How to Become a Medical Billing and Coding Specialist in Michigan (2026)
Michigan employs about 4,890 medical billing and coding specialists earning a median $48,120 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Medical Billing and Coding Specialist here means completing a short coding or health-information program plus CPC, CCS, or RHIT; most states do not license these roles.
Compare Medical Billing and Coding Specialist Schools in Michigan
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition (published, per year) | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Jackson College | 52.2 | $7,350 in-state / $10,200 out-of-state | $53,223 | 16% | Yes* | 74 mi |
| 2 | Lansing Community College | 48.5 | $4,100 in-state / $11,300 out-of-state | $56,314 | 25% | Yes* | 34 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Delta College | 46.8 | $4,820 in-state / $7,880 out-of-state | $52,169 | 27% | Yes* | 40 mi |
| 4 | Dorsey College-Grand Rapids | 23.4 | $9,695 | Not reported | Not reported | — | 51 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Dorsey College-Saginaw | 22.1 | $16,990 | $34,001 | 65% | — | 37 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Michigan employs approximately 4,890 medical billing and coding specialists according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $48,120 1. Nationally, medical billing and coding specialist employment is projected to grow 7.1% from 2024 to 2034, with about 14,200 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Medical Billing and Coding Specialist in Michigan, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: medical billing, coding, or health-information program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a short coding or health-information program plus CPC, CCS, or RHIT; most states do not license these roles
- Exam: CPC, CCS, or RHIT
- Median wage (Michigan): $48,120 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Medical Billing and Coding Specialist in Michigan
How to become a Medical Billing and Coding Specialist in Michigan? Complete a short coding or health-information program plus CPC, CCS, or RHIT; most states do not license these roles. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a short coding or health-information program plus CPC, CCS, or RHIT; most states do not license these roles. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Michigan? Most states do not require a statewide occupational license. Employers typically expect CPC, CCS, or RHIT. See the licensing section below.
What do medical billing and coding specialists earn in Michigan? The median annual wage for medical billing and coding specialists in Michigan is $48,120 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $37,180 and experienced professionals can earn $77,080 or more 1.
How to Become a Medical Billing and Coding Specialist in Michigan
- Meet program entry rules. Programs typically require a high school diploma or GED.
- Complete a billing, coding, or HIT program. Finish a certificate or associate program. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Earn CPC, CCS, or RHIT. Pass AAPC CPC, AHIMA CCS, or RHIT depending on the role. Employers typically require a named credential.
- No statewide license in most states. Do not invent a licensing board for billers and coders.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Medical Billing and Coding Specialist License Requirements in Michigan
Most states do not license medical billers, coders, or health-information technicians. Employers expect CPC, CCS, or RHIT.
Typical path
Complete a program.
Earn CPC, CCS, or RHIT.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Medical Billing and Coding Specialist Wages by Metro Area in Michigan
Medical Records Specialists Wages by Metro Area in Michigan
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), medical records specialists wages in Michigan vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Detroit-Warren-Dearborn | 1,900 | $46,730 | $52,150 | $37,180 | $79,450 |
| Grand Rapids-Wyoming-Kentwood | 560 | $48,780 | $53,880 | $38,830 | $81,160 |
| Ann Arbor | 360 | $62,420 | $60,060 | $40,660 | $77,080 |
| South Bend-Mishawaka | 330 | $47,610 | $52,740 | $39,260 | $79,270 |
| Flint | 250 | $44,690 | $50,460 | $35,850 | $76,840 |
| Kalamazoo-Portage | 180 | $47,620 | $52,340 | $37,120 | $73,300 |
| Traverse City | 160 | $49,340 | $51,900 | $40,140 | $62,760 |
| Saginaw | 150 | $52,890 | $55,710 | $38,070 | $78,940 |
| Lansing-East Lansing | 130 | $46,740 | $49,740 | $35,510 | $64,270 |
| Midland | 120 | $52,050 | $59,530 | $45,190 | $82,800 |
| Muskegon-Norton Shores | 80 | $44,390 | $48,300 | $37,440 | $71,800 |
| Battle Creek | 60 | $45,150 | $49,230 | $38,160 | $71,930 |
| Niles | 60 | $48,350 | $50,030 | $39,830 | $61,940 |
| Jackson | 40 | $46,950 | $52,010 | $36,430 | $71,800 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for medical billing and coding specialists in Michigan? Michigan currently employs approximately 4,890 medical billing and coding specialists 1. Nationally, medical billing and coding specialist employment is projected to grow 7.1% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Michigan? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Michigan.
How much do medical billing and coding specialists earn in Michigan compared to the national average? The median annual wage for medical billing and coding specialists in Michigan is $48,120, which is $2,130 below the national median of $50,250 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Michigan
Top local programs
- Best Medical Billing & Coding Schools in Michigan (2026)
- Best Medical Billing and Coding Schools in Adrian, Michigan (2026)
- Best Medical Billing and Coding Schools in Allen Park, Michigan (2026)
- Best Medical Billing and Coding Schools in Alma, Michigan (2026)
- Best Medical Billing and Coding Schools in Alpena, Michigan (2026)
- Best Medical Billing and Coding Schools in Ann Arbor, Michigan (2026)
- Best Medical Billing and Coding Schools in Auburn Hills, Michigan (2026)
- Best Medical Billing and Coding Schools in Battle Creek, Michigan (2026)
- Best Medical Billing and Coding Schools in Bay City, Michigan (2026)
- Best Medical Billing and Coding Schools in Benton Harbor, Michigan (2026)
- Best Medical Billing and Coding Schools in Berkley, Michigan (2026)
- Best Medical Billing and Coding Schools in Beverly Hills, Michigan (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Michigan (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Michigan
- Best HVAC Schools in Michigan (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Michigan
- Best Plumbing Schools in Michigan (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Michigan
Explore More Trades in Michigan
- Electrician in Michigan
- Plumber in Michigan
- HVAC Technician in Michigan
- Welder in Michigan
- Carpenter in Michigan
- Solar Installation Technician in Michigan
- Auto Mechanic in Michigan
- CNC Machinist in Michigan
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Michigan
- Medical Assistant in Michigan
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |