How to Become a Medical Transcriptionist in Connecticut (2026)
Connecticut employs about 390 medical transcriptionists earning a median $48,190 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most medical transcriptionists train through a trade school program or a registered apprenticeship before entering the field in Connecticut.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Connecticut): $48,190/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Connecticut: 390 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.86x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: -4.9% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Medical Transcriptionist Schools in Connecticut
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Martinsburg College | 63.8 | Contact school for pricing | $32,883 | 64% | Yes* | 310 mi |
| 2 | Alpena Community College | 59.9 | $5,250 - $12,246 | $44,378 | 51% | — | 585 mi |
| 3 | Schoolcraft Community College District | 57.3 | Contact school for pricing | $48,981 | Not reported | Yes* | 548 mi |
| 4 | Community College of Rhode Island | 51.2 | $5,550 - $14,834 | $51,971 | 26% | Yes* | 68 mi |
| 5 | Gaston College | 51.1 | $3,186 - $16,866 | Not reported | 59% | Yes* | 629 mi |
| 6 | Bristol Community College | 49.8 | $5,832 - $12,168 | $48,840 | 22% | Yes* | 87 mi |
| 7 | Delta College | 46.8 | $4,820 - $13,541 | $52,169 | 21% | Yes* | 584 mi |
| 8 | New River Community and Technical College | 42.3 | $5,156 - $12,132 | $39,109 | 33% | Yes* | 518 mi |
| 9 | Passaic County Community College | 38.3 | Contact school for pricing | $47,350 | 17% | Yes* | 86 mi |
| 10 | Guilford Technical Community College | 35.2 | $2,320 - $20,529 | $44,924 | 31% | Yes* | 546 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Connecticut employs approximately 390 medical transcriptionists according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $48,190 1. Nationally, medical transcriptionist employment is projected to grow -4.9% from 2024 to 2034, with about 7,400 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a medical transcriptionist in Connecticut, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
Medical Transcriptionist Wages by Metro Area in Connecticut
Medical Transcriptionists Wages by Metro Area in Connecticut
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), medical transcriptionists wages in Connecticut vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bridgeport-Stamford-Danbury | 110 | $49,560 | $52,430 | $45,210 | $60,260 |
| Hartford-West Hartford-East Hartford | 100 | $54,830 | $50,770 | $37,940 | $58,090 |
| New Haven | 60 | $47,270 | $46,610 | $34,010 | $60,540 |
| Waterbury-Shelton | 50 | $46,320 | $50,360 | $40,810 | $64,760 |
| Norwich-New London-Willimantic | 30 | $55,890 | $53,320 | $44,890 | $71,790 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
- Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
- Median wage (Connecticut): $48,190 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Medical Transcriptionist in Connecticut
How to become a medical transcriptionist in Connecticut? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for medical transcriptionists in Connecticut.
How long does it take? Most paths take 1 to 5 years depending on whether you choose trade school, an apprenticeship, or a combination of both.
What do medical transcriptionists earn in Connecticut? The median annual wage for medical transcriptionists in Connecticut is $48,190 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $40,050 and experienced professionals can earn $59,360 or more 1.
How to Become a Medical Transcriptionist in Connecticut
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Connecticut training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an accredited trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in Connecticut that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to medical transcriptionists in Connecticut before you start working.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for medical transcriptionists in Connecticut? Connecticut currently employs approximately 390 medical transcriptionists 1. Nationally, medical transcriptionist employment is projected to grow -4.9% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Connecticut? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for accredited programs in Connecticut.
How much do medical transcriptionists earn in Connecticut compared to the national average? The median annual wage for medical transcriptionists in Connecticut is $48,190, which is $10,640 above the national median of $37,550 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Connecticut
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Connecticut (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Connecticut
- Best HVAC Schools in Connecticut (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Connecticut
- Best Plumbing Schools in Connecticut (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Connecticut
Explore More Trades in Connecticut
- Electrician in Connecticut
- Plumber in Connecticut
- HVAC Technician in Connecticut
- Welder in Connecticut
- Carpenter in Connecticut
- Solar Installation Technician in Connecticut
- Auto Mechanic in Connecticut
- CNC Machinist in Connecticut
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Connecticut
- Medical Assistant in Connecticut
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |