How to Become a Licensed Practical Nurse in Virginia (2026)
Virginia employs about 15,550 licensed practical nurses earning a median $64,920 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Licensed Practical Nurse here means completing a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure, then applying through Department of Health Professions - Virginia Board of Nursing.
Compare Licensed Practical Nurse Schools in Virginia
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition (published, per year) | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Centra College | 95.9 | $12,983 | Not reported | 100% | Yes* | 28 mi |
| 2 | Henrico County-Saint Marys Hospital School of Practical Nursing | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | — | 71 mi |
| 3 | Piedmont Virginia Community College | 62.2 | $5,072 in-state / $11,510 out-of-state | $51,090 | 39% | Yes* | 53 mi |
| 4 | Vance-Granville Community College | 57.2 | $1,944 in-state / $6,552 out-of-state | $47,633 | 53% | Yes* | 68 mi |
| 5 | Brightpoint Community College | 54.3 | $5,082 in-state / $11,520 out-of-state | $50,344 | 38% | Yes* | 71 mi |
| 6 | Virginia Western Community College | 54.1 | $5,400 in-state / $11,838 out-of-state | $48,004 | 40% | Yes* | 70 mi |
| 7 | J Sargeant Reynolds Community College | 52.7 | $5,280 in-state / $11,718 out-of-state | $54,140 | 32% | Yes* | 71 mi |
| 8 | Medical Solutions Academy | 51.5 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 94% | — | 61 mi |
| 9 | Blue Ridge Community College | 49.2 | $5,646 in-state / $12,084 out-of-state | $51,042 | 40% | Yes* | 70 mi |
| 10 | Southside Virginia Community College | 47.9 | $5,007 in-state / $11,445 out-of-state | $43,979 | 42% | Yes* | 52 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Virginia employs approximately 15,550 licensed practical nurses according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $64,920 1. Nationally, licensed practical nurse employment is projected to grow 2.6% from 2024 to 2034, with about 54,400 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Licensed Practical Nurse in Virginia, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: state-approved practical or vocational nursing program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure
- Licensing authority: Department of Health Professions - Virginia Board of Nursing
- Exam: NCLEX-PN
- Median wage (Virginia): $64,920 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Licensed Practical Nurse in Virginia
How to become a Licensed Practical Nurse in Virginia? Complete a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure. Apply through Department of Health Professions - Virginia Board of Nursing.
How long does it take? Most people finish a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Department of Health Professions - Virginia Board of Nursing.
Do I need a license in Virginia? Yes. Virginia credentials this role through Department of Health Professions - Virginia Board of Nursing 3. See the licensing section below.
What do licensed practical nurses earn in Virginia? The median annual wage for licensed practical nurses in Virginia is $64,920 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $50,580 and experienced professionals can earn $79,170 or more 1.
How to Become a Licensed Practical Nurse in Virginia
- Meet program entry rules. Approved practical or vocational nursing programs in Virginia typically require a high school diploma or GED. Confirm current age and prerequisite rules with the program and Department of Health Professions - Virginia Board of Nursing.
- Complete a state-approved PN or VN program. Finish a board-approved practical or vocational nursing program in Virginia. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Pass the NCLEX-PN. Apply to Department of Health Professions - Virginia Board of Nursing for authorization to test, then pass the NCLEX-PN. An RN exam does not substitute.
- Apply for LPN or LVN licensure. Obtain the practical or vocational nursing license from Department of Health Professions - Virginia Board of Nursing before practicing. Confirm reciprocity with the board.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Licensed Practical Nurse License Requirements in Virginia
Virginia licenses practical and vocational nurses through Department of Health Professions - Virginia Board of Nursing. The path is an approved PN or VN program, the NCLEX-PN, and a state LPN or LVN license. Some states use the LVN title; others use LPN. See Department of Health Professions - Virginia Board of Nursing 3.
Typical path
Meet the program’s entry rules.
Complete a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program.
Pass the NCLEX-PN.
Apply to Department of Health Professions - Virginia Board of Nursing for LPN or LVN licensure.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Department of Health Professions - Virginia Board of Nursing before you enroll.
Licensed Practical Nurse Wages by Metro Area in Virginia
Licensed Practical and Licensed Vocational Nurses Wages by Metro Area in Virginia
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses wages in Virginia vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Washington-Arlington-Alexandria | 7,170 | $75,860 | $74,560 | $61,880 | $87,470 |
| Virginia Beach-Chesapeake-Norfolk | 3,410 | $64,370 | $65,050 | $51,230 | $77,320 |
| Richmond | 2,570 | $64,030 | $66,110 | $56,010 | $77,930 |
| Roanoke | 950 | $61,210 | $62,570 | $51,040 | $72,530 |
| Kingsport-Bristol | 800 | $54,050 | $54,610 | $41,950 | $64,360 |
| Lynchburg | 570 | $61,370 | $61,650 | $48,870 | $74,400 |
| Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford | 360 | $57,460 | $59,200 | $48,190 | $73,880 |
| Charlottesville | 350 | $67,120 | $66,920 | $51,310 | $80,930 |
| Harrisonburg | 330 | $60,830 | $61,850 | $49,740 | $78,500 |
| Winchester | 280 | $60,090 | $61,220 | $48,670 | $77,480 |
| Staunton-Stuarts Draft | 270 | $64,680 | $64,940 | $51,540 | $79,170 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for licensed practical nurses in Virginia? Virginia currently employs approximately 15,550 licensed practical nurses 1. Nationally, licensed practical nurse employment is projected to grow 2.6% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a licensed practical nurse in Virginia with an out-of-state license? Contact the Department of Health Professions - Virginia Board of Nursing for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Virginia? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Virginia.
How much do licensed practical nurses earn in Virginia compared to the national average? The median annual wage for licensed practical nurses in Virginia is $64,920, which is $2,580 above the national median of $62,340 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Virginia
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Virginia (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Virginia
- Best HVAC Schools in Virginia (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Virginia
- Best Plumbing Schools in Virginia (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Virginia
Explore More Trades in Virginia
- Electrician in Virginia
- Plumber in Virginia
- HVAC Technician in Virginia
- Welder in Virginia
- Carpenter in Virginia
- Solar Installation Technician in Virginia
- Auto Mechanic in Virginia
- CNC Machinist in Virginia
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Virginia
- Medical Assistant in Virginia
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Department of Health Professions - Virginia Board of Nursing - Licensing Information: https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Nursing/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |