How to Become a Licensed Practical Nurse in Iowa (2026)
Iowa employs about 5,510 licensed practical nurses earning a median $62,630 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Licensed Practical Nurse here means completing a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure, then applying through Department of Inspections, Appeals, & Licensing.
Compare Licensed Practical Nurse Schools in Iowa
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Marshalltown Community College | 59.9 | Contact school for pricing | $52,110 | Not reported | Yes* | 34 mi |
| 2 | Iowa Lakes Community College | 59.8 | Contact school for pricing | $47,158 | Not reported | Yes* | 105 mi |
| 3 | Riverland Community College | 59.3 | Contact school for pricing | $49,768 | 53% | Yes* | 88 mi |
| 4 | Southwestern Community College | 57.2 | $8,064 - $16,951 | $51,650 | 56% | Yes* | 109 mi |
| 5 | North Iowa Area Community College | 57.1 | $6,653 - $17,040 | $47,068 | 58% | Yes* | 52 mi |
| 6 | Northeast Iowa Community College | 56.6 | $6,780 - $17,838 | $50,002 | 50% | Yes* | 88 mi |
| 7 | Kirkwood Community College | 56.3 | Contact school for pricing | $48,663 | Not reported | Yes* | 90 mi |
| 8 | Indian Hills Community College | 56.1 | Contact school for pricing | $50,322 | Not reported | Yes* | 105 mi |
| 9 | Iowa Central Community College | 54.0 | Contact school for pricing | $46,682 | Not reported | Yes* | 48 mi |
| 10 | Rochester Community and Technical College | 50.7 | Contact school for pricing | $55,258 | 27% | Yes* | 119 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Iowa employs approximately 5,510 licensed practical nurses according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $62,630 1. Nationally, licensed practical nurse employment is projected to grow 2.6% from 2024 to 2034, with about 54,400 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Licensed Practical Nurse in Iowa, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: state-approved practical or vocational nursing program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure
- Licensing authority: Department of Inspections, Appeals, & Licensing
- Exam: NCLEX-PN
- Median wage (Iowa): $62,630 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Licensed Practical Nurse in Iowa
How to become a Licensed Practical Nurse in Iowa? Complete a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure. Apply through Department of Inspections, Appeals, & Licensing.
How long does it take? Most people finish a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Department of Inspections, Appeals, & Licensing.
Do I need a license in Iowa? Yes. Iowa credentials this role through Department of Inspections, Appeals, & Licensing 3. See the licensing section below.
What do licensed practical nurses earn in Iowa? The median annual wage for licensed practical nurses in Iowa is $62,630 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $50,550 and experienced professionals can earn $77,710 or more 1.
How to Become a Licensed Practical Nurse in Iowa
- Meet program entry rules. Approved practical or vocational nursing programs in Iowa typically require a high school diploma or GED. Confirm current age and prerequisite rules with the program and Department of Inspections, Appeals, & Licensing.
- Complete a state-approved PN or VN program. Finish a board-approved practical or vocational nursing program in Iowa. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Pass the NCLEX-PN. Apply to Department of Inspections, Appeals, & Licensing for authorization to test, then pass the NCLEX-PN. An RN exam does not substitute.
- Apply for LPN or LVN licensure. Obtain the practical or vocational nursing license from Department of Inspections, Appeals, & Licensing before practicing. Confirm reciprocity with the board.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Licensed Practical Nurse License Requirements in Iowa
Iowa licenses practical and vocational nurses through Department of Inspections, Appeals, & Licensing. The path is an approved PN or VN program, the NCLEX-PN, and a state LPN or LVN license. Some states use the LVN title; others use LPN. See Department of Inspections, Appeals, & Licensing 3.
Typical path
Meet the program’s entry rules.
Complete a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program.
Pass the NCLEX-PN.
Apply to Department of Inspections, Appeals, & Licensing for LPN or LVN licensure.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Department of Inspections, Appeals, & Licensing before you enroll.
Licensed Practical Nurse Wages by Metro Area in Iowa
Licensed Practical and Licensed Vocational Nurses Wages by Metro Area in Iowa
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses wages in Iowa vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Omaha | 1,840 | $63,540 | $65,550 | $49,800 | $78,830 |
| Des Moines-West Des Moines | 1,040 | $63,670 | $65,900 | $51,970 | $78,410 |
| Davenport-Moline-Rock Island | 640 | $64,100 | $65,040 | $51,050 | $76,090 |
| Cedar Rapids | 380 | $61,840 | $63,370 | $51,390 | $75,660 |
| Waterloo-Cedar Falls | 360 | $59,950 | $61,590 | $50,730 | $74,530 |
| Sioux City | 260 | $60,440 | $61,410 | $49,810 | $74,050 |
| Iowa City | 230 | $63,690 | $64,880 | $51,210 | $78,620 |
| Dubuque | 200 | $63,750 | $64,380 | $51,180 | $76,200 |
| Ames | 190 | $65,610 | $64,680 | $51,420 | $78,050 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for licensed practical nurses in Iowa? Iowa currently employs approximately 5,510 licensed practical nurses 1. Nationally, licensed practical nurse employment is projected to grow 2.6% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a licensed practical nurse in Iowa with an out-of-state license? Contact the Department of Inspections, Appeals, & Licensing for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Iowa? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Iowa.
How much do licensed practical nurses earn in Iowa compared to the national average? The median annual wage for licensed practical nurses in Iowa is $62,630, which is $290 above the national median of $62,340 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Iowa
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Iowa (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Iowa
- Best HVAC Schools in Iowa (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Iowa
- Best Plumbing Schools in Iowa (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Iowa
Explore More Trades in Iowa
- Electrician in Iowa
- Plumber in Iowa
- HVAC Technician in Iowa
- Welder in Iowa
- Carpenter in Iowa
- Solar Installation Technician in Iowa
- Auto Mechanic in Iowa
- CNC Machinist in Iowa
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Iowa
- Medical Assistant in Iowa
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Department of Inspections, Appeals, & Licensing - Licensing Information: https://dial.iowa.gov/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |