How to Become a Licensed Vocational Nurse in New Hampshire (2026)

New Hampshire employs about 2,220 licensed vocational nurses earning a median $77,110 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Licensed Vocational Nurse here means completing a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure, then applying through Office of Professional Licensure and Certification.

Compare Licensed Vocational Nurse Schools in New Hampshire

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Tuition is the published annual figure for the latest reported year and excludes room, board, books and fees. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)Tuition (published, per year)Median grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
161.5Contact school for pricing$69,121100%—41 mi
258.1$6,262 in-state / $11,206 out-of-state$55,07622%Yes*62 mi
357.2Contact school for pricingNot reported80%—53 mi
454.3$5,810 in-state / $11,930 out-of-state$52,74731%Yes*61 mi
553.3$6,160 in-state / $11,080 out-of-state$53,97724%Yes*44 mi
652.4$6,732 in-state / $12,516 out-of-state$52,74321%Yes*46 mi
746.7$5,352 in-state / $10,920 out-of-state$54,71418%—58 mi
844.2$6,940 in-state / $15,190 out-of-state$54,46522%—32 mi
943.7Contact school for pricingNot reported87%—31 mi
1037.3Contact school for pricingNot reported67%—45 mi

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

New Hampshire employs approximately 2,220 licensed vocational nurses according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $77,110 1. Nationally, licensed vocational nurse employment is projected to grow 2.6% from 2024 to 2034, with about 54,400 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Licensed Vocational Nurse in New Hampshire, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.

At a Glance

Quick Answers About How to Become a Licensed Vocational Nurse in New Hampshire

How to become a Licensed Vocational Nurse in New Hampshire? Complete a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure. Apply through Office of Professional Licensure and Certification.

How long does it take? Most people finish a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Office of Professional Licensure and Certification.

Do I need a license in New Hampshire? Yes. New Hampshire credentials this role through Office of Professional Licensure and Certification 3. See the licensing section below.

What do licensed vocational nurses earn in New Hampshire? The median annual wage for licensed vocational nurses in New Hampshire is $77,110 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $59,860 and experienced professionals can earn $93,660 or more 1.

How to Become a Licensed Vocational Nurse in New Hampshire

  1. Meet program entry rules. Approved practical or vocational nursing programs in New Hampshire typically require a high school diploma or GED. Confirm current age and prerequisite rules with the program and Office of Professional Licensure and Certification.
  2. Complete a state-approved PN or VN program. Finish a board-approved practical or vocational nursing program in New Hampshire. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
  3. Pass the NCLEX-PN. Apply to Office of Professional Licensure and Certification for authorization to test, then pass the NCLEX-PN. An RN exam does not substitute.
  4. Apply for LPN or LVN licensure. Obtain the practical or vocational nursing license from Office of Professional Licensure and Certification before practicing. Confirm reciprocity with the board.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Licensed Vocational Nurse License Requirements in New Hampshire

New Hampshire licenses practical and vocational nurses through Office of Professional Licensure and Certification. The path is an approved PN or VN program, the NCLEX-PN, and a state LPN or LVN license. Some states use the LVN title; others use LPN. See Office of Professional Licensure and Certification 3.

Typical path

  1. Meet the program’s entry rules.

  2. Complete a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program.

  3. Pass the NCLEX-PN.

  4. Apply to Office of Professional Licensure and Certification for LPN or LVN licensure.

Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Office of Professional Licensure and Certification before you enroll.

Licensed Vocational Nurse Wages by Metro Area in New Hampshire

Licensed Practical and Licensed Vocational Nurses Wages by Metro Area in New Hampshire

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses wages in New Hampshire vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Boston-Cambridge-Newton8,410$82,190$80,770$61,680$94,110
Manchester-Nashua760$76,090$74,730$59,510$86,080

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for licensed vocational nurses in New Hampshire? New Hampshire currently employs approximately 2,220 licensed vocational nurses 1. Nationally, licensed vocational nurse employment is projected to grow 2.6% from 2024 to 2034 2.

Can I work as a licensed vocational nurse in New Hampshire with an out-of-state license? Contact the Office of Professional Licensure and Certification for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.

What training programs are available in New Hampshire? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in New Hampshire.

How much do licensed vocational nurses earn in New Hampshire compared to the national average? The median annual wage for licensed vocational nurses in New Hampshire is $77,110, which is $14,770 above the national median of $62,340 according to BLS data 1.

In New Hampshire

Explore More Trades in New Hampshire

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

  3. Office of Professional Licensure and Certification - Licensing Information: https://www.oplc.nh.gov/new-hampshire-board-nursing ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)