How to Become a Licensed Practical Nurse in Maryland (2026)
Maryland employs about 9,560 licensed practical nurses earning a median $74,660 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Licensed Practical Nurse here means completing a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure, then applying through Maryland State Dept. of Health & Mental Hygiene - Maryland Board of Nursing.
Compare Licensed Practical Nurse Schools in Maryland
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | James Rumsey Technical Institute | 74.9 | Contact school for pricing | $53,906 | Not reported | — | 44 mi |
| 2 | Carroll Community College | 72.5 | Contact school for pricing | $54,507 | 43% | Yes* | 28 mi |
| 3 | Frederick Community College | 71.1 | Contact school for pricing | $54,058 | 36% | Yes* | 20 mi |
| 4 | Anne Arundel Community College | 63.3 | Contact school for pricing | $55,889 | 28% | Yes* | 39 mi |
| 5 | Hagerstown Community College | 62.1 | Contact school for pricing | $55,827 | 38% | Yes* | 41 mi |
| 6 | Harford Community College | 60.9 | Contact school for pricing | $52,443 | 39% | Yes* | 55 mi |
| 7 | College of Southern Maryland | 53.7 | Contact school for pricing | $58,851 | 33% | Yes* | 46 mi |
| 8 | Howard Community College | 51.0 | Contact school for pricing | $57,920 | 25% | Yes* | 18 mi |
| 9 | Standard Healthcare Services-College of Nursing | 50.7 | Contact school for pricing | $84,711 | Not reported | — | 22 mi |
| 10 | Prince George's Community College | 48.7 | Contact school for pricing | $62,100 | 22% | Yes* | 30 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Maryland employs approximately 9,560 licensed practical nurses according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $74,660 1. Nationally, licensed practical nurse employment is projected to grow 2.6% from 2024 to 2034, with about 54,400 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Licensed Practical Nurse in Maryland, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: state-approved practical or vocational nursing program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure
- Licensing authority: Maryland State Dept. of Health & Mental Hygiene - Maryland Board of Nursing
- Exam: NCLEX-PN
- Median wage (Maryland): $74,660 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Licensed Practical Nurse in Maryland
How to become a Licensed Practical Nurse in Maryland? Complete a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure. Apply through Maryland State Dept. of Health & Mental Hygiene - Maryland Board of Nursing.
How long does it take? Most people finish a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Maryland State Dept. of Health & Mental Hygiene - Maryland Board of Nursing.
Do I need a license in Maryland? Yes. Maryland credentials this role through Maryland State Dept. of Health & Mental Hygiene - Maryland Board of Nursing 3. See the licensing section below.
What do licensed practical nurses earn in Maryland? The median annual wage for licensed practical nurses in Maryland is $74,660 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $60,720 and experienced professionals can earn $90,010 or more 1.
How to Become a Licensed Practical Nurse in Maryland
- Meet program entry rules. Approved practical or vocational nursing programs in Maryland typically require a high school diploma or GED. Confirm current age and prerequisite rules with the program and Maryland State Dept. of Health & Mental Hygiene - Maryland Board of Nursing.
- Complete a state-approved PN or VN program. Finish a board-approved practical or vocational nursing program in Maryland. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Pass the NCLEX-PN. Apply to Maryland State Dept. of Health & Mental Hygiene - Maryland Board of Nursing for authorization to test, then pass the NCLEX-PN. An RN exam does not substitute.
- Apply for LPN or LVN licensure. Obtain the practical or vocational nursing license from Maryland State Dept. of Health & Mental Hygiene - Maryland Board of Nursing before practicing. Confirm reciprocity with the board.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Licensed Practical Nurse License Requirements in Maryland
Maryland licenses practical and vocational nurses through Maryland State Dept. of Health & Mental Hygiene - Maryland Board of Nursing. The path is an approved PN or VN program, the NCLEX-PN, and a state LPN or LVN license. Some states use the LVN title; others use LPN. See Maryland State Dept. of Health & Mental Hygiene - Maryland Board of Nursing 3.
Typical path
Meet the program’s entry rules.
Complete a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program.
Pass the NCLEX-PN.
Apply to Maryland State Dept. of Health & Mental Hygiene - Maryland Board of Nursing for LPN or LVN licensure.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Maryland State Dept. of Health & Mental Hygiene - Maryland Board of Nursing before you enroll.
Licensed Practical Nurse Wages by Metro Area in Maryland
Licensed Practical and Licensed Vocational Nurses Wages by Metro Area in Maryland
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses wages in Maryland vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Philadelphia-Camden-Wilmington | 15,920 | $70,710 | $70,900 | $60,620 | $79,690 |
| Washington-Arlington-Alexandria | 7,170 | $75,860 | $74,560 | $61,880 | $87,470 |
| Baltimore-Columbia-Towson | 5,120 | $74,860 | $74,340 | $61,130 | $96,130 |
| Hagerstown-Martinsburg | 660 | $64,280 | $66,080 | $54,600 | $83,800 |
| Salisbury | 240 | $65,730 | $65,360 | $50,610 | $73,500 |
| Lexington Park | 170 | $74,860 | $74,220 | $60,720 | $93,110 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for licensed practical nurses in Maryland? Maryland currently employs approximately 9,560 licensed practical nurses 1. Nationally, licensed practical nurse employment is projected to grow 2.6% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a licensed practical nurse in Maryland with an out-of-state license? Contact the Maryland State Dept. of Health & Mental Hygiene - Maryland Board of Nursing for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Maryland? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Maryland.
How much do licensed practical nurses earn in Maryland compared to the national average? The median annual wage for licensed practical nurses in Maryland is $74,660, which is $12,320 above the national median of $62,340 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Maryland
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Maryland (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Maryland
- Best HVAC Schools in Maryland (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Maryland
- Best Plumbing Schools in Maryland (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Maryland
Explore More Trades in Maryland
- Electrician in Maryland
- Plumber in Maryland
- HVAC Technician in Maryland
- Welder in Maryland
- Carpenter in Maryland
- Solar Installation Technician in Maryland
- Auto Mechanic in Maryland
- CNC Machinist in Maryland
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Maryland
- Medical Assistant in Maryland
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Maryland State Dept. of Health & Mental Hygiene - Maryland Board of Nursing - Licensing Information: https://mbon.maryland.gov/Pages/default.aspx ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |