How to Become a Licensed Practical Nurse in Florida (2026)

Florida employs about 38,620 licensed practical nurses earning a median $61,770 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Licensed Practical Nurse here means completing a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure, then applying through FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance.

Compare Licensed Practical Nurse Schools in Florida

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
173.8$3,165 - $11,859$48,61949%Yes*19 mi
273.3Contact school for pricing$38,75586%26 mi
363.6$2,496 - $11,966$49,05352%Yes*59 mi
462.2Contact school for pricing$45,04972%66 mi
560.6Contact school for pricing$41,51880%53 mi
652.4Contact school for pricingNot reportedNot reported65 mi
750.8Contact school for pricingNot reportedNot reportedYes*54 mi
849.6Contact school for pricing$34,945Not reported49 mi
947.7Contact school for pricing$35,542Not reported16 mi
1046.9$13,450 - $26,664$58,57539%Yes*55 mi

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Florida employs approximately 38,620 licensed practical nurses according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $61,770 1. Nationally, licensed practical nurse employment is projected to grow 2.6% from 2024 to 2034, with about 54,400 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Licensed Practical Nurse in Florida, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.

At a Glance

Quick Answers About How to Become a Licensed Practical Nurse in Florida

How to become a Licensed Practical Nurse in Florida? Complete a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure. Apply through FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance.

How long does it take? Most people finish a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure. Confirm current hour totals with the program and FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance.

Do I need a license in Florida? Yes. Florida credentials this role through FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance 3. See the licensing section below.

What do licensed practical nurses earn in Florida? The median annual wage for licensed practical nurses in Florida is $61,770 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $50,450 and experienced professionals can earn $74,320 or more 1.

How to Become a Licensed Practical Nurse in Florida

  1. Meet program entry rules. Approved practical or vocational nursing programs in Florida typically require a high school diploma or GED. Confirm current age and prerequisite rules with the program and FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance.
  2. Complete a state-approved PN or VN program. Finish a board-approved practical or vocational nursing program in Florida. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
  3. Pass the NCLEX-PN. Apply to FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance for authorization to test, then pass the NCLEX-PN. An RN exam does not substitute.
  4. Apply for LPN or LVN licensure. Obtain the practical or vocational nursing license from FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance before practicing. Confirm reciprocity with the board.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Licensed Practical Nurse License Requirements in Florida

Florida licenses practical and vocational nurses through FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance. The path is an approved PN or VN program, the NCLEX-PN, and a state LPN or LVN license. Some states use the LVN title; others use LPN. See FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance 3.

Typical path

  1. Meet the program’s entry rules.

  2. Complete a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program.

  3. Pass the NCLEX-PN.

  4. Apply to FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance for LPN or LVN licensure.

Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance before you enroll.

Licensed Practical Nurse Wages by Metro Area in Florida

Licensed Practical and Licensed Vocational Nurses Wages by Metro Area in Florida

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses wages in Florida vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Miami-Fort Lauderdale-West Palm Beach8,900$62,610$63,610$52,070$74,840
Tampa-St. Petersburg-Clearwater5,870$62,490$62,860$50,740$74,720
Orlando-Kissimmee-Sanford4,430$61,030$60,970$49,950$74,190
Jacksonville3,050$62,070$62,030$50,810$73,500
North Port-Bradenton-Sarasota1,910$63,770$63,590$51,750$74,000
Lakeland-Winter Haven1,310$59,940$58,340$46,110$70,470
Cape Coral-Fort Myers1,170$61,530$61,930$51,260$72,480
Deltona-Daytona Beach-Ormond Beach1,140$60,620$61,050$49,780$73,780
Palm Bay-Melbourne-Titusville1,120$61,000$61,510$50,090$72,880
Pensacola-Ferry Pass-Brent870$59,990$60,590$49,300$72,990
Tallahassee860$59,040$58,650$49,140$72,430
Gainesville830$59,970$59,900$50,790$69,600
Port St. Lucie830$61,300$62,070$49,960$75,150
Ocala700$59,070$57,740$48,170$66,330
Naples-Marco Island650$64,590$65,350$55,570$72,450
Crestview-Fort Walton Beach-Destin490$59,060$58,330$48,400$68,150
Punta Gorda420$60,380$60,230$48,810$71,910
Panama City-Panama City Beach400$56,120$56,520$48,440$67,020
Sebastian-Vero Beach-West Vero Corridor390$62,110$60,600$48,860$68,640
Homosassa Springs330$59,510$60,570$50,890$75,460
Wildwood-The Villages300$60,900$60,940$49,910$70,160
Sebring260$58,320$57,740$44,360$70,560

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for licensed practical nurses in Florida? Florida currently employs approximately 38,620 licensed practical nurses 1. Nationally, licensed practical nurse employment is projected to grow 2.6% from 2024 to 2034 2.

Can I work as a licensed practical nurse in Florida with an out-of-state license? Contact the FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.

What training programs are available in Florida? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Florida.

How much do licensed practical nurses earn in Florida compared to the national average? The median annual wage for licensed practical nurses in Florida is $61,770, which is $570 below the national median of $62,340 according to BLS data 1.

In Florida

Explore More Trades in Florida

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

  3. FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance - Licensing Information: https://www.doh.state.fl.us/ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)