How to Become a Licensed Vocational Nurse in Georgia (2026)
Georgia employs about 21,060 licensed vocational nurses earning a median $62,030 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Licensed Vocational Nurse here means completing a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure, then applying through Georgia Board of Nursing.
Compare Licensed Vocational Nurse Schools in Georgia
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Athens Technical College | 54.3 | Contact school for pricing | $47,299 | Not reported | Yes* | 81 mi |
| 2 | Southern Crescent Technical College | 54.3 | Contact school for pricing | $47,009 | 55% | Yes* | 31 mi |
| 3 | South Georgia Technical College | 54.3 | Contact school for pricing | $40,852 | Not reported | Yes* | 61 mi |
| 4 | Chattahoochee Technical College | 52.1 | Contact school for pricing | $45,209 | Not reported | Yes* | 78 mi |
| 5 | West Georgia Technical College | 51.0 | Contact school for pricing | $43,835 | 33% | Yes* | 90 mi |
| 6 | Atlanta Technical College | 47.9 | Contact school for pricing | $40,964 | 46% | Yes* | 61 mi |
| 7 | Columbus Technical College | 47.2 | Contact school for pricing | $43,818 | 24% | Yes* | 65 mi |
| 8 | Oconee Fall Line Technical College | 46.8 | $3,380 - $24,902 | $37,265 | 54% | Yes* | 64 mi |
| 9 | Albany Technical College | 46.8 | Contact school for pricing | $37,104 | 38% | Yes* | 96 mi |
| 10 | Central Georgia Technical College | 46.5 | Contact school for pricing | $42,979 | 44% | Yes* | 30 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Georgia employs approximately 21,060 licensed vocational nurses according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $62,030 1. Nationally, licensed vocational nurse employment is projected to grow 2.6% from 2024 to 2034, with about 54,400 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Licensed Vocational Nurse in Georgia, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: state-approved practical or vocational nursing program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure
- Licensing authority: Georgia Board of Nursing
- Exam: NCLEX-PN
- Median wage (Georgia): $62,030 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Licensed Vocational Nurse in Georgia
How to become a Licensed Vocational Nurse in Georgia? Complete a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure. Apply through Georgia Board of Nursing.
How long does it take? Most people finish a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Georgia Board of Nursing.
Do I need a license in Georgia? Yes. Georgia credentials this role through Georgia Board of Nursing 3. See the licensing section below.
What do licensed vocational nurses earn in Georgia? The median annual wage for licensed vocational nurses in Georgia is $62,030 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $46,010 and experienced professionals can earn $76,690 or more 1.
How to Become a Licensed Vocational Nurse in Georgia
- Meet program entry rules. Approved practical or vocational nursing programs in Georgia typically require a high school diploma or GED. Confirm current age and prerequisite rules with the program and Georgia Board of Nursing.
- Complete a state-approved PN or VN program. Finish a board-approved practical or vocational nursing program in Georgia. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Pass the NCLEX-PN. Apply to Georgia Board of Nursing for authorization to test, then pass the NCLEX-PN. An RN exam does not substitute.
- Apply for LPN or LVN licensure. Obtain the practical or vocational nursing license from Georgia Board of Nursing before practicing. Confirm reciprocity with the board.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Licensed Vocational Nurse License Requirements in Georgia
Georgia licenses practical and vocational nurses through Georgia Board of Nursing. The path is an approved PN or VN program, the NCLEX-PN, and a state LPN or LVN license. Some states use the LVN title; others use LPN. See Georgia Board of Nursing 3.
Typical path
Meet the program’s entry rules.
Complete a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program.
Pass the NCLEX-PN.
Apply to Georgia Board of Nursing for LPN or LVN licensure.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Georgia Board of Nursing before you enroll.
Licensed Vocational Nurse Wages by Metro Area in Georgia
Licensed Practical and Licensed Vocational Nurses Wages by Metro Area in Georgia
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses wages in Georgia vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Atlanta-Sandy Springs-Roswell | 9,710 | $65,060 | $64,890 | $48,130 | $79,740 |
| Chattanooga | 1,560 | $58,580 | $56,700 | $42,810 | $65,520 |
| Augusta-Richmond County | 1,220 | $63,760 | $64,590 | $51,940 | $75,520 |
| Savannah | 890 | $62,810 | $62,210 | $50,820 | $74,930 |
| Macon-Bibb County | 740 | $60,990 | $59,700 | $47,570 | $72,950 |
| Columbus | 690 | $59,330 | $57,360 | $46,290 | $68,680 |
| Rome | 440 | $61,710 | $59,020 | $40,390 | $72,590 |
| Athens-Clarke County | 420 | $61,600 | $59,980 | $47,270 | $72,710 |
| Valdosta | 400 | $49,860 | $52,070 | $38,330 | $65,480 |
| Gainesville | 390 | $64,080 | $63,870 | $50,070 | $77,760 |
| Albany | 370 | $58,310 | $57,410 | $43,160 | $71,670 |
| Warner Robins | 310 | $54,280 | $54,360 | $36,600 | $65,050 |
| Brunswick-St. Simons | 260 | $59,200 | $58,890 | $50,230 | $71,200 |
| Dalton | 230 | $54,380 | $56,480 | $49,920 | $64,740 |
| Hinesville | 150 | $53,930 | $53,760 | $47,850 | $59,040 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for licensed vocational nurses in Georgia? Georgia currently employs approximately 21,060 licensed vocational nurses 1. Nationally, licensed vocational nurse employment is projected to grow 2.6% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a licensed vocational nurse in Georgia with an out-of-state license? Contact the Georgia Board of Nursing for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Georgia? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Georgia.
How much do licensed vocational nurses earn in Georgia compared to the national average? The median annual wage for licensed vocational nurses in Georgia is $62,030, which is $310 below the national median of $62,340 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Georgia
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Georgia (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Georgia
- Best HVAC Schools in Georgia (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Georgia
- Best Plumbing Schools in Georgia (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Georgia
Explore More Trades in Georgia
- Electrician in Georgia
- Plumber in Georgia
- HVAC Technician in Georgia
- Welder in Georgia
- Carpenter in Georgia
- Solar Installation Technician in Georgia
- Auto Mechanic in Georgia
- CNC Machinist in Georgia
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Georgia
- Medical Assistant in Georgia
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Georgia Board of Nursing - Licensing Information: https://sos.ga.gov/index.php/licensing ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |