How to Become a Massage Therapist in Vermont (2026)

U.S. employment of massage therapists is projected to change 15.4% from 2024 to 2034 (BLS Employment Projections). Training as a Massage Therapist here means completing a board-approved massage program that meets this state’s hour requirement, an exam (often MBLEx), and a state massage license where required, then applying through Vermont Secretary of State - Office of Professional Regulation.

Sponsored - request program info

Key Facts

  • Projected growth: 15.4% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
  • Licensing/credentialing body: Vermont Secretary of State - Office of Professional Regulation (Source: State licensing agency, 2025)

Compare Massage Therapist Schools in Vermont

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Tuition is the published annual figure for the latest reported year and excludes room, board, books and fees. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)Tuition (published, per year)Median grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
148.5Contact school for pricing$32,58685%—128 mi
247.8$6,682 in-state / $9,370 out-of-state$54,28129%Yes*66 mi
344.3$7,200 in-state / $15,450 out-of-state$54,40734%—129 mi
444.2$6,940 in-state / $15,190 out-of-state$54,46522%—63 mi
541.1$7,050 in-state / $15,300 out-of-state$60,67462%—82 mi
637.1Contact school for pricing$32,58677%—148 mi
737.0$15,865$44,84437%Yes*120 mi
834.8$6,164 in-state / $11,468 out-of-state$47,66620%—127 mi
916.5Contact school for pricing$32,586Not reported—135 mi
10Not ratedContact school for pricing$44,844Not reported—127 mi

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Vermont offers career opportunities for massage therapists. This page covers how to become a Massage Therapist in Vermont, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.

At a Glance

Quick Answers About How to Become a Massage Therapist in Vermont

How to become a Massage Therapist in Vermont? Complete a board-approved massage program that meets this state’s hour requirement, an exam (often MBLEx), and a state massage license where required. Apply through Vermont Secretary of State - Office of Professional Regulation.

How long does it take? Most people finish a board-approved massage program that meets this state’s hour requirement, an exam (often MBLEx), and a state massage license where required. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Vermont Secretary of State - Office of Professional Regulation.

Do I need a license in Vermont? Yes. Vermont credentials this role through Vermont Secretary of State - Office of Professional Regulation 1. See the licensing section below.

How to Become a Massage Therapist in Vermont

  1. Meet board entry rules. Confirm age and education rules with Vermont Secretary of State - Office of Professional Regulation. Do not treat minimum age as years of work.
  2. Complete a board-approved massage program. Finish the hour requirement Vermont Secretary of State - Office of Professional Regulation publishes. Confirm the current total with the board. This is not a DAS registered apprenticeship.
  3. Pass MBLEx or the state exam. Most states use MBLEx. Confirm with Vermont Secretary of State - Office of Professional Regulation.
  4. Apply for the massage license. Apply to Vermont Secretary of State - Office of Professional Regulation before taking paying clients where the state licenses massage.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Massage Therapist License Requirements in Vermont

Massage therapists in Vermont complete board-approved hours, pass an exam (often MBLEx), and apply to Vermont Secretary of State - Office of Professional Regulation where the state licenses the trade. See Vermont Secretary of State - Office of Professional Regulation 1.

Typical path

  1. Complete a board-approved program.

  2. Pass MBLEx or the state exam.

  3. Apply to Vermont Secretary of State - Office of Professional Regulation.

Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Vermont Secretary of State - Office of Professional Regulation before you enroll.

Massage Therapist Wages by Metro Area in Vermont

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for massage therapists in Vermont? Nationally, massage therapist employment is projected to grow 15.4% from 2024 to 2034 2.

Can I work as a massage therapist in Vermont with an out-of-state license? Contact the Vermont Secretary of State - Office of Professional Regulation for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.

What training programs are available in Vermont? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Vermont.

In Vermont

Top local programs

Explore More Trades in Vermont

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Vermont Secretary of State - Office of Professional Regulation - Licensing Information: https://sos.vermont.gov/massage-therapists-bodyworkers-and-touch-professionals/ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)