | $40,860 | $71,040 |
| Youngstown-Warren | 40 | $57,130 | $63,290 | $42,310 | $95,110 |
| Huntington-Ashland | 40 | $44,150 | $43,130 | $26,310 | $62,820 |
| Canton-Massillon | 30 | $50,980 | $48,760 | $31,930 | $59,750 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for massage therapists in Ohio? Ohio currently employs approximately 1,760 massage therapists 1. Nationally, massage therapist employment is projected to grow 15.4% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a massage therapist in Ohio with an out-of-state license? Contact the State Medical Board of Ohio for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Ohio? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Ohio.
How much do massage therapists earn in Ohio compared to the national average? The median annual wage for massage therapists in Ohio is $55,990, which is $1,960 below the national median of $57,950 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Ohio
Top local programs
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Akron, Ohio (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Alliance, Ohio (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Amherst, Ohio (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Ashland, Ohio (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Ashtabula, Ohio (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Athens, Ohio (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Aurora, Ohio (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Avon Lake, Ohio (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Avon, Ohio (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Barberton, Ohio (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Bay Village, Ohio (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Beachwood, Ohio (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Ohio (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Ohio
- Best HVAC Schools in Ohio (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Ohio
- Best Plumbing Schools in Ohio (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Ohio
Explore More Trades in Ohio
- Electrician in Ohio
- Plumber in Ohio
- HVAC Technician in Ohio
- Welder in Ohio
- Carpenter in Ohio
- Solar Installation Technician in Ohio
- Auto Mechanic in Ohio
- CNC Machinist in Ohio
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Ohio
- Medical Assistant in Ohio
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
State Medical Board of Ohio - Licensing Information: https://www.med.ohio.gov ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |