How to Become a Licensed Practical Nurse in Connecticut (2026)

Connecticut employs about 8,540 licensed practical nurses earning a median $73,690 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Licensed Practical Nurse here means completing a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure, then applying through Department of Public Health - Health Care Systems Branch - Practitioner Licensing & Investigations Section.

Compare Licensed Practical Nurse Schools in Connecticut

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Tuition is the published annual figure for the latest reported year and excludes room, board, books and fees. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)Tuition (published, per year)Median grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
174.4Contact school for pricing$65,96284%—59 mi
268.2$6,630 in-state / $12,460 out-of-state$50,41829%Yes*55 mi
360.0Contact school for pricingNot reported100%—63 mi
456.2Contact school for pricingNot reported97%—56 mi
549.7Contact school for pricing$43,18472%—60 mi
647.5$14,349$46,86345%Yes*36 mi
743.9$5,988 in-state / $10,932 out-of-state$46,72429%Yes*40 mi
837.8Contact school for pricing$47,13665%—30 mi
937.6Contact school for pricing$47,13665%—3 mi
1034.8$6,164 in-state / $11,468 out-of-state$47,66620%—64 mi

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Connecticut employs approximately 8,540 licensed practical nurses according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $73,690 1. The state’s concentration of licensed practical nurse jobs is 1.21x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, licensed practical nurse employment is projected to grow 2.6% from 2024 to 2034, with about 54,400 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Licensed Practical Nurse in Connecticut, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.

At a Glance

Quick Answers About How to Become a Licensed Practical Nurse in Connecticut

How to become a Licensed Practical Nurse in Connecticut? Complete a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure. Apply through Department of Public Health - Health Care Systems Branch - Practitioner Licensing & Investigations Section.

How long does it take? Most people finish a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Department of Public Health - Health Care Systems Branch - Practitioner Licensing & Investigations Section.

Do I need a license in Connecticut? Yes. Connecticut credentials this role through Department of Public Health - Health Care Systems Branch - Practitioner Licensing & Investigations Section 3. See the licensing section below.

What do licensed practical nurses earn in Connecticut? The median annual wage for licensed practical nurses in Connecticut is $73,690 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $62,610 and experienced professionals can earn $81,060 or more 1.

How to Become a Licensed Practical Nurse in Connecticut

  1. Meet program entry rules. Approved practical or vocational nursing programs in Connecticut typically require a high school diploma or GED. Confirm current age and prerequisite rules with the program and Department of Public Health - Health Care Systems Branch - Practitioner Licensing & Investigations Section.
  2. Complete a state-approved PN or VN program. Finish a board-approved practical or vocational nursing program in Connecticut. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
  3. Pass the NCLEX-PN. Apply to Department of Public Health - Health Care Systems Branch - Practitioner Licensing & Investigations Section for authorization to test, then pass the NCLEX-PN. An RN exam does not substitute.
  4. Apply for LPN or LVN licensure. Obtain the practical or vocational nursing license from Department of Public Health - Health Care Systems Branch - Practitioner Licensing & Investigations Section before practicing. Confirm reciprocity with the board.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Licensed Practical Nurse License Requirements in Connecticut

Connecticut licenses practical and vocational nurses through Department of Public Health - Health Care Systems Branch - Practitioner Licensing & Investigations Section. The path is an approved PN or VN program, the NCLEX-PN, and a state LPN or LVN license. Some states use the LVN title; others use LPN. See Department of Public Health - Health Care Systems Branch - Practitioner Licensing & Investigations Section 3.

Typical path

  1. Meet the program’s entry rules.

  2. Complete a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program.

  3. Pass the NCLEX-PN.

  4. Apply to Department of Public Health - Health Care Systems Branch - Practitioner Licensing & Investigations Section for LPN or LVN licensure.

Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Department of Public Health - Health Care Systems Branch - Practitioner Licensing & Investigations Section before you enroll.

Licensed Practical Nurse Wages by Metro Area in Connecticut

Licensed Practical and Licensed Vocational Nurses Wages by Metro Area in Connecticut

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses wages in Connecticut vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Hartford-West Hartford-East Hartford3,010$72,800$72,010$61,870$80,050
Bridgeport-Stamford-Danbury1,860$75,180$74,690$63,810$87,780
New Haven1,560$73,820$72,920$62,280$80,220
Waterbury-Shelton1,030$71,850$70,250$63,010$78,510
Norwich-New London-Willimantic590$75,610$73,120$61,120$83,720

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for licensed practical nurses in Connecticut? Connecticut currently employs approximately 8,540 licensed practical nurses 1. Nationally, licensed practical nurse employment is projected to grow 2.6% from 2024 to 2034 2.

Can I work as a licensed practical nurse in Connecticut with an out-of-state license? Contact the Department of Public Health - Health Care Systems Branch - Practitioner Licensing & Investigations Section for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.

What training programs are available in Connecticut? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Connecticut.

How much do licensed practical nurses earn in Connecticut compared to the national average? The median annual wage for licensed practical nurses in Connecticut is $73,690, which is $11,350 above the national median of $62,340 according to BLS data 1.

In Connecticut

Explore More Trades in Connecticut

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

  3. Department of Public Health - Health Care Systems Branch - Practitioner Licensing & Investigations Section - Licensing Information: https://www.dph.state.ct.us/licensure/licensure.htm ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)