How to Become a Medical Office Administrator in Utah (2026)
Utah employs about 5,260 medical office administrators earning a median $44,330 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Medical Office Administrator here means completing a short medical-office or administrative certificate; most states do not license this role.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Utah): $44,330/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Utah: 5,260 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.49x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 4.2% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Medical Office Administrator Schools in Utah
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Arapahoe Community College | 57.3 | Contact school for pricing | $57,589 | Not reported | Yes* | 376 mi |
| 2 | Aims Community College | 52.8 | Contact school for pricing | $51,704 | Not reported | Yes* | 379 mi |
| 3 | Pima Medical Institute-Denver | 52.8 | Contact school for pricing | $42,937 | Not reported | — | 376 mi |
| 4 | Western Wyoming Community College | 52.1 | Contact school for pricing | $52,871 | Not reported | Yes* | 157 mi |
| 5 | Salt Lake Community College | 51.6 | Contact school for pricing | $55,279 | 29% | Yes* | 3 mi |
| 6 | Pikes Peak State College | 50.3 | Contact school for pricing | $48,538 | 22% | Yes* | 405 mi |
| 7 | Pima Medical Institute-Colorado Springs | 46.4 | Contact school for pricing | $42,937 | 67% | — | 400 mi |
| 8 | Treasure Valley Community College | 45.7 | Contact school for pricing | $45,354 | Not reported | Yes* | 343 mi |
| 9 | Coconino Community College | 44.5 | Contact school for pricing | $47,262 | Not reported | Yes* | 381 mi |
| 10 | Pima Medical Institute-Aurora | 43.3 | Contact school for pricing | $39,692 | 62% | — | 384 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Utah employs approximately 5,260 medical office administrators according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $44,330 1. Nationally, medical office administrator employment is projected to grow 4.2% from 2024 to 2034, with about 85,900 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Medical Office Administrator in Utah, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: medical office administration certificate or short course (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a short medical-office or administrative certificate; most states do not license this role
- Median wage (Utah): $44,330 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Medical Office Administrator in Utah
How to become a Medical Office Administrator in Utah? Complete a short medical-office or administrative certificate; most states do not license this role. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a short medical-office or administrative certificate; most states do not license this role. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Utah? Licensing varies. See the licensing section below for the Utah path.
What do medical office administrators earn in Utah? The median annual wage for medical office administrators in Utah is $44,330 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $34,510 and experienced professionals can earn $57,080 or more 1.
How to Become a Medical Office Administrator in Utah
- Complete a short medical-office program. Finish a certificate or short course in medical office administration or train on the job. This is not a registered apprenticeship and not a health-information technician degree.
- Build office skills. Employers look for scheduling, EHR, insurance, and front-desk skills. Optional administrative credentials can help hiring.
- Most states do not license this role. Do not apply to a licensing board. Do not treat health-information technician, RHIT, or nursing licenses as the medical-office path.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Medical Office Administrator License Requirements in Utah
Most states do not license medical office administrators. Employers expect a short certificate or on-the-job training, not a statewide occupational license.
Typical path
Complete a short medical-office program or OJT.
Optional administrative credentials.
Do not apply to a licensing board for this role.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Medical Office Administrator Wages by Metro Area in Utah
Medical Secretaries and Administrative Assistants Wages by Metro Area in Utah
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), medical secretaries and administrative assistants wages in Utah vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Salt Lake City-Murray | 2,190 | $46,950 | $46,940 | $36,160 | $60,660 |
| Provo-Orem-Lehi | 1,160 | $41,950 | $43,250 | $34,510 | $56,750 |
| Ogden | 910 | $43,210 | $42,940 | $33,050 | $50,050 |
| St. George | 380 | $43,150 | $44,680 | $34,640 | $56,430 |
| Logan | 190 | $41,230 | $41,590 | $30,740 | $52,130 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for medical office administrators in Utah? Utah currently employs approximately 5,260 medical office administrators 1. Nationally, medical office administrator employment is projected to grow 4.2% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Utah? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Utah.
How much do medical office administrators earn in Utah compared to the national average? The median annual wage for medical office administrators in Utah is $44,330, which is $310 below the national median of $44,640 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Utah
Top local programs
- Best Medical Office Administration Programs in Utah (2026)
- Best Medical Office Administration Schools in Alpine, Utah (2026)
- Best Medical Office Administration Schools in American Fork, Utah (2026)
- Best Medical Office Administration Schools in Bluffdale, Utah (2026)
- Best Medical Office Administration Schools in Bountiful, Utah (2026)
- Best Medical Office Administration Schools in Brigham City, Utah (2026)
- Best Medical Office Administration Schools in Cedar City, Utah (2026)
- Best Medical Office Administration Schools in Cedar Hills, Utah (2026)
- Best Medical Office Administration Schools in Centerville, Utah (2026)
- Best Medical Office Administration Schools in Clearfield, Utah (2026)
- Best Medical Office Administration Schools in Clinton, Utah (2026)
- Best Medical Office Administration Schools in Cottonwood Heights, Utah (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Utah (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Utah
- Best HVAC Schools in Utah (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Utah
- Best Plumbing Schools in Utah (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Utah
Explore More Trades in Utah
- Electrician in Utah
- Plumber in Utah
- HVAC Technician in Utah
- Welder in Utah
- Carpenter in Utah
- Solar Installation Technician in Utah
- Auto Mechanic in Utah
- CNC Machinist in Utah
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Utah
- Medical Assistant in Utah
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |