How to Become a Medical Transcriptionist in Wisconsin (2026)
Wisconsin employs about 590 medical transcriptionists earning a median $49,150 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most medical transcriptionists train through a trade school program or a registered apprenticeship before entering the field in Wisconsin.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Wisconsin): $49,150/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Wisconsin: 590 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.75x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: -4.9% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Medical Transcriptionist Schools in Wisconsin
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Kishwaukee College | 66.2 | $4,560 - $13,901 | $49,273 | 42% | Yes* | 103 mi |
| 2 | Madison Area Technical College | 59.1 | Contact school for pricing | $55,207 | 28% | Yes* | 40 mi |
| 3 | Northeast Iowa Community College | 56.6 | $6,780 - $17,838 | $50,002 | 50% | Yes* | 163 mi |
| 4 | Indian Hills Community College | 56.1 | Contact school for pricing | $50,322 | Not reported | Yes* | 252 mi |
| 5 | Spoon River College | 56.1 | Contact school for pricing | $35,368 | 42% | Yes* | 212 mi |
| 6 | Joliet Junior College | 55.1 | $4,530 - $13,800 | $51,121 | 21% | Yes* | 135 mi |
| 7 | Highland Community College | 54.8 | Contact school for pricing | $48,834 | Not reported | Yes* | 94 mi |
| 8 | Richland Community College | 53.4 | Contact school for pricing | $51,785 | 52% | Yes* | 244 mi |
| 9 | Rochester Community and Technical College | 50.7 | Contact school for pricing | $55,258 | 27% | Yes* | 193 mi |
| 10 | Saint Paul College | 48.2 | Contact school for pricing | $52,870 | 36% | Yes* | 245 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Wisconsin employs approximately 590 medical transcriptionists according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $49,150 1. Nationally, medical transcriptionist employment is projected to grow -4.9% from 2024 to 2034, with about 7,400 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a medical transcriptionist in Wisconsin, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
Medical Transcriptionist Wages by Metro Area in Wisconsin
Medical Transcriptionists Wages by Metro Area in Wisconsin
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), medical transcriptionists wages in Wisconsin vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Milwaukee-Waukesha | 190 | $49,780 | $49,340 | $40,560 | $58,720 |
| Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington | 130 | $48,960 | $54,160 | $45,550 | $69,370 |
| Madison | 80 | $50,310 | $51,010 | $40,730 | $59,940 |
| Wausau | 50 | $45,810 | $45,290 | $35,050 | $54,800 |
| Appleton | 40 | $48,010 | $47,400 | $39,410 | $55,200 |
| Green Bay | 30 | $46,470 | $46,940 | $38,280 | $55,850 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
- Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
- Median wage (Wisconsin): $49,150 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Medical Transcriptionist in Wisconsin
How to become a medical transcriptionist in Wisconsin? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for medical transcriptionists in Wisconsin.
How long does it take? Most paths take 1 to 5 years depending on whether you choose trade school, an apprenticeship, or a combination of both.
What do medical transcriptionists earn in Wisconsin? The median annual wage for medical transcriptionists in Wisconsin is $49,150 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $38,900 and experienced professionals can earn $57,050 or more 1.
How to Become a Medical Transcriptionist in Wisconsin
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Wisconsin training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an accredited trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in Wisconsin that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to medical transcriptionists in Wisconsin before you start working.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for medical transcriptionists in Wisconsin? Wisconsin currently employs approximately 590 medical transcriptionists 1. Nationally, medical transcriptionist employment is projected to grow -4.9% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Wisconsin? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for accredited programs in Wisconsin.
How much do medical transcriptionists earn in Wisconsin compared to the national average? The median annual wage for medical transcriptionists in Wisconsin is $49,150, which is $11,600 above the national median of $37,550 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Wisconsin
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Wisconsin (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Wisconsin
- Best HVAC Schools in Wisconsin (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Wisconsin
- Best Plumbing Schools in Wisconsin (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Wisconsin
Explore More Trades in Wisconsin
- Electrician in Wisconsin
- Plumber in Wisconsin
- HVAC Technician in Wisconsin
- Welder in Wisconsin
- Carpenter in Wisconsin
- Solar Installation Technician in Wisconsin
- Auto Mechanic in Wisconsin
- CNC Machinist in Wisconsin
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Wisconsin
- Medical Assistant in Wisconsin
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |