How to Become a Massage Therapist in Tennessee (2026)
Tennessee employs about 1,230 massage therapists earning a median $50,070 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Massage Therapist here means completing a board-approved massage program that meets this state’s hour requirement, an exam (often MBLEx), and a state massage license where required, then applying through Department of Health - Division of Health Related Boards - Division of Health Related Boards.
Compare Massage Therapist Schools in Tennessee
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition (published, per year) | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Gould's Academy | 61.6 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 84% | — | 150 mi |
| 2 | Roane State Community College | 59.9 | $4,998 in-state / $18,630 out-of-state | $45,998 | 36% | Yes* | 150 mi |
| 3 | Tennessee College of Applied Technology-McMinnville | 58.5 | Contact school for pricing | $49,364 | 67% | — | 85 mi |
| 4 | Georgia Northwestern Technical College | 53.6 | $3,300 in-state / $5,868 out-of-state | $44,490 | 43% | Yes* | 160 mi |
| 5 | Hopkinsville Community College | 50.6 | $4,728 in-state / $6,432 out-of-state | $46,788 | 45% | Yes* | 79 mi |
| 6 | Mind Body Institute | 46.7 | Contact school for pricing | $32,428 | 75% | — | 48 mi |
| 7 | Northeast Alabama Community College | 46.6 | $5,040 in-state / $8,910 out-of-state | $41,273 | 56% | — | 122 mi |
| 8 | Massage Institute of Memphis | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 100% | — | 158 mi |
| 9 | Southeastern Illinois College | 37.2 | $4,560 in-state / $6,780 out-of-state | $53,583 | 55% | — | 154 mi |
| 10 | Lawrenceburg Technical College | 36.1 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 49% | — | 35 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Tennessee employs approximately 1,230 massage therapists according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $50,070 1. Nationally, massage therapist employment is projected to grow 15.4% from 2024 to 2034, with about 24,700 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Massage Therapist in Tennessee, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: board-approved massage therapy program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a board-approved massage program that meets this state’s hour requirement, an exam (often MBLEx), and a state massage license where required
- Licensing authority: Department of Health - Division of Health Related Boards - Division of Health Related Boards
- Exam: MBLEx or the exam the board uses
- Median wage (Tennessee): $50,070 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Massage Therapist in Tennessee
How to become a Massage Therapist in Tennessee? Complete a board-approved massage program that meets this state’s hour requirement, an exam (often MBLEx), and a state massage license where required. Apply through Department of Health - Division of Health Related Boards - Division of Health Related Boards.
How long does it take? Most people finish a board-approved massage program that meets this state’s hour requirement, an exam (often MBLEx), and a state massage license where required. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Department of Health - Division of Health Related Boards - Division of Health Related Boards.
Do I need a license in Tennessee? Yes. Tennessee typically registers this role through Department of Health - Division of Health Related Boards - Division of Health Related Boards. See the licensing section below.
What do massage therapists earn in Tennessee? The median annual wage for massage therapists in Tennessee is $50,070 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $36,960 and experienced professionals can earn $95,260 or more 1.
How to Become a Massage Therapist in Tennessee
- Meet board entry rules. Confirm age and education rules with Department of Health - Division of Health Related Boards - Division of Health Related Boards. Do not treat minimum age as years of work.
- Complete a board-approved massage program. Finish the hour requirement Department of Health - Division of Health Related Boards - Division of Health Related Boards publishes. Confirm the current total with the board. This is not a DAS registered apprenticeship.
- Pass MBLEx or the state exam. Most states use MBLEx. Confirm with Department of Health - Division of Health Related Boards - Division of Health Related Boards.
- Apply for the massage license. Apply to Department of Health - Division of Health Related Boards - Division of Health Related Boards before taking paying clients where the state licenses massage.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Massage Therapist License Requirements in Tennessee
Massage therapists in Tennessee complete board-approved hours, pass an exam (often MBLEx), and apply to Department of Health - Division of Health Related Boards - Division of Health Related Boards where the state licenses the trade.
Typical path
Complete a board-approved program.
Pass MBLEx or the state exam.
Apply to Department of Health - Division of Health Related Boards - Division of Health Related Boards.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Department of Health - Division of Health Related Boards - Division of Health Related Boards before you enroll.
Massage Therapist Wages by Metro Area in Tennessee
Massage Therapists Wages by Metro Area in Tennessee
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), massage therapists wages in Tennessee vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nashville-Davidson--Murfreesboro--Franklin | 530 | $52,140 | $60,960 | $40,590 | $95,570 |
| Knoxville | 170 | $47,120 | $54,850 | $15,690 | $97,480 |
| Memphis | 160 | $47,320 | $52,400 | $27,690 | $90,920 |
| Chattanooga | 90 | $48,030 | $55,500 | $36,120 | $85,680 |
| Johnson City | 40 | $52,410 | $54,950 | $37,750 | $80,460 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for massage therapists in Tennessee? Tennessee currently employs approximately 1,230 massage therapists 1. Nationally, massage therapist employment is projected to grow 15.4% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a massage therapist in Tennessee with an out-of-state license? Contact Department of Health - Division of Health Related Boards - Division of Health Related Boards for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Tennessee? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Tennessee.
How much do massage therapists earn in Tennessee compared to the national average? The median annual wage for massage therapists in Tennessee is $50,070, which is $7,880 below the national median of $57,950 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Tennessee
Top local programs
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Arlington, Tennessee (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Athens, Tennessee (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Atoka, Tennessee (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Bartlett, Tennessee (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Brentwood, Tennessee (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Bristol, Tennessee (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Chattanooga, Tennessee (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Clarksville, Tennessee (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Cleveland, Tennessee (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Clinton, Tennessee (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Collegedale, Tennessee (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Collierville, Tennessee (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Tennessee (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Tennessee
- Best HVAC Schools in Tennessee (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Tennessee
- Best Plumbing Schools in Tennessee (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Tennessee
Explore More Trades in Tennessee
- Electrician in Tennessee
- Plumber in Tennessee
- HVAC Technician in Tennessee
- Welder in Tennessee
- Carpenter in Tennessee
- Solar Installation Technician in Tennessee
- Auto Mechanic in Tennessee
- CNC Machinist in Tennessee
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Tennessee
- Medical Assistant in Tennessee
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |