How to Become a Massage Therapist in Washington (2026)
Washington employs about 3,740 massage therapists earning a median $87,360 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Massage Therapist here means completing a board-approved massage program that meets this state’s hour requirement, an exam (often MBLEx), and a state massage license where required, then applying through Department of Health.
Compare Massage Therapist Schools in Washington
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition (published, per year) | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Carrington College-Boise | 76.4 | Contact school for pricing | $57,082 | 62% | Yes* | 337 mi |
| 2 | Lake Washington Institute of Technology | 68.9 | $5,997 in-state / $12,062 out-of-state | $55,891 | 37% | Yes* | 64 mi |
| 3 | Whatcom Community College | 66.7 | $5,115 in-state / $11,037 out-of-state | $43,628 | 36% | Yes* | 134 mi |
| 4 | Clover Park Technical College | 63.9 | $6,634 | $51,699 | 43% | Yes* | 63 mi |
| 5 | Renton Technical College | 63.3 | $6,308 in-state / $7,369 out-of-state | $56,466 | 46% | Yes* | 56 mi |
| 6 | Carrington College-Spokane | 51.2 | Contact school for pricing | $39,064 | 42% | Yes* | 187 mi |
| 7 | Zorganics Institute of Beauty and Wellness | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | — | 134 mi |
| 8 | Victoria's Academy of Cosmetology | 42.2 | Contact school for pricing | $24,130 | 96% | — | 114 mi |
| 9 | Central Oregon Community College | 30.0 | $5,049 in-state / $13,545 out-of-state | $50,974 | 25% | — | 208 mi |
| 10 | Carrington College-Portland | 27.9 | Contact school for pricing | $39,064 | 54% | — | 128 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Washington employs approximately 3,740 massage therapists according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $87,360 1. The state’s concentration of massage therapist jobs is 1.66x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, massage therapist employment is projected to grow 15.4% from 2024 to 2034, with about 24,700 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Massage Therapist in Washington, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: board-approved massage therapy program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a board-approved massage program that meets this state’s hour requirement, an exam (often MBLEx), and a state massage license where required
- Licensing authority: Department of Health
- Exam: MBLEx or the exam the board uses
- Median wage (Washington): $87,360 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Massage Therapist in Washington
How to become a Massage Therapist in Washington? Complete a board-approved massage program that meets this state’s hour requirement, an exam (often MBLEx), and a state massage license where required. Apply through Department of Health.
How long does it take? Most people finish a board-approved massage program that meets this state’s hour requirement, an exam (often MBLEx), and a state massage license where required. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Department of Health.
Do I need a license in Washington? Yes. Washington credentials this role through Department of Health 3. See the licensing section below.
What do massage therapists earn in Washington? The median annual wage for massage therapists in Washington is $87,360 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $61,850 and experienced professionals can earn $115,800 or more 1.
How to Become a Massage Therapist in Washington
- Meet board entry rules. Confirm age and education rules with Department of Health. Do not treat minimum age as years of work.
- Complete a board-approved massage program. Finish the hour requirement Department of Health publishes. Confirm the current total with the board. This is not a DAS registered apprenticeship.
- Pass MBLEx or the state exam. Most states use MBLEx. Confirm with Department of Health.
- Apply for the massage license. Apply to Department of Health before taking paying clients where the state licenses massage.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Massage Therapist License Requirements in Washington
Massage therapists in Washington complete board-approved hours, pass an exam (often MBLEx), and apply to Department of Health where the state licenses the trade. See Department of Health 3.
Typical path
Complete a board-approved program.
Pass MBLEx or the state exam.
Apply to Department of Health.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Department of Health before you enroll.
Massage Therapist Wages by Metro Area in Washington
Massage Therapists Wages by Metro Area in Washington
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), massage therapists wages in Washington vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Seattle-Tacoma-Bellevue | 2,230 | $94,220 | $92,510 | $65,850 | $128,500 |
| Portland-Vancouver-Hillsboro | 1,580 | $84,730 | $82,840 | $50,710 | $103,650 |
| Washington-Arlington-Alexandria | 1,540 | $65,220 | $78,260 | $46,140 | $132,250 |
| Spokane-Spokane Valley | 370 | $77,150 | $75,380 | $60,850 | $96,520 |
| Olympia-Lacey-Tumwater | 200 | $78,320 | $77,650 | $35,740 | $113,570 |
| Bellingham | 140 | $83,790 | $86,250 | $60,950 | $115,630 |
| Kennewick-Richland | 80 | $79,950 | $79,810 | $61,210 | $96,270 |
| Wenatchee-East Wenatchee | 70 | $81,030 | $82,110 | $63,070 | $99,260 |
| Bremerton-Silverdale-Port Orchard | 60 | $82,690 | $83,450 | $37,060 | $118,320 |
| Yakima | 60 | $84,100 | $87,000 | $69,570 | $105,450 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for massage therapists in Washington? Washington currently employs approximately 3,740 massage therapists 1. Nationally, massage therapist employment is projected to grow 15.4% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a massage therapist in Washington with an out-of-state license? Contact the Department of Health for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Washington? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Washington.
How much do massage therapists earn in Washington compared to the national average? The median annual wage for massage therapists in Washington is $87,360, which is $29,410 above the national median of $57,950 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Washington
Top local programs
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Aberdeen, Washington (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Anacortes, Washington (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Arlington, Washington (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Auburn, Washington (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Bainbridge Island, Washington (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Battle Ground, Washington (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Bellevue, Washington (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Bellingham, Washington (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Bonney Lake, Washington (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Bothell, Washington (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Bremerton, Washington (2026)
- Best Massage Therapy Schools in Burien, Washington (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Washington (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Washington
- Best HVAC Schools in Washington (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Washington
- Best Plumbing Schools in Washington (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Washington
Explore More Trades in Washington
- Electrician in Washington
- Plumber in Washington
- HVAC Technician in Washington
- Welder in Washington
- Carpenter in Washington
- Solar Installation Technician in Washington
- Auto Mechanic in Washington
- CNC Machinist in Washington
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Washington
- Medical Assistant in Washington
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Department of Health - Licensing Information: http://www.doh.wa.gov ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |