How to Become a Medical Transcriptionist in South Dakota (2026)

South Dakota employs about 240 medical transcriptionists earning a median $46,070 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most medical transcriptionists train through a trade school program or a registered apprenticeship before entering the field in South Dakota.

Key Facts

  • Median wage (South Dakota): $46,070/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Employed in South Dakota: 240 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Location quotient: 2.00x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Projected growth: -4.9% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)

Sponsored - request program info

Compare Medical Transcriptionist Schools in South Dakota

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
170.1$6,128 - $16,651$54,74641%Yes*349 mi
264.5$5,908 - $17,194$54,58147%Yes*219 mi
363.6Contact school for pricing$54,67152%Yes*317 mi
461.0$5,785 - $19,723$57,66540%Yes*394 mi
559.1Contact school for pricing$55,20728%Yes*504 mi
656.6$6,780 - $17,838$50,00250%Yes*378 mi
756.1Contact school for pricing$50,322Not reportedYes*410 mi
855.7Contact school for pricing$55,47350%Yes*317 mi
954.8Contact school for pricing$48,834Not reportedYes*501 mi
1050.7Contact school for pricing$55,25827%Yes*342 mi

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

South Dakota employs approximately 240 medical transcriptionists according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $46,070 1. The state’s concentration of medical transcriptionist jobs is 2.00x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, medical transcriptionist employment is projected to grow -4.9% from 2024 to 2034, with about 7,400 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a medical transcriptionist in South Dakota, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.

Medical Transcriptionist Wages by Metro Area in South Dakota

Medical Transcriptionists Wages by Metro Area in South Dakota

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), medical transcriptionists wages in South Dakota vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Sioux Falls140$46,930$45,700$30,960$62,070
Rapid City30$53,840$52,370$43,480$60,990

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

At a Glance

  • Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
  • Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
  • Median wage (South Dakota): $46,070 per year 1

Quick Answers About How to Become a Medical Transcriptionist in South Dakota

How to become a medical transcriptionist in South Dakota? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for medical transcriptionists in South Dakota.

How long does it take? Most paths take 1 to 5 years depending on whether you choose trade school, an apprenticeship, or a combination of both.

What do medical transcriptionists earn in South Dakota? The median annual wage for medical transcriptionists in South Dakota is $46,070 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $36,160 and experienced professionals can earn $59,870 or more 1.

How to Become a Medical Transcriptionist in South Dakota

  1. Finish high school or earn a GED. Most South Dakota training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
  2. Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an accredited trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in South Dakota that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
  3. Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
  4. Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to medical transcriptionists in South Dakota before you start working.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for medical transcriptionists in South Dakota? South Dakota currently employs approximately 240 medical transcriptionists 1. Nationally, medical transcriptionist employment is projected to grow -4.9% from 2024 to 2034 2.

What training programs are available in South Dakota? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for accredited programs in South Dakota.

How much do medical transcriptionists earn in South Dakota compared to the national average? The median annual wage for medical transcriptionists in South Dakota is $46,070, which is $8,520 above the national median of $37,550 according to BLS data 1.

In South Dakota

Explore More Trades in South Dakota

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)