How to Become a Medical Assistant in Florida (2026)
Florida employs about 66,110 medical assistants earning a median $43,680 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Medical Assistant here means completing a medical assisting program of typically less than a year plus CMA or RMA; most states do not license medical assistants.
Compare Medical Assistant Schools in Florida
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition (published, per year) | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | South Florida State College | 73.8 | $3,165 in-state / $11,859 out-of-state | $48,619 | 48% | Yes* | 19 mi |
| 2 | Traviss Technical College | 73.3 | Contact school for pricing | $38,755 | 90% | — | 26 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Orange Technical College | 49.6 | Contact school for pricing | $34,945 | 79% | — | 49 mi |
| 4 | Ridge Technical College | 47.7 | $3,930 in-state / $10,530 out-of-state | $35,542 | 99% | — | 16 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Valencia College | 46.8 | $2,664 in-state / $9,576 out-of-state | $46,937 | 48% | — | 46 mi |
| 6 | Concorde Career Institute-Orlando | 44.8 | Contact school for pricing | $40,001 | 69% | — | 51 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Gwinnett Institute | 44.4 | Contact school for pricing | $41,872 | Not reported | Yes* | 49 mi |
| 8 | Osceola Technical College | 43.3 | Contact school for pricing | $37,201 | 47% | — | 36 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | Southern Technical College | 24.7 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 63% | — | 42 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Florida employs approximately 66,110 medical assistants according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $43,680 1. The state’s concentration of medical assistant jobs is 1.27x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, medical assistant employment is projected to grow 12.5% from 2024 to 2034, with about 112,300 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Medical Assistant in Florida, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: medical assisting certificate or diploma program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a medical assisting program of typically less than a year plus CMA or RMA; most states do not license medical assistants
- Exam: CMA (AAMA) or RMA (AMT)
- Median wage (Florida): $43,680 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Medical Assistant in Florida
How to become a Medical Assistant in Florida? Complete a medical assisting program of typically less than a year plus CMA or RMA; most states do not license medical assistants. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a medical assisting program of typically less than a year plus CMA or RMA; most states do not license medical assistants. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Florida? Most states do not require a statewide occupational license. Employers typically expect CMA (AAMA) or RMA (AMT). See the licensing section below.
What do medical assistants earn in Florida? The median annual wage for medical assistants in Florida is $43,680 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $35,880 and experienced professionals can earn $49,040 or more 1.
How to Become a Medical Assistant in Florida
- Meet program entry rules. Programs typically require a high school diploma or GED.
- Complete a medical assisting program. Finish a certificate or diploma program in Florida, often under a year. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Earn CMA or RMA. Pass CMA (AAMA) or RMA (AMT). Employers typically require one of these.
- Confirm any state delegation rules. Most states do not license medical assistants. Scope is set by the delegating provider and state medical-board rules.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Medical Assistant License Requirements in Florida
Most states do not license medical assistants. Employers expect CMA or RMA after a short program.
Typical path
Complete a medical assisting program.
Earn CMA or RMA.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Medical Assistant Wages by Metro Area in Florida
Medical Assistants Wages by Metro Area in Florida
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), medical assistants wages in Florida vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Miami-Fort Lauderdale-West Palm Beach | 18,670 | $44,930 | $44,150 | $35,650 | $51,930 |
| Tampa-St. Petersburg-Clearwater | 9,310 | $44,480 | $43,360 | $36,860 | $49,490 |
| Orlando-Kissimmee-Sanford | 7,920 | $43,800 | $43,120 | $36,650 | $48,600 |
| Jacksonville | 6,860 | $42,600 | $43,180 | $37,230 | $47,950 |
| North Port-Bradenton-Sarasota | 2,270 | $45,620 | $44,330 | $37,430 | $50,540 |
| Palm Bay-Melbourne-Titusville | 2,230 | $38,830 | $40,760 | $33,180 | $48,030 |
| Cape Coral-Fort Myers | 2,190 | $42,860 | $43,370 | $37,290 | $48,760 |
| Lakeland-Winter Haven | 2,010 | $41,780 | $41,570 | $35,360 | $46,920 |
| Deltona-Daytona Beach-Ormond Beach | 1,660 | $43,980 | $42,070 | $35,640 | $48,410 |
| Naples-Marco Island | 1,390 | $44,480 | $44,880 | $35,860 | $49,230 |
| Tallahassee | 1,390 | $36,880 | $45,970 | $31,930 | $45,660 |
| Pensacola-Ferry Pass-Brent | 1,250 | $38,760 | $41,600 | $35,670 | $48,600 |
| Port St. Lucie | 1,220 | $44,280 | $43,750 | $36,710 | $50,860 |
| Ocala | 1,080 | $37,310 | $39,730 | $31,330 | $46,010 |
| Gainesville | 840 | $39,100 | $41,550 | $35,390 | $47,160 |
| Panama City-Panama City Beach | 620 | $39,200 | $41,110 | $35,610 | $47,020 |
| Crestview-Fort Walton Beach-Destin | 590 | $39,580 | $41,770 | $36,380 | $49,400 |
| Punta Gorda | 580 | $44,830 | $45,460 | $37,270 | $49,160 |
| Wildwood-The Villages | 520 | $40,910 | $42,030 | $35,730 | $48,150 |
| Sebastian-Vero Beach-West Vero Corridor | 480 | $40,280 | $42,390 | $37,300 | $47,420 |
| Homosassa Springs | 410 | $37,780 | $40,130 | $35,190 | $46,970 |
| Sebring | 300 | $37,750 | $39,200 | $34,110 | $44,680 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for medical assistants in Florida? Florida currently employs approximately 66,110 medical assistants 1. Nationally, medical assistant employment is projected to grow 12.5% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Florida? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Florida.
How much do medical assistants earn in Florida compared to the national average? The median annual wage for medical assistants in Florida is $43,680, which is $520 below the national median of $44,200 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Florida
Top local programs
- Best Medical Assistant Programs in Alachua, Florida (2026)
- Best Medical Assistant Programs in Altamonte Springs, Florida (2026)
- Best Medical Assistant Programs in Anna Maria, Florida (2026)
- Best Medical Assistant Programs in Apalachicola, Florida (2026)
- Best Medical Assistant Programs in Apopka, Florida (2026)
- Best Medical Assistant Programs in Arcadia, Florida (2026)
- Best Medical Assistant Programs in Archer, Florida (2026)
- Best Medical Assistant Programs in Astatula, Florida (2026)
- Best Medical Assistant Programs in Atlantic Beach, Florida (2026)
- Best Medical Assistant Programs in Atlantis, Florida (2026)
- Best Medical Assistant Programs in Auburndale, Florida (2026)
- Best Medical Assistant Programs in Aventura, Florida (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Florida (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Florida
- Best HVAC Schools in Florida (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Florida
- Best Plumbing Schools in Florida (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Florida
Explore More Trades in Florida
- Electrician in Florida
- Plumber in Florida
- HVAC Technician in Florida
- Welder in Florida
- Carpenter in Florida
- Solar Installation Technician in Florida
- Auto Mechanic in Florida
- CNC Machinist in Florida
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Florida
- Massage Therapist in Florida
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |