How to Become a Licensed Vocational Nurse in Ohio (2026)
Ohio employs about 39,900 licensed vocational nurses earning a median $61,950 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Licensed Vocational Nurse here means completing a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure, then applying through Ohio Board of Nursing.
Compare Licensed Vocational Nurse Schools in Ohio
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | EHOVE Career Center | 75.4 | Contact school for pricing | $50,326 | 89% | — | 31 mi |
| 2 | Knox County Career Center | 61.8 | Contact school for pricing | $44,510 | Not reported | — | 39 mi |
| 3 | North Central State College | 60.8 | $4,624 - $10,118 | $53,401 | 35% | Yes* | 10 mi |
| 4 | Lorain County Community College | 58.2 | Contact school for pricing | $52,814 | 32% | Yes* | 41 mi |
| 5 | Wayne County Schools Career Center | 51.7 | Contact school for pricing | $48,459 | 77% | — | 31 mi |
| 6 | Sandusky Career Center | 51.4 | Contact school for pricing | $59,812 | 61% | — | 41 mi |
| 7 | Tri-Rivers Career Center | 48.6 | Contact school for pricing | $56,948 | Not reported | — | 39 mi |
| 8 | Stautzenberger College-Brecksville | 40.5 | Contact school for pricing | $37,799 | 50% | Yes* | 50 mi |
| 9 | Ohio Business College-Sheffield | 27.8 | Contact school for pricing | $31,144 | 72% | — | 41 mi |
| 10 | Bryant & Stratton College-Parma | 18.5 | Contact school for pricing | $43,374 | 20% | — | 49 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Ohio employs approximately 39,900 licensed vocational nurses according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $61,950 1. The state’s concentration of licensed vocational nurse jobs is 1.72x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, licensed vocational nurse employment is projected to grow 2.6% from 2024 to 2034, with about 54,400 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Licensed Vocational Nurse in Ohio, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: state-approved practical or vocational nursing program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure
- Licensing authority: Ohio Board of Nursing
- Exam: NCLEX-PN
- Median wage (Ohio): $61,950 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Licensed Vocational Nurse in Ohio
How to become a Licensed Vocational Nurse in Ohio? Complete a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure. Apply through Ohio Board of Nursing.
How long does it take? Most people finish a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Ohio Board of Nursing.
Do I need a license in Ohio? Yes. Ohio credentials this role through Ohio Board of Nursing 3. See the licensing section below.
What do licensed vocational nurses earn in Ohio? The median annual wage for licensed vocational nurses in Ohio is $61,950 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $50,030 and experienced professionals can earn $74,120 or more 1.
How to Become a Licensed Vocational Nurse in Ohio
- Meet program entry rules. Approved practical or vocational nursing programs in Ohio typically require a high school diploma or GED. Confirm current age and prerequisite rules with the program and Ohio Board of Nursing.
- Complete a state-approved PN or VN program. Finish a board-approved practical or vocational nursing program in Ohio. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Pass the NCLEX-PN. Apply to Ohio Board of Nursing for authorization to test, then pass the NCLEX-PN. An RN exam does not substitute.
- Apply for LPN or LVN licensure. Obtain the practical or vocational nursing license from Ohio Board of Nursing before practicing. Confirm reciprocity with the board.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Licensed Vocational Nurse License Requirements in Ohio
Ohio licenses practical and vocational nurses through Ohio Board of Nursing. The path is an approved PN or VN program, the NCLEX-PN, and a state LPN or LVN license. Some states use the LVN title; others use LPN. See Ohio Board of Nursing 3.
Typical path
Meet the program’s entry rules.
Complete a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program.
Pass the NCLEX-PN.
Apply to Ohio Board of Nursing for LPN or LVN licensure.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Ohio Board of Nursing before you enroll.
Licensed Vocational Nurse Wages by Metro Area in Ohio
Licensed Practical and Licensed Vocational Nurses Wages by Metro Area in Ohio
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses wages in Ohio vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Columbus | 7,270 | $61,910 | $63,330 | $51,480 | $76,200 |
| Cleveland | 6,720 | $63,900 | $64,220 | $51,540 | $75,270 |
| Cincinnati | 6,400 | $64,180 | $64,150 | $51,570 | $75,310 |
| Dayton-Kettering-Beavercreek | 3,140 | $61,770 | $61,300 | $49,890 | $73,520 |
| Akron | 2,300 | $62,070 | $61,560 | $50,180 | $72,690 |
| Toledo | 2,120 | $62,280 | $61,360 | $50,250 | $73,040 |
| Canton-Massillon | 1,610 | $60,280 | $59,620 | $48,920 | $72,190 |
| Youngstown-Warren | 1,440 | $59,210 | $58,210 | $48,380 | $70,730 |
| Huntington-Ashland | 1,390 | $54,540 | $54,700 | $46,520 | $62,140 |
| Springfield | 550 | $61,350 | $60,310 | $50,060 | $71,630 |
| Lima | 500 | $62,080 | $60,380 | $49,470 | $72,700 |
| Wheeling | 440 | $57,960 | $56,220 | $46,860 | $65,100 |
| Mansfield | 410 | $58,730 | $57,690 | $47,660 | $70,240 |
| Sandusky | 390 | $62,520 | $61,290 | $49,140 | $72,050 |
| Weirton-Steubenville | 360 | $58,200 | $56,310 | $46,140 | $65,250 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for licensed vocational nurses in Ohio? Ohio currently employs approximately 39,900 licensed vocational nurses 1. Nationally, licensed vocational nurse employment is projected to grow 2.6% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a licensed vocational nurse in Ohio with an out-of-state license? Contact the Ohio Board of Nursing for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Ohio? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Ohio.
How much do licensed vocational nurses earn in Ohio compared to the national average? The median annual wage for licensed vocational nurses in Ohio is $61,950, which is $390 below the national median of $62,340 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Ohio
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Ohio (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Ohio
- Best HVAC Schools in Ohio (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Ohio
- Best Plumbing Schools in Ohio (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Ohio
Explore More Trades in Ohio
- Electrician in Ohio
- Plumber in Ohio
- HVAC Technician in Ohio
- Welder in Ohio
- Carpenter in Ohio
- Solar Installation Technician in Ohio
- Auto Mechanic in Ohio
- CNC Machinist in Ohio
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Ohio
- Medical Assistant in Ohio
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Ohio Board of Nursing - Licensing Information: https://www.nursing.ohio.gov ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |