How to Become a Licensed Practical Nurse in Kentucky (2026)
Kentucky employs about 8,570 licensed practical nurses earning a median $60,460 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Licensed Practical Nurse here means completing a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure, then applying through Commonwealth of Kentucky - Board of Nursing.
Compare Licensed Practical Nurse Schools in Kentucky
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | MedQuest College | 56.6 | Contact school for pricing | $32,880 | 82% | — | 35 mi |
| 2 | Southcentral Kentucky Community and Technical College | 56.0 | Contact school for pricing | $41,507 | Not reported | Yes* | 82 mi |
| 3 | Elizabethtown Community and Technical College | 55.0 | $4,728 - $14,212 | $43,584 | 54% | Yes* | 30 mi |
| 4 | Bluegrass Community and Technical College | 51.0 | Contact school for pricing | $48,181 | Not reported | Yes* | 49 mi |
| 5 | Jefferson Community and Technical College | 49.7 | $4,808 - $14,457 | $50,106 | 33% | Yes* | 42 mi |
| 6 | Somerset Community College | 47.1 | Contact school for pricing | $43,252 | 42% | Yes* | 61 mi |
| 7 | Caris College | 46.1 | Contact school for pricing | $52,966 | 63% | — | 45 mi |
| 8 | Sullivan University | 43.9 | Contact school for pricing | $53,068 | 56% | Yes* | 37 mi |
| 9 | ATA College | 43.3 | Contact school for pricing | $40,854 | Not reported | Yes* | 42 mi |
| 10 | Medical Career & Technical College | 37.4 | Contact school for pricing | $29,537 | Not reported | — | 57 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Kentucky employs approximately 8,570 licensed practical nurses according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $60,460 1. Nationally, licensed practical nurse employment is projected to grow 2.6% from 2024 to 2034, with about 54,400 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Licensed Practical Nurse in Kentucky, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: state-approved practical or vocational nursing program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure
- Licensing authority: Commonwealth of Kentucky - Board of Nursing
- Exam: NCLEX-PN
- Median wage (Kentucky): $60,460 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Licensed Practical Nurse in Kentucky
How to become a Licensed Practical Nurse in Kentucky? Complete a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure. Apply through Commonwealth of Kentucky - Board of Nursing.
How long does it take? Most people finish a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Commonwealth of Kentucky - Board of Nursing.
Do I need a license in Kentucky? Yes. Kentucky credentials this role through Commonwealth of Kentucky - Board of Nursing 3. See the licensing section below.
What do licensed practical nurses earn in Kentucky? The median annual wage for licensed practical nurses in Kentucky is $60,460 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $48,420 and experienced professionals can earn $73,220 or more 1.
How to Become a Licensed Practical Nurse in Kentucky
- Meet program entry rules. Approved practical or vocational nursing programs in Kentucky typically require a high school diploma or GED. Confirm current age and prerequisite rules with the program and Commonwealth of Kentucky - Board of Nursing.
- Complete a state-approved PN or VN program. Finish a board-approved practical or vocational nursing program in Kentucky. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Pass the NCLEX-PN. Apply to Commonwealth of Kentucky - Board of Nursing for authorization to test, then pass the NCLEX-PN. An RN exam does not substitute.
- Apply for LPN or LVN licensure. Obtain the practical or vocational nursing license from Commonwealth of Kentucky - Board of Nursing before practicing. Confirm reciprocity with the board.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Licensed Practical Nurse License Requirements in Kentucky
Kentucky licenses practical and vocational nurses through Commonwealth of Kentucky - Board of Nursing. The path is an approved PN or VN program, the NCLEX-PN, and a state LPN or LVN license. Some states use the LVN title; others use LPN. See Commonwealth of Kentucky - Board of Nursing 3.
Typical path
Meet the program’s entry rules.
Complete a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program.
Pass the NCLEX-PN.
Apply to Commonwealth of Kentucky - Board of Nursing for LPN or LVN licensure.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Commonwealth of Kentucky - Board of Nursing before you enroll.
Licensed Practical Nurse Wages by Metro Area in Kentucky
Licensed Practical and Licensed Vocational Nurses Wages by Metro Area in Kentucky
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses wages in Kentucky vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cincinnati | 6,400 | $64,180 | $64,150 | $51,570 | $75,310 |
| Louisville/Jefferson County | 2,850 | $64,460 | $64,580 | $53,340 | $74,270 |
| Huntington-Ashland | 1,390 | $54,540 | $54,700 | $46,520 | $62,140 |
| Lexington-Fayette | 970 | $61,480 | $61,360 | $48,140 | $73,540 |
| Clarksville | 630 | $58,260 | $58,050 | $45,760 | $71,430 |
| Paducah | 300 | $62,060 | $59,980 | $50,750 | $65,270 |
| Bowling Green | 250 | $60,830 | $59,190 | $50,360 | $66,320 |
| Elizabethtown | 200 | $61,080 | $60,580 | $49,710 | $76,440 |
| Owensboro | 170 | $62,180 | $61,560 | $49,950 | $72,740 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for licensed practical nurses in Kentucky? Kentucky currently employs approximately 8,570 licensed practical nurses 1. Nationally, licensed practical nurse employment is projected to grow 2.6% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a licensed practical nurse in Kentucky with an out-of-state license? Contact the Commonwealth of Kentucky - Board of Nursing for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Kentucky? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Kentucky.
How much do licensed practical nurses earn in Kentucky compared to the national average? The median annual wage for licensed practical nurses in Kentucky is $60,460, which is $1,880 below the national median of $62,340 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Kentucky
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Kentucky (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Kentucky
- Best HVAC Schools in Kentucky (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Kentucky
- Best Plumbing Schools in Kentucky (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Kentucky
Explore More Trades in Kentucky
- Electrician in Kentucky
- Plumber in Kentucky
- HVAC Technician in Kentucky
- Welder in Kentucky
- Carpenter in Kentucky
- Solar Installation Technician in Kentucky
- Auto Mechanic in Kentucky
- CNC Machinist in Kentucky
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Kentucky
- Medical Assistant in Kentucky
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Commonwealth of Kentucky - Board of Nursing - Licensing Information: http://kbn.ky.gov ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |