How to Become a Medical Office Administrator in Oklahoma (2026)
Oklahoma employs about 8,430 medical office administrators earning a median $38,330 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Medical Office Administrator here means completing a short medical-office or administrative certificate; most states do not license this role.
Compare Medical Office Administrator Schools in Oklahoma
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition (published, per year) | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | M T Training Center | 78.9 | Contact school for pricing | $37,432 | 83% | Yes* | 214 mi |
| 2 | Washburn Institute of Technology | 71.0 | $8,880 | $56,774 | 68% | Yes* | 232 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Dallas College | 60.4 | $2,730 in-state / $6,900 out-of-state | Not reported | 32% | Yes* | 211 mi |
| 4 | Arkansas Tech University | 58.4 | $8,674 in-state / $14,668 out-of-state | $49,759 | 49% | Yes* | 218 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Trinity Valley Community College | 55.8 | $2,640 in-state / $5,970 out-of-state | $44,266 | 27% | Yes* | 258 mi |
| 6 | Arkansas State University Three Rivers | 53.0 | $3,788 in-state / $4,388 out-of-state | $33,964 | 26% | Yes* | 254 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Allen County Community College | 51.4 | $4,260 in-state / $4,860 out-of-state | $48,221 | 37% | Yes* | 170 mi |
| 8 | Grayson College | 50.9 | $3,052 in-state / $6,352 out-of-state | $54,877 | 40% | Yes* | 147 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | University of Arkansas Hope-Texarkana | 49.9 | $3,880 in-state / $5,560 out-of-state | Not reported | 57% | Yes* | 243 mi |
| 10 | Rasmussen University-Kansas | 49.0 | $17,160 | $59,996 | 45% | Yes* | 230 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Oklahoma employs approximately 8,430 medical office administrators according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $38,330 1. Nationally, medical office administrator employment is projected to grow 4.2% from 2024 to 2034, with about 85,900 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Medical Office Administrator in Oklahoma, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: medical office administration certificate or short course (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a short medical-office or administrative certificate; most states do not license this role
- Median wage (Oklahoma): $38,330 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Medical Office Administrator in Oklahoma
How to become a Medical Office Administrator in Oklahoma? Complete a short medical-office or administrative certificate; most states do not license this role. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a short medical-office or administrative certificate; most states do not license this role. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Oklahoma? Licensing varies. See the licensing section below for the Oklahoma path.
What do medical office administrators earn in Oklahoma? The median annual wage for medical office administrators in Oklahoma is $38,330 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $30,730 and experienced professionals can earn $48,690 or more 1.
How to Become a Medical Office Administrator in Oklahoma
- Complete a short medical-office program. Finish a certificate or short course in medical office administration or train on the job. This is not a registered apprenticeship and not a health-information technician degree.
- Build office skills. Employers look for scheduling, EHR, insurance, and front-desk skills. Optional administrative credentials can help hiring.
- Most states do not license this role. Do not apply to a licensing board. Do not treat health-information technician, RHIT, or nursing licenses as the medical-office path.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Medical Office Administrator License Requirements in Oklahoma
Most states do not license medical office administrators. Employers expect a short certificate or on-the-job training, not a statewide occupational license.
Typical path
Complete a short medical-office program or OJT.
Optional administrative credentials.
Do not apply to a licensing board for this role.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Medical Office Administrator Wages by Metro Area in Oklahoma
Medical Secretaries and Administrative Assistants Wages by Metro Area in Oklahoma
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), medical secretaries and administrative assistants wages in Oklahoma vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oklahoma City | 3,300 | $38,870 | $41,560 | $33,750 | $48,600 |
| Tulsa | 2,740 | $38,980 | $40,360 | $31,200 | $49,880 |
| Fort Smith | 280 | $35,830 | $37,120 | $34,140 | $42,790 |
| Lawton | 190 | $37,230 | $38,410 | $30,690 | $46,070 |
| Enid | 80 | $36,890 | $39,150 | $30,820 | $48,190 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for medical office administrators in Oklahoma? Oklahoma currently employs approximately 8,430 medical office administrators 1. Nationally, medical office administrator employment is projected to grow 4.2% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Oklahoma? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Oklahoma.
How much do medical office administrators earn in Oklahoma compared to the national average? The median annual wage for medical office administrators in Oklahoma is $38,330, which is $6,310 below the national median of $44,640 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Oklahoma
Top local programs
- Best Medical Office Administration Programs in Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Medical Office Administration Schools in Ada, Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Medical Office Administration Schools in Altus, Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Medical Office Administration Schools in Ardmore, Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Medical Office Administration Schools in Bartlesville, Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Medical Office Administration Schools in Bethany, Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Medical Office Administration Schools in Bixby, Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Medical Office Administration Schools in Broken Arrow, Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Medical Office Administration Schools in Chickasha, Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Medical Office Administration Schools in Choctaw, Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Medical Office Administration Schools in Claremore, Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Medical Office Administration Schools in Del City, Oklahoma (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Oklahoma
- Best HVAC Schools in Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Oklahoma
- Best Plumbing Schools in Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Oklahoma
Explore More Trades in Oklahoma
- Electrician in Oklahoma
- Plumber in Oklahoma
- HVAC Technician in Oklahoma
- Welder in Oklahoma
- Carpenter in Oklahoma
- Solar Installation Technician in Oklahoma
- Auto Mechanic in Oklahoma
- CNC Machinist in Oklahoma
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Oklahoma
- Medical Assistant in Oklahoma
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |