How to Become a Medical Transcriptionist in Colorado (2026)
Colorado employs about 610 medical transcriptionists earning a median $43,080 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most medical transcriptionists train through a trade school program or a registered apprenticeship before entering the field in Colorado.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Colorado): $43,080/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Colorado: 610 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.80x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: -4.9% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Medical Transcriptionist Schools in Colorado
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Williston State College | 70.1 | $6,128 - $16,651 | $54,746 | 41% | Yes* | 590 mi |
| 2 | Minnesota State Community and Technical College | 64.5 | $5,908 - $17,194 | $54,581 | 47% | Yes* | 658 mi |
| 3 | Dallas College | 60.4 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | Yes* | 686 mi |
| 4 | Indian Hills Community College | 56.1 | Contact school for pricing | $50,322 | Not reported | Yes* | 699 mi |
| 5 | Great Basin College | 52.3 | Contact school for pricing | $57,602 | 46% | Yes* | 542 mi |
| 6 | Central Arizona College | 51.4 | Contact school for pricing | $48,765 | 25% | Yes* | 577 mi |
| 7 | New Mexico State University-Dona Ana | 48.7 | Contact school for pricing | $54,874 | 17% | Yes* | 520 mi |
| 8 | Saint Paul College | 48.2 | Contact school for pricing | $52,870 | 36% | Yes* | 730 mi |
| 9 | College of Southern Nevada | 46.6 | Contact school for pricing | $51,080 | 19% | Yes* | 581 mi |
| 10 | El Paso Community College | 46.5 | Contact school for pricing | $39,712 | 23% | Yes* | 552 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Colorado employs approximately 610 medical transcriptionists according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $43,080 1. Nationally, medical transcriptionist employment is projected to grow -4.9% from 2024 to 2034, with about 7,400 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a medical transcriptionist in Colorado, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
Medical Transcriptionist Wages by Metro Area in Colorado
Medical Transcriptionists Wages by Metro Area in Colorado
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), medical transcriptionists wages in Colorado vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Denver-Aurora-Centennial | 260 | $41,020 | $44,890 | $32,010 | $59,160 |
| Colorado Springs | 90 | $42,660 | $42,590 | $30,800 | $52,820 |
| Boulder | 50 | $41,300 | $43,740 | $32,730 | $60,510 |
| Fort Collins-Loveland | N/A | $43,360 | $42,660 | $30,800 | $59,860 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
- Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
- Median wage (Colorado): $43,080 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Medical Transcriptionist in Colorado
How to become a medical transcriptionist in Colorado? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for medical transcriptionists in Colorado.
How long does it take? Most paths take 1 to 5 years depending on whether you choose trade school, an apprenticeship, or a combination of both.
What do medical transcriptionists earn in Colorado? The median annual wage for medical transcriptionists in Colorado is $43,080 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $32,010 and experienced professionals can earn $62,290 or more 1.
How to Become a Medical Transcriptionist in Colorado
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Colorado training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an accredited trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in Colorado that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to medical transcriptionists in Colorado before you start working.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for medical transcriptionists in Colorado? Colorado currently employs approximately 610 medical transcriptionists 1. Nationally, medical transcriptionist employment is projected to grow -4.9% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Colorado? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for accredited programs in Colorado.
How much do medical transcriptionists earn in Colorado compared to the national average? The median annual wage for medical transcriptionists in Colorado is $43,080, which is $5,530 above the national median of $37,550 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Colorado
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Colorado (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Colorado
- Best HVAC Schools in Colorado (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Colorado
- Best Plumbing Schools in Colorado (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Colorado
Explore More Trades in Colorado
- Electrician in Colorado
- Plumber in Colorado
- HVAC Technician in Colorado
- Welder in Colorado
- Carpenter in Colorado
- Solar Installation Technician in Colorado
- Auto Mechanic in Colorado
- CNC Machinist in Colorado
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Colorado
- Medical Assistant in Colorado
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |