How to Become a Licensed Vocational Nurse in Pennsylvania (2026)

Pennsylvania employs about 38,260 licensed vocational nurses earning a median $63,940 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Licensed Vocational Nurse here means completing a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure, then applying through Department of State - Bureau of Professional & Occupational Affairs - Nursing Board.

Compare Licensed Vocational Nurse Schools in Pennsylvania

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Tuition is the published annual figure for the latest reported year and excludes room, board, books and fees. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)Tuition (published, per year)Median grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
177.6Contact school for pricing$48,90290%—33 mi
275.3Contact school for pricing$47,03795%—54 mi
372.5$4,308 in-state / $10,158 out-of-state$54,50739%Yes*56 mi
464.1Contact school for pricing$56,03791%—45 mi
562.1$4,320 in-state / $8,190 out-of-state$55,82739%Yes*65 mi
660.6Contact school for pricing$53,47763%—47 mi
757.3Contact school for pricingNot reported59%—42 mi
855.8Contact school for pricingNot reported62%—36 mi
954.0Contact school for pricingNot reported88%—48 mi
1042.2$6,480 in-state / $12,510 out-of-state$45,44634%Yes*54 mi

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Pennsylvania employs approximately 38,260 licensed vocational nurses according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $63,940 1. The state’s concentration of licensed vocational nurse jobs is 1.51x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, licensed vocational nurse employment is projected to grow 2.6% from 2024 to 2034, with about 54,400 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Licensed Vocational Nurse in Pennsylvania, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.

At a Glance

Quick Answers About How to Become a Licensed Vocational Nurse in Pennsylvania

How to become a Licensed Vocational Nurse in Pennsylvania? Complete a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure. Apply through Department of State - Bureau of Professional & Occupational Affairs - Nursing Board.

How long does it take? Most people finish a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Department of State - Bureau of Professional & Occupational Affairs - Nursing Board.

Do I need a license in Pennsylvania? Yes. Pennsylvania credentials this role through Department of State - Bureau of Professional & Occupational Affairs - Nursing Board 3. See the licensing section below.

What do licensed vocational nurses earn in Pennsylvania? The median annual wage for licensed vocational nurses in Pennsylvania is $63,940 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $51,500 and experienced professionals can earn $77,750 or more 1.

How to Become a Licensed Vocational Nurse in Pennsylvania

  1. Meet program entry rules. Approved practical or vocational nursing programs in Pennsylvania typically require a high school diploma or GED. Confirm current age and prerequisite rules with the program and Department of State - Bureau of Professional & Occupational Affairs - Nursing Board.
  2. Complete a state-approved PN or VN program. Finish a board-approved practical or vocational nursing program in Pennsylvania. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
  3. Pass the NCLEX-PN. Apply to Department of State - Bureau of Professional & Occupational Affairs - Nursing Board for authorization to test, then pass the NCLEX-PN. An RN exam does not substitute.
  4. Apply for LPN or LVN licensure. Obtain the practical or vocational nursing license from Department of State - Bureau of Professional & Occupational Affairs - Nursing Board before practicing. Confirm reciprocity with the board.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Licensed Vocational Nurse License Requirements in Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania licenses practical and vocational nurses through Department of State - Bureau of Professional & Occupational Affairs - Nursing Board. The path is an approved PN or VN program, the NCLEX-PN, and a state LPN or LVN license. Some states use the LVN title; others use LPN. See Department of State - Bureau of Professional & Occupational Affairs - Nursing Board 3.

Typical path

  1. Meet the program’s entry rules.

  2. Complete a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program.

  3. Pass the NCLEX-PN.

  4. Apply to Department of State - Bureau of Professional & Occupational Affairs - Nursing Board for LPN or LVN licensure.

Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Department of State - Bureau of Professional & Occupational Affairs - Nursing Board before you enroll.

Licensed Vocational Nurse Wages by Metro Area in Pennsylvania

Licensed Practical and Licensed Vocational Nurses Wages by Metro Area in Pennsylvania

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses wages in Pennsylvania vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Philadelphia-Camden-Wilmington15,920$70,710$70,900$60,620$79,690
Pittsburgh5,800$63,060$64,850$51,780$74,630
Scranton--Wilkes-Barre2,270$61,740$63,740$53,820$74,340
Allentown-Bethlehem-Easton2,230$64,050$65,370$56,070$75,360
Harrisburg-Carlisle2,180$62,680$64,100$52,010$74,980
Lancaster1,740$63,290$64,720$55,340$75,450
York-Hanover1,070$63,460$64,730$50,470$75,230
Reading990$64,950$66,820$56,540$76,640
Erie940$60,510$60,320$48,800$72,270
Altoona630$59,680$58,810$44,590$71,840
Williamsport560$61,200$60,270$49,410$71,590
Lebanon460$65,430$66,150$58,670$74,330
State College440$61,960$61,190$49,860$69,530
Johnstown370$57,320$57,340$47,240$68,970
Chambersburg360$63,960$64,650$49,460$76,190
Gettysburg230$64,310$65,120$51,300$75,960

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for licensed vocational nurses in Pennsylvania? Pennsylvania currently employs approximately 38,260 licensed vocational nurses 1. Nationally, licensed vocational nurse employment is projected to grow 2.6% from 2024 to 2034 2.

Can I work as a licensed vocational nurse in Pennsylvania with an out-of-state license? Contact the Department of State - Bureau of Professional & Occupational Affairs - Nursing Board for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.

What training programs are available in Pennsylvania? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Pennsylvania.

How much do licensed vocational nurses earn in Pennsylvania compared to the national average? The median annual wage for licensed vocational nurses in Pennsylvania is $63,940, which is $1,600 above the national median of $62,340 according to BLS data 1.

In Pennsylvania

Explore More Trades in Pennsylvania

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

  3. Department of State - Bureau of Professional & Occupational Affairs - Nursing Board - Licensing Information: https://www.dos.pa.gov/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardsCommissions/Nursing/Pages/default.aspx ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)