How to Become a Medical Transcriptionist in Vermont (2026)
Medical transcriptionists in Vermont earn a median $33,030 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most medical transcriptionists train through a trade school program or a registered apprenticeship before entering the field in Vermont.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Vermont): $33,030/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: -4.9% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Medical Transcriptionist Schools in Vermont
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Martinsburg College | 63.8 | Contact school for pricing | $32,883 | 64% | Yes* | 425 mi |
| 2 | Alpena Community College | 59.9 | $5,250 - $12,246 | $44,378 | 51% | — | 526 mi |
| 3 | Schoolcraft Community College District | 57.3 | Contact school for pricing | $48,981 | Not reported | Yes* | 549 mi |
| 4 | Community College of Rhode Island | 51.2 | $5,550 - $14,834 | $51,971 | 26% | Yes* | 188 mi |
| 5 | Gaston College | 51.1 | $3,186 - $16,866 | Not reported | 59% | Yes* | 762 mi |
| 6 | Bristol Community College | 49.8 | $5,832 - $12,168 | $48,840 | 22% | Yes* | 194 mi |
| 7 | Delta College | 46.8 | $4,820 - $13,541 | $52,169 | 21% | Yes* | 559 mi |
| 8 | New River Community and Technical College | 42.3 | $5,156 - $12,132 | $39,109 | 33% | Yes* | 626 mi |
| 9 | Passaic County Community College | 38.3 | Contact school for pricing | $47,350 | 17% | Yes* | 241 mi |
| 10 | Guilford Technical Community College | 35.2 | $2,320 - $20,529 | $44,924 | 31% | Yes* | 683 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Nationally, medical transcriptionist employment is projected to grow -4.9% from 2024 to 2034, with about 7,400 openings per year 1. This page covers how to become a medical transcriptionist in Vermont, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
Medical Transcriptionist Wages by Metro Area in Vermont
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
- Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
- Median wage (Vermont): $33,030 per year 2
Quick Answers About How to Become a Medical Transcriptionist in Vermont
How to become a medical transcriptionist in Vermont? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for medical transcriptionists in Vermont.
How long does it take? Most paths take 1 to 5 years depending on whether you choose trade school, an apprenticeship, or a combination of both.
What do medical transcriptionists earn in Vermont? The median annual wage for medical transcriptionists in Vermont is $33,030 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $32,060 and experienced professionals can earn $45,080 or more 2.
How to Become a Medical Transcriptionist in Vermont
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Vermont training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an accredited trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in Vermont that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to medical transcriptionists in Vermont before you start working.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for medical transcriptionists in Vermont? Nationally, medical transcriptionist employment is projected to grow -4.9% from 2024 to 2034 1.
What training programs are available in Vermont? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for accredited programs in Vermont.
How much do medical transcriptionists earn in Vermont compared to the national average? The median annual wage for medical transcriptionists in Vermont is $33,030, which is $4,520 below the national median of $37,550 according to BLS data 2.
Related guides
In Vermont
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Vermont (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Vermont
- Best HVAC Schools in Vermont (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Vermont
- Best Plumbing Schools in Vermont (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Vermont
Explore More Trades in Vermont
- Electrician in Vermont
- Plumber in Vermont
- HVAC Technician in Vermont
- Welder in Vermont
- Carpenter in Vermont
- Solar Installation Technician in Vermont
- Auto Mechanic in Vermont
- CNC Machinist in Vermont
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Vermont
- Medical Assistant in Vermont
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |