How to Become a Licensed Practical Nurse in New Mexico (2026)
New Mexico employs about 2,460 licensed practical nurses earning a median $59,330 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Licensed Practical Nurse here means completing a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure, then applying through New Mexico Board of Nursing.
Compare Licensed Practical Nurse Schools in New Mexico
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Pima Medical Institute-Albuquerque | 53.7 | Contact school for pricing | $38,890 | 63% | Yes* | 82 mi |
| 2 | New Mexico State University-Dona Ana | 48.7 | Contact school for pricing | $54,874 | 17% | Yes* | 152 mi |
| 3 | Clovis Community College | 46.6 | Contact school for pricing | $59,171 | 38% | Yes* | 139 mi |
| 4 | Santa Fe Community College | 46.6 | Contact school for pricing | $53,855 | Not reported | Yes* | 96 mi |
| 5 | El Paso Community College | 46.5 | Contact school for pricing | $39,712 | 23% | Yes* | 177 mi |
| 6 | Northern New Mexico College | 46.0 | Contact school for pricing | $61,774 | Not reported | Yes* | 123 mi |
| 7 | Luna Community College | 43.4 | Contact school for pricing | $38,111 | 33% | Yes* | 96 mi |
| 8 | Carrington College-Albuquerque | 40.9 | Contact school for pricing | $39,609 | 59% | — | 84 mi |
| 9 | Southeast New Mexico College | 38.2 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | Yes* | 147 mi |
| 10 | New Mexico Junior College | 35.8 | Contact school for pricing | $60,987 | Not reported | Yes* | 173 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
New Mexico employs approximately 2,460 licensed practical nurses according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $59,330 1. Nationally, licensed practical nurse employment is projected to grow 2.6% from 2024 to 2034, with about 54,400 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Licensed Practical Nurse in New Mexico, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: state-approved practical or vocational nursing program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure
- Licensing authority: New Mexico Board of Nursing
- Exam: NCLEX-PN
- Median wage (New Mexico): $59,330 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Licensed Practical Nurse in New Mexico
How to become a Licensed Practical Nurse in New Mexico? Complete a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure. Apply through New Mexico Board of Nursing.
How long does it take? Most people finish a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure. Confirm current hour totals with the program and New Mexico Board of Nursing.
Do I need a license in New Mexico? Yes. New Mexico credentials this role through New Mexico Board of Nursing 3. See the licensing section below.
What do licensed practical nurses earn in New Mexico? The median annual wage for licensed practical nurses in New Mexico is $59,330 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $38,090 and experienced professionals can earn $78,110 or more 1.
How to Become a Licensed Practical Nurse in New Mexico
- Meet program entry rules. Approved practical or vocational nursing programs in New Mexico typically require a high school diploma or GED. Confirm current age and prerequisite rules with the program and New Mexico Board of Nursing.
- Complete a state-approved PN or VN program. Finish a board-approved practical or vocational nursing program in New Mexico. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Pass the NCLEX-PN. Apply to New Mexico Board of Nursing for authorization to test, then pass the NCLEX-PN. An RN exam does not substitute.
- Apply for LPN or LVN licensure. Obtain the practical or vocational nursing license from New Mexico Board of Nursing before practicing. Confirm reciprocity with the board.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Licensed Practical Nurse License Requirements in New Mexico
New Mexico licenses practical and vocational nurses through New Mexico Board of Nursing. The path is an approved PN or VN program, the NCLEX-PN, and a state LPN or LVN license. Some states use the LVN title; others use LPN. See New Mexico Board of Nursing 3.
Typical path
Meet the program’s entry rules.
Complete a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program.
Pass the NCLEX-PN.
Apply to New Mexico Board of Nursing for LPN or LVN licensure.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with New Mexico Board of Nursing before you enroll.
Licensed Practical Nurse Wages by Metro Area in New Mexico
Licensed Practical and Licensed Vocational Nurses Wages by Metro Area in New Mexico
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses wages in New Mexico vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Albuquerque | 1,420 | $57,370 | $56,540 | $38,100 | $77,400 |
| Las Cruces | 250 | $61,670 | $59,230 | $36,870 | $72,940 |
| Farmington | 120 | $62,690 | $62,310 | $36,250 | $92,440 |
| Santa Fe | 70 | $72,750 | $71,080 | $52,930 | $85,900 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for licensed practical nurses in New Mexico? New Mexico currently employs approximately 2,460 licensed practical nurses 1. Nationally, licensed practical nurse employment is projected to grow 2.6% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a licensed practical nurse in New Mexico with an out-of-state license? Contact the New Mexico Board of Nursing for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in New Mexico? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in New Mexico.
How much do licensed practical nurses earn in New Mexico compared to the national average? The median annual wage for licensed practical nurses in New Mexico is $59,330, which is $3,010 below the national median of $62,340 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In New Mexico
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in New Mexico (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in New Mexico
- Best HVAC Schools in New Mexico (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in New Mexico
- Best Plumbing Schools in New Mexico (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in New Mexico
Explore More Trades in New Mexico
- Electrician in New Mexico
- Plumber in New Mexico
- HVAC Technician in New Mexico
- Welder in New Mexico
- Carpenter in New Mexico
- Solar Installation Technician in New Mexico
- Auto Mechanic in New Mexico
- CNC Machinist in New Mexico
- Certified Nursing Assistant in New Mexico
- Medical Assistant in New Mexico
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
New Mexico Board of Nursing - Licensing Information: https://www.bon.nm.gov ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |