How to Become a Medical Billing and Coding Specialist in Pennsylvania (2026)
Pennsylvania employs about 6,970 medical billing and coding specialists earning a median $46,840 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Medical Billing and Coding Specialist here means completing a short coding or health-information program plus CPC, CCS, or RHIT; most states do not license these roles.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Pennsylvania): $46,840/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Pennsylvania: 6,970 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.92x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 7.1% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Medical Billing and Coding Specialist Schools in Pennsylvania
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | York County School of Technology-Adult & Continuing Education | 77.6 | Contact school for pricing | $48,902 | 90% | — | 33 mi |
| 2 | YTI Career Institute-York | 66.8 | Contact school for pricing | $40,192 | 43% | Yes* | 30 mi |
| 3 | South Hills School of Business & Technology | 48.1 | Contact school for pricing | $42,821 | Not reported | — | 55 mi |
| 4 | Central Penn College | 47.6 | $19,854 - $27,116 | $52,318 | 43% | Yes* | 5 mi |
| 5 | Reading Area Community College | 42.2 | Contact school for pricing | $45,446 | 30% | Yes* | 54 mi |
| 6 | Miller-Motte College-Berks Technical Institute | 34.4 | Contact school for pricing | $34,393 | Not reported | — | 51 mi |
| 7 | Miller-Motte College-Berks Technical Institute-Lewisburg | 30.1 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | — | 41 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Pennsylvania employs approximately 6,970 medical billing and coding specialists according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $46,840 1. Nationally, medical billing and coding specialist employment is projected to grow 7.1% from 2024 to 2034, with about 14,200 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Medical Billing and Coding Specialist in Pennsylvania, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: medical billing, coding, or health-information program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a short coding or health-information program plus CPC, CCS, or RHIT; most states do not license these roles
- Exam: CPC, CCS, or RHIT
- Median wage (Pennsylvania): $46,840 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Medical Billing and Coding Specialist in Pennsylvania
How to become a Medical Billing and Coding Specialist in Pennsylvania? Complete a short coding or health-information program plus CPC, CCS, or RHIT; most states do not license these roles. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a short coding or health-information program plus CPC, CCS, or RHIT; most states do not license these roles. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Pennsylvania? Most states do not require a statewide occupational license. Employers typically expect CPC, CCS, or RHIT. See the licensing section below.
What do medical billing and coding specialists earn in Pennsylvania? The median annual wage for medical billing and coding specialists in Pennsylvania is $46,840 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $37,490 and experienced professionals can earn $77,880 or more 1.
How to Become a Medical Billing and Coding Specialist in Pennsylvania
- Meet program entry rules. Programs typically require a high school diploma or GED.
- Complete a billing, coding, or HIT program. Finish a certificate or associate program. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Earn CPC, CCS, or RHIT. Pass AAPC CPC, AHIMA CCS, or RHIT depending on the role. Employers typically require a named credential.
- No statewide license in most states. Do not invent a licensing board for billers and coders.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Medical Billing and Coding Specialist License Requirements in Pennsylvania
Most states do not license medical billers, coders, or health-information technicians. Employers expect CPC, CCS, or RHIT.
Typical path
Complete a program.
Earn CPC, CCS, or RHIT.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Medical Billing and Coding Specialist Wages by Metro Area in Pennsylvania
Medical Records Specialists Wages by Metro Area in Pennsylvania
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), medical records specialists wages in Pennsylvania vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Philadelphia-Camden-Wilmington | 3,260 | $49,700 | $56,060 | $38,380 | $83,650 |
| Pittsburgh | 1,740 | $46,120 | $51,650 | $38,700 | $73,230 |
| Harrisburg-Carlisle | 360 | $47,630 | $53,650 | $37,860 | $77,980 |
| Allentown-Bethlehem-Easton | 330 | $48,110 | $53,120 | $38,150 | $78,570 |
| Scranton--Wilkes-Barre | 280 | $43,060 | $46,900 | $36,990 | $64,540 |
| Reading | 270 | $46,170 | $57,910 | $39,530 | $104,310 |
| Lancaster | 180 | $45,340 | $49,210 | $37,080 | $68,580 |
| York-Hanover | 160 | $44,840 | $50,950 | $37,490 | $79,150 |
| Erie | 80 | $42,640 | $47,470 | $34,280 | $69,040 |
| Altoona | 70 | $44,470 | $46,940 | $36,340 | $60,860 |
| Chambersburg | 70 | $47,830 | $55,550 | $38,280 | $80,760 |
| Lebanon | 60 | $55,040 | $56,010 | $35,810 | $82,970 |
| State College | 50 | $47,680 | $52,310 | $36,530 | $76,180 |
| Johnstown | 40 | $49,090 | $50,920 | $32,310 | $72,450 |
| Williamsport | 40 | $49,110 | $55,190 | $36,950 | $76,200 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for medical billing and coding specialists in Pennsylvania? Pennsylvania currently employs approximately 6,970 medical billing and coding specialists 1. Nationally, medical billing and coding specialist employment is projected to grow 7.1% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Pennsylvania? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Pennsylvania.
How much do medical billing and coding specialists earn in Pennsylvania compared to the national average? The median annual wage for medical billing and coding specialists in Pennsylvania is $46,840, which is $3,410 below the national median of $50,250 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Pennsylvania
Top local programs
- Best Medical Billing & Coding Schools in Pennsylvania (2026)
- Best Medical Billing and Coding Schools in Allentown, Pennsylvania (2026)
- Best Medical Billing and Coding Schools in Altoona, Pennsylvania (2026)
- Best Medical Billing and Coding Schools in Bethel Park, Pennsylvania (2026)
- Best Medical Billing and Coding Schools in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania (2026)
- Best Medical Billing and Coding Schools in Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania (2026)
- Best Medical Billing and Coding Schools in Butler, Pennsylvania (2026)
- Best Medical Billing and Coding Schools in Chambersburg, Pennsylvania (2026)
- Best Medical Billing and Coding Schools in Chester, Pennsylvania (2026)
- Best Medical Billing and Coding Schools in East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania (2026)
- Best Medical Billing and Coding Schools in Easton, Pennsylvania (2026)
- Best Medical Billing and Coding Schools in Erie, Pennsylvania (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Pennsylvania (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Pennsylvania
- Best HVAC Schools in Pennsylvania (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Pennsylvania
- Best Plumbing Schools in Pennsylvania (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Pennsylvania
Explore More Trades in Pennsylvania
- Electrician in Pennsylvania
- Plumber in Pennsylvania
- HVAC Technician in Pennsylvania
- Welder in Pennsylvania
- Carpenter in Pennsylvania
- Solar Installation Technician in Pennsylvania
- Auto Mechanic in Pennsylvania
- CNC Machinist in Pennsylvania
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Pennsylvania
- Medical Assistant in Pennsylvania
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |