How to Become a Medical Office Administrator in Virginia (2026)
Virginia employs about 27,600 medical office administrators earning a median $46,180 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Medical Office Administrator here means completing a short medical-office or administrative certificate; most states do not license this role.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Virginia): $46,180/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Virginia: 27,600 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 1.09x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 4.2% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Medical Office Administrator Schools in Virginia
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Vance-Granville Community College | 57.2 | Contact school for pricing | $47,633 | Not reported | Yes* | 68 mi |
| 2 | Piedmont Community College | 52.4 | Contact school for pricing | $37,251 | 39% | Yes* | 61 mi |
| 3 | Nash Community College | 52.0 | Contact school for pricing | $48,139 | 46% | Yes* | 100 mi |
| 4 | Alamance Community College | 50.9 | Contact school for pricing | $41,411 | Not reported | Yes* | 91 mi |
| 5 | Durham Technical Community College | 49.8 | Contact school for pricing | $57,868 | 40% | Yes* | 90 mi |
| 6 | Rockingham Community College | 43.0 | Contact school for pricing | $44,278 | 32% | — | 85 mi |
| 7 | Halifax Community College | 39.6 | $2,608 - $16,938 | $45,575 | 38% | — | 84 mi |
| 8 | American National University | 36.2 | Contact school for pricing | $35,696 | 31% | Yes* | 73 mi |
| 9 | Guilford Technical Community College | 35.2 | $2,320 - $20,529 | $44,924 | 31% | Yes* | 111 mi |
| 10 | Gwinnett College | 32.9 | Contact school for pricing | $33,989 | Not reported | — | 98 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Virginia employs approximately 27,600 medical office administrators according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $46,180 1. Nationally, medical office administrator employment is projected to grow 4.2% from 2024 to 2034, with about 85,900 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Medical Office Administrator in Virginia, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: medical office administration certificate or short course (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a short medical-office or administrative certificate; most states do not license this role
- Median wage (Virginia): $46,180 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Medical Office Administrator in Virginia
How to become a Medical Office Administrator in Virginia? Complete a short medical-office or administrative certificate; most states do not license this role. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a short medical-office or administrative certificate; most states do not license this role. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Virginia? Licensing varies. See the licensing section below for the Virginia path.
What do medical office administrators earn in Virginia? The median annual wage for medical office administrators in Virginia is $46,180 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $37,180 and experienced professionals can earn $58,350 or more 1.
How to Become a Medical Office Administrator in Virginia
- Complete a short medical-office program. Finish a certificate or short course in medical office administration or train on the job. This is not a registered apprenticeship and not a health-information technician degree.
- Build office skills. Employers look for scheduling, EHR, insurance, and front-desk skills. Optional administrative credentials can help hiring.
- Most states do not license this role. Do not apply to a licensing board. Do not treat health-information technician, RHIT, or nursing licenses as the medical-office path.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Medical Office Administrator License Requirements in Virginia
Most states do not license medical office administrators. Employers expect a short certificate or on-the-job training, not a statewide occupational license.
Typical path
Complete a short medical-office program or OJT.
Optional administrative credentials.
Do not apply to a licensing board for this role.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Medical Office Administrator Wages by Metro Area in Virginia
Medical Secretaries and Administrative Assistants Wages by Metro Area in Virginia
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), medical secretaries and administrative assistants wages in Virginia vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Washington-Arlington-Alexandria | 18,960 | $48,280 | $50,970 | $39,710 | $61,750 |
| Virginia Beach-Chesapeake-Norfolk | 4,970 | $44,080 | $43,830 | $35,880 | $54,460 |
| Richmond | 4,140 | $44,310 | $44,230 | $36,730 | $53,830 |
| Kingsport-Bristol | 1,600 | $36,800 | $40,080 | $31,140 | $51,970 |
| Roanoke | 1,580 | $37,270 | $40,400 | $35,880 | $47,060 |
| Charlottesville | 830 | $45,460 | $45,750 | $38,490 | $54,310 |
| Lynchburg | 700 | $43,030 | $43,100 | $36,930 | $48,910 |
| Winchester | 410 | $42,710 | $43,890 | $37,010 | $53,810 |
| Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford | 310 | $39,820 | $42,740 | $36,920 | $49,550 |
| Staunton-Stuarts Draft | 270 | $44,410 | $44,210 | $36,990 | $49,530 |
| Harrisonburg | 260 | $43,580 | $43,700 | $37,380 | $48,040 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for medical office administrators in Virginia? Virginia currently employs approximately 27,600 medical office administrators 1. Nationally, medical office administrator employment is projected to grow 4.2% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Virginia? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Virginia.
How much do medical office administrators earn in Virginia compared to the national average? The median annual wage for medical office administrators in Virginia is $46,180, which is $1,540 above the national median of $44,640 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Virginia
Top local programs
- Best Medical Office Administration Programs in Arlington, Virginia (2026)
- Best Medical Office Administration Programs in Virginia (2026)
- Best Medical Office Administration Schools in Alexandria, Virginia (2026)
- Best Medical Office Administration Schools in Blacksburg, Virginia (2026)
- Best Medical Office Administration Schools in Bristol, Virginia (2026)
- Best Medical Office Administration Schools in Charlottesville, Virginia (2026)
- Best Medical Office Administration Schools in Chesapeake, Virginia (2026)
- Best Medical Office Administration Schools in Christiansburg, Virginia (2026)
- Best Medical Office Administration Schools in Colonial Heights, Virginia (2026)
- Best Medical Office Administration Schools in Culpeper, Virginia (2026)
- Best Medical Office Administration Schools in Danville, Virginia (2026)
- Best Medical Office Administration Schools in Fairfax, Virginia (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Virginia (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Virginia
- Best HVAC Schools in Virginia (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Virginia
- Best Plumbing Schools in Virginia (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Virginia
Explore More Trades in Virginia
- Electrician in Virginia
- Plumber in Virginia
- HVAC Technician in Virginia
- Welder in Virginia
- Carpenter in Virginia
- Solar Installation Technician in Virginia
- Auto Mechanic in Virginia
- CNC Machinist in Virginia
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Virginia
- Medical Assistant in Virginia
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |