How to Become a Medical Transcriptionist in Oklahoma (2026)

Oklahoma employs about 560 medical transcriptionists earning a median $27,740 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most medical transcriptionists train through a trade school program or a registered apprenticeship before entering the field in Oklahoma.

Key Facts

  • Median wage (Oklahoma): $27,740/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Employed in Oklahoma: 560 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Location quotient: 1.22x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Projected growth: -4.9% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)

Sponsored - request program info

Compare Medical Transcriptionist Schools in Oklahoma

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
160.4Contact school for pricingNot reportedNot reportedYes*211 mi
256.1Contact school for pricing$50,322Not reportedYes*437 mi
356.1Contact school for pricing$35,36842%Yes*495 mi
455.4$3,412 - $11,985$52,29228%Yes*451 mi
555.3Contact school for pricing$48,71543%Yes*336 mi
654.8$4,800 - $12,570$48,10449%Yes*467 mi
754.0Contact school for pricing$50,47862%Yes*284 mi
853.4Contact school for pricing$51,78552%Yes*521 mi
945.9Contact school for pricing$46,50662%471 mi
1044.9Contact school for pricing$46,56931%Yes*138 mi

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Oklahoma employs approximately 560 medical transcriptionists according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $27,740 1. The state’s concentration of medical transcriptionist jobs is 1.22x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, medical transcriptionist employment is projected to grow -4.9% from 2024 to 2034, with about 7,400 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a medical transcriptionist in Oklahoma, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.

Medical Transcriptionist Wages by Metro Area in Oklahoma

Medical Transcriptionists Wages by Metro Area in Oklahoma

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), medical transcriptionists wages in Oklahoma vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Oklahoma City280$28,210$31,100$22,190$47,770
TulsaN/A$26,850$29,970$22,740$48,660

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

At a Glance

  • Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
  • Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
  • Median wage (Oklahoma): $27,740 per year 1

Quick Answers About How to Become a Medical Transcriptionist in Oklahoma

How to become a medical transcriptionist in Oklahoma? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for medical transcriptionists in Oklahoma.

How long does it take? Most paths take 1 to 5 years depending on whether you choose trade school, an apprenticeship, or a combination of both.

What do medical transcriptionists earn in Oklahoma? The median annual wage for medical transcriptionists in Oklahoma is $27,740 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $22,110 and experienced professionals can earn $49,470 or more 1.

How to Become a Medical Transcriptionist in Oklahoma

  1. Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Oklahoma training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
  2. Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an accredited trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in Oklahoma that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
  3. Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
  4. Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to medical transcriptionists in Oklahoma before you start working.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for medical transcriptionists in Oklahoma? Oklahoma currently employs approximately 560 medical transcriptionists 1. Nationally, medical transcriptionist employment is projected to grow -4.9% from 2024 to 2034 2.

What training programs are available in Oklahoma? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for accredited programs in Oklahoma.

How much do medical transcriptionists earn in Oklahoma compared to the national average? The median annual wage for medical transcriptionists in Oklahoma is $27,740, which is $9,810 below the national median of $37,550 according to BLS data 1.

In Oklahoma

Explore More Trades in Oklahoma

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)