How to Become a Licensed Practical Nurse in Kansas (2026)
Kansas employs about 7,530 licensed practical nurses earning a median $61,760 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Licensed Practical Nurse here means completing a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure, then applying through Licensure - Kansas State Board of Nursing.
Compare Licensed Practical Nurse Schools in Kansas
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Salina Area Technical College | 78.9 | Contact school for pricing | $45,249 | 70% | Yes* | 40 mi |
| 2 | Flint Hills Technical College | 75.5 | Contact school for pricing | $52,442 | 68% | Yes* | 48 mi |
| 3 | Washburn Institute of Technology | 71.0 | Contact school for pricing | $56,774 | 66% | Yes* | 86 mi |
| 4 | Northern Oklahoma College | 61.8 | $5,083 - $15,242 | $42,753 | 44% | Yes* | 118 mi |
| 5 | Fort Hays Tech North Central | 60.9 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | — | 93 mi |
| 6 | Manhattan Area Technical College | 58.6 | Contact school for pricing | $57,918 | 70% | — | 62 mi |
| 7 | Hutchinson Community College | 57.3 | Contact school for pricing | $49,591 | 49% | Yes* | 49 mi |
| 8 | Neosho County Community College | 55.0 | Contact school for pricing | $55,338 | 36% | Yes* | 102 mi |
| 9 | Wichita State University-Campus of Applied Sciences and Technology | 54.7 | Contact school for pricing | $47,431 | Not reported | Yes* | 44 mi |
| 10 | Pioneer Technology Center | 54.4 | Contact school for pricing | $37,175 | 73% | — | 114 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Kansas employs approximately 7,530 licensed practical nurses according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $61,760 1. The state’s concentration of licensed practical nurse jobs is 1.26x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, licensed practical nurse employment is projected to grow 2.6% from 2024 to 2034, with about 54,400 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Licensed Practical Nurse in Kansas, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: state-approved practical or vocational nursing program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure
- Licensing authority: Licensure - Kansas State Board of Nursing
- Exam: NCLEX-PN
- Median wage (Kansas): $61,760 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Licensed Practical Nurse in Kansas
How to become a Licensed Practical Nurse in Kansas? Complete a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure. Apply through Licensure - Kansas State Board of Nursing.
How long does it take? Most people finish a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Licensure - Kansas State Board of Nursing.
Do I need a license in Kansas? Yes. Kansas credentials this role through Licensure - Kansas State Board of Nursing 3. See the licensing section below.
What do licensed practical nurses earn in Kansas? The median annual wage for licensed practical nurses in Kansas is $61,760 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $49,780 and experienced professionals can earn $77,290 or more 1.
How to Become a Licensed Practical Nurse in Kansas
- Meet program entry rules. Approved practical or vocational nursing programs in Kansas typically require a high school diploma or GED. Confirm current age and prerequisite rules with the program and Licensure - Kansas State Board of Nursing.
- Complete a state-approved PN or VN program. Finish a board-approved practical or vocational nursing program in Kansas. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Pass the NCLEX-PN. Apply to Licensure - Kansas State Board of Nursing for authorization to test, then pass the NCLEX-PN. An RN exam does not substitute.
- Apply for LPN or LVN licensure. Obtain the practical or vocational nursing license from Licensure - Kansas State Board of Nursing before practicing. Confirm reciprocity with the board.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Licensed Practical Nurse License Requirements in Kansas
Kansas licenses practical and vocational nurses through Licensure - Kansas State Board of Nursing. The path is an approved PN or VN program, the NCLEX-PN, and a state LPN or LVN license. Some states use the LVN title; others use LPN. See Licensure - Kansas State Board of Nursing 3.
Typical path
Meet the program’s entry rules.
Complete a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program.
Pass the NCLEX-PN.
Apply to Licensure - Kansas State Board of Nursing for LPN or LVN licensure.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Licensure - Kansas State Board of Nursing before you enroll.
Licensed Practical Nurse Wages by Metro Area in Kansas
Licensed Practical and Licensed Vocational Nurses Wages by Metro Area in Kansas
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses wages in Kansas vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kansas City | 4,570 | $64,420 | $65,980 | $52,440 | $78,470 |
| Wichita | 1,690 | $60,310 | $61,040 | $50,300 | $76,330 |
| Topeka | 840 | $62,210 | $64,780 | $52,390 | $78,280 |
| Joplin | 400 | $58,920 | $58,780 | $48,010 | $72,950 |
| St. Joseph | 290 | $60,720 | $60,120 | $47,840 | $71,030 |
| Manhattan | 230 | $61,430 | $63,230 | $49,280 | $77,690 |
| Lawrence | 150 | $62,400 | $63,980 | $52,300 | $77,230 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for licensed practical nurses in Kansas? Kansas currently employs approximately 7,530 licensed practical nurses 1. Nationally, licensed practical nurse employment is projected to grow 2.6% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a licensed practical nurse in Kansas with an out-of-state license? Contact the Licensure - Kansas State Board of Nursing for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Kansas? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Kansas.
How much do licensed practical nurses earn in Kansas compared to the national average? The median annual wage for licensed practical nurses in Kansas is $61,760, which is $580 below the national median of $62,340 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Kansas
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Kansas (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Kansas
- Best HVAC Schools in Kansas (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Kansas
- Best Plumbing Schools in Kansas (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Kansas
Explore More Trades in Kansas
- Electrician in Kansas
- Plumber in Kansas
- HVAC Technician in Kansas
- Welder in Kansas
- Carpenter in Kansas
- Solar Installation Technician in Kansas
- Auto Mechanic in Kansas
- CNC Machinist in Kansas
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Kansas
- Medical Assistant in Kansas
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Licensure - Kansas State Board of Nursing - Licensing Information: http://www.ksbn.org ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |