How to Become a Medical Transcriptionist in Indiana (2026)
Indiana employs about 790 medical transcriptionists earning a median $41,400 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most medical transcriptionists train through a trade school program or a registered apprenticeship before entering the field in Indiana.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Indiana): $41,400/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Indiana: 790 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.92x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: -4.9% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Medical Transcriptionist Schools in Indiana
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Kishwaukee College | 66.2 | $4,560 - $13,901 | $49,273 | 42% | Yes* | 177 mi |
| 2 | Illinois Eastern Community Colleges | 57.4 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | Yes* | 152 mi |
| 3 | Schoolcraft Community College District | 57.3 | Contact school for pricing | $48,981 | Not reported | Yes* | 201 mi |
| 4 | Spoon River College | 56.1 | Contact school for pricing | $35,368 | 42% | Yes* | 205 mi |
| 5 | Joliet Junior College | 55.1 | $4,530 - $13,800 | $51,121 | 21% | Yes* | 129 mi |
| 6 | Highland Community College | 54.8 | Contact school for pricing | $48,834 | Not reported | Yes* | 224 mi |
| 7 | Kaskaskia College | 54.8 | $4,800 - $12,570 | $48,104 | 49% | Yes* | 203 mi |
| 8 | Richland Community College | 53.4 | Contact school for pricing | $51,785 | 52% | Yes* | 147 mi |
| 9 | Lake Land College | 53.4 | $4,415 - $14,301 | $48,594 | 56% | — | 134 mi |
| 10 | College of DuPage | 47.7 | Contact school for pricing | $55,984 | 25% | — | 141 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Indiana employs approximately 790 medical transcriptionists according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $41,400 1. Nationally, medical transcriptionist employment is projected to grow -4.9% from 2024 to 2034, with about 7,400 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a medical transcriptionist in Indiana, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
Medical Transcriptionist Wages by Metro Area in Indiana
Medical Transcriptionists Wages by Metro Area in Indiana
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), medical transcriptionists wages in Indiana vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chicago-Naperville-Elgin | 720 | $38,700 | $40,680 | $27,850 | $52,050 |
| Indianapolis-Carmel-Greenwood | 200 | $46,790 | $45,590 | $35,930 | $52,300 |
| Louisville/Jefferson County | 170 | $43,940 | $44,620 | $30,230 | $62,400 |
| Cincinnati | 120 | $46,560 | $47,630 | $36,730 | $59,550 |
| Evansville | 70 | $48,840 | $45,830 | $37,160 | $51,010 |
| South Bend-Mishawaka | 30 | $45,030 | $46,290 | $37,430 | $55,640 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
- Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
- Median wage (Indiana): $41,400 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Medical Transcriptionist in Indiana
How to become a medical transcriptionist in Indiana? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for medical transcriptionists in Indiana.
How long does it take? Most paths take 1 to 5 years depending on whether you choose trade school, an apprenticeship, or a combination of both.
What do medical transcriptionists earn in Indiana? The median annual wage for medical transcriptionists in Indiana is $41,400 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $25,710 and experienced professionals can earn $51,240 or more 1.
How to Become a Medical Transcriptionist in Indiana
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Indiana training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an accredited trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in Indiana that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to medical transcriptionists in Indiana before you start working.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for medical transcriptionists in Indiana? Indiana currently employs approximately 790 medical transcriptionists 1. Nationally, medical transcriptionist employment is projected to grow -4.9% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Indiana? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for accredited programs in Indiana.
How much do medical transcriptionists earn in Indiana compared to the national average? The median annual wage for medical transcriptionists in Indiana is $41,400, which is $3,850 above the national median of $37,550 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Indiana
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Indiana (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Indiana
- Best HVAC Schools in Indiana (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Indiana
- Best Plumbing Schools in Indiana (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Indiana
Explore More Trades in Indiana
- Electrician in Indiana
- Plumber in Indiana
- HVAC Technician in Indiana
- Welder in Indiana
- Carpenter in Indiana
- Solar Installation Technician in Indiana
- Auto Mechanic in Indiana
- CNC Machinist in Indiana
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Indiana
- Medical Assistant in Indiana
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |