How to Become a Massage Therapist in Oregon (2026)
Oregon employs about 2,250 massage therapists earning a median $86,970 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Massage Therapist here means completing a board-approved massage program that meets this state’s hour requirement, an exam (often MBLEx), and a state massage license where required, then applying through Board of Massage Therapists.
Compare Massage Therapist Schools in Oregon
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition (published, per year) | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Lake Washington Institute of Technology | 68.9 | $5,997 in-state / $12,062 out-of-state | $55,891 | 37% | Yes* | 183 mi |
| 2 | Whatcom Community College | 66.7 | $5,115 in-state / $11,037 out-of-state | $43,628 | 36% | Yes* | 258 mi |
| 3 | Clover Park Technical College | 63.9 | $6,634 | $51,699 | 43% | Yes* | 146 mi |
| 4 | Renton Technical College | 63.3 | $6,308 in-state / $7,369 out-of-state | $56,466 | 46% | Yes* | 169 mi |
| 5 | Carrington College-Spokane | 51.2 | Contact school for pricing | $39,064 | 42% | Yes* | 306 mi |
| 6 | Zorganics Institute of Beauty and Wellness | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | — | 258 mi |
| 7 | Victoria's Academy of Cosmetology | 42.2 | Contact school for pricing | $24,130 | 96% | — | 179 mi |
| 8 | Rogue Community College | 30.4 | $5,256 in-state / $6,300 out-of-state | $46,107 | 9% | Yes* | 189 mi |
| 9 | Central Oregon Community College | 30.0 | $5,049 in-state / $13,545 out-of-state | $50,974 | 25% | — | 88 mi |
| 10 | Carrington College-Portland | 27.9 | Contact school for pricing | $39,064 | 54% | — | 34 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Oregon employs approximately 2,250 massage therapists according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $86,970 1. The state’s concentration of massage therapist jobs is 1.80x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, massage therapist employment is projected to grow 15.4% from 2024 to 2034, with about 24,700 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Massage Therapist in Oregon, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: board-approved massage therapy program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a board-approved massage program that meets this state’s hour requirement, an exam (often MBLEx), and a state massage license where required
- Licensing authority: Board of Massage Therapists
- Exam: MBLEx or the exam the board uses
- Median wage (Oregon): $86,970 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Massage Therapist in Oregon
How to become a Massage Therapist in Oregon? Complete a board-approved massage program that meets this state’s hour requirement, an exam (often MBLEx), and a state massage license where required. Apply through Board of Massage Therapists.
How long does it take? Most people finish a board-approved massage program that meets this state’s hour requirement, an exam (often MBLEx), and a state massage license where required. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Board of Massage Therapists.
Do I need a license in Oregon? Yes. Oregon credentials this role through Board of Massage Therapists 3. See the licensing section below.
What do massage therapists earn in Oregon? The median annual wage for massage therapists in Oregon is $86,970 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $47,270 and experienced professionals can earn $103,630 or more 1.
How to Become a Massage Therapist in Oregon
- Meet board entry rules. Confirm age and education rules with Board of Massage Therapists. Do not treat minimum age as years of work.
- Complete a board-approved massage program. Finish the hour requirement Board of Massage Therapists publishes. Confirm the current total with the board. This is not a DAS registered apprenticeship.
- Pass MBLEx or the state exam. Most states use MBLEx. Confirm with Board of Massage Therapists.
- Apply for the massage license. Apply to Board of Massage Therapists before taking paying clients where the state licenses massage.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Massage Therapist License Requirements in Oregon
Massage therapists in Oregon complete board-approved hours, pass an exam (often MBLEx), and apply to Board of Massage Therapists where the state licenses the trade. See Board of Massage Therapists 3.
Typical path
Complete a board-approved program.
Pass MBLEx or the state exam.
Apply to Board of Massage Therapists.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Board of Massage Therapists before you enroll.
Massage Therapist Wages by Metro Area in Oregon
Massage Therapists Wages by Metro Area in Oregon
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), massage therapists wages in Oregon vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Portland-Vancouver-Hillsboro | 1,580 | $84,730 | $82,840 | $50,710 | $103,650 |
| Bend | 210 | $94,580 | $85,280 | $47,380 | $108,390 |
| Eugene-Springfield | 180 | $83,880 | $78,460 | $40,580 | $96,750 |
| Salem | 160 | $96,080 | $91,630 | $62,670 | $117,490 |
| Medford | 150 | $82,370 | $81,500 | $58,180 | $95,720 |
| Grants Pass | 40 | $94,610 | $85,520 | $40,730 | $98,560 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for massage therapists in Oregon? Oregon currently employs approximately 2,250 massage therapists 1. Nationally, massage therapist employment is projected to grow 15.4% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a massage therapist in Oregon with an out-of-state license? Contact the Board of Massage Therapists for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Oregon? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Oregon.
How much do massage therapists earn in Oregon compared to the national average? The median annual wage for massage therapists in Oregon is $86,970, which is $29,020 above the national median of $57,950 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Oregon
Top local programs
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Albany, Oregon (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Ashland, Oregon (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Astoria, Oregon (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Beaverton, Oregon (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Bend, Oregon (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Brookings, Oregon (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Canby, Oregon (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Central Point, Oregon (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Coos Bay, Oregon (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Cornelius, Oregon (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Corvallis, Oregon (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Cottage Grove, Oregon (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Oregon (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Oregon
- Best HVAC Schools in Oregon (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Oregon
- Best Plumbing Schools in Oregon (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Oregon
Explore More Trades in Oregon
- Electrician in Oregon
- Plumber in Oregon
- HVAC Technician in Oregon
- Welder in Oregon
- Carpenter in Oregon
- Solar Installation Technician in Oregon
- Auto Mechanic in Oregon
- CNC Machinist in Oregon
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Oregon
- Medical Assistant in Oregon
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Board of Massage Therapists - Licensing Information: https://www.oregon.gov/DEQ/Pages/index.aspx ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |