How to Become a Licensed Vocational Nurse in Texas (2026)
Texas employs about 57,560 licensed vocational nurses earning a median $62,240 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Licensed Vocational Nurse here means completing a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure, then applying through Texas Board of Nursing.
Compare Licensed Vocational Nurse Schools in Texas
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | CyberTex Institute of Technology | 54.5 | Contact school for pricing | $36,724 | 91% | — | 67 mi |
| 2 | McLennan Community College | 53.3 | Contact school for pricing | $47,348 | Not reported | Yes* | 47 mi |
| 3 | Weatherford College | 51.8 | Contact school for pricing | $59,564 | Not reported | Yes* | 104 mi |
| 4 | Austin Community College District | 49.6 | $2,550 - $15,190 | $57,624 | 19% | Yes* | 64 mi |
| 5 | Cisco College | 49.3 | $4,710 - $17,469 | $46,191 | 30% | Yes* | 104 mi |
| 6 | Texas State Technical College | 47.6 | Contact school for pricing | $55,511 | 41% | Yes* | 53 mi |
| 7 | Ranger College | 40.4 | Contact school for pricing | $42,565 | 27% | Yes* | 97 mi |
| 8 | Temple College | 39.9 | Contact school for pricing | $54,976 | 29% | Yes* | 32 mi |
| 9 | Galen Health Institutes-Austin Campus | 38.9 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | — | 54 mi |
| 10 | Navarro College | 38.7 | Contact school for pricing | $46,253 | 23% | Yes* | 99 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Texas employs approximately 57,560 licensed vocational nurses according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $62,240 1. Nationally, licensed vocational nurse employment is projected to grow 2.6% from 2024 to 2034, with about 54,400 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Licensed Vocational Nurse in Texas, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: state-approved practical or vocational nursing program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure
- Licensing authority: Texas Board of Nursing
- Exam: NCLEX-PN
- Median wage (Texas): $62,240 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Licensed Vocational Nurse in Texas
How to become a Licensed Vocational Nurse in Texas? Complete a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure. Apply through Texas Board of Nursing.
How long does it take? Most people finish a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Texas Board of Nursing.
Do I need a license in Texas? Yes. Texas credentials this role through Texas Board of Nursing 3. See the licensing section below.
What do licensed vocational nurses earn in Texas? The median annual wage for licensed vocational nurses in Texas is $62,240 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $48,910 and experienced professionals can earn $76,140 or more 1.
How to Become a Licensed Vocational Nurse in Texas
- Meet program entry rules. Approved practical or vocational nursing programs in Texas typically require a high school diploma or GED. Confirm current age and prerequisite rules with the program and Texas Board of Nursing.
- Complete a state-approved PN or VN program. Finish a board-approved practical or vocational nursing program in Texas. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Pass the NCLEX-PN. Apply to Texas Board of Nursing for authorization to test, then pass the NCLEX-PN. An RN exam does not substitute.
- Apply for LPN or LVN licensure. Obtain the practical or vocational nursing license from Texas Board of Nursing before practicing. Confirm reciprocity with the board.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Licensed Vocational Nurse License Requirements in Texas
Texas licenses practical and vocational nurses through Texas Board of Nursing. The path is an approved PN or VN program, the NCLEX-PN, and a state LPN or LVN license. Some states use the LVN title; others use LPN. See Texas Board of Nursing 3.
Typical path
Meet the program’s entry rules.
Complete a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program.
Pass the NCLEX-PN.
Apply to Texas Board of Nursing for LPN or LVN licensure.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Texas Board of Nursing before you enroll.
Licensed Vocational Nurse Wages by Metro Area in Texas
Licensed Practical and Licensed Vocational Nurses Wages by Metro Area in Texas
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses wages in Texas vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dallas-Fort Worth-Arlington | 12,590 | $64,370 | $66,110 | $53,930 | $77,620 |
| Houston-Pasadena-The Woodlands | 10,730 | $63,670 | $65,290 | $51,850 | $77,910 |
| San Antonio-New Braunfels | 5,970 | $62,280 | $63,350 | $50,320 | $77,360 |
| Austin-Round Rock-San Marcos | 3,620 | $64,580 | $66,080 | $51,690 | $78,270 |
| McAllen-Edinburg-Mission | 1,860 | $56,250 | $55,430 | $45,640 | $64,520 |
| El Paso | 1,750 | $58,770 | $58,190 | $46,680 | $68,890 |
| Brownsville-Harlingen | 1,260 | $56,250 | $56,200 | $44,420 | $65,570 |
| Killeen-Temple | 1,190 | $63,390 | $65,120 | $47,190 | $87,940 |
| Lubbock | 1,080 | $58,510 | $58,120 | $47,420 | $70,130 |
| Corpus Christi | 990 | $59,810 | $59,110 | $46,130 | $72,700 |
| Beaumont-Port Arthur | 950 | $58,590 | $57,080 | $44,020 | $73,370 |
| Tyler | 810 | $59,550 | $58,230 | $46,900 | $71,520 |
| Waco | 780 | $62,070 | $64,070 | $51,050 | $78,570 |
| Amarillo | 660 | $61,330 | $60,730 | $47,500 | $74,820 |
| Longview | 650 | $60,190 | $59,890 | $48,050 | $73,150 |
| Wichita Falls | 550 | $60,330 | $60,260 | $47,710 | $72,930 |
| Abilene | 510 | $60,950 | $59,500 | $47,320 | $71,340 |
| Laredo | 490 | $56,850 | $55,890 | $43,590 | $70,650 |
| College Station-Bryan | 480 | $60,020 | $60,300 | $48,900 | $74,160 |
| Texarkana | 440 | $57,370 | $56,900 | $46,900 | $68,700 |
| Sherman-Denison | 380 | $60,460 | $60,200 | $50,350 | $72,110 |
| Victoria | 340 | $58,130 | $57,040 | $47,770 | $69,310 |
| San Angelo | 330 | $59,340 | $59,230 | $47,050 | $72,280 |
| Odessa | 320 | $62,490 | $60,610 | $45,530 | $74,650 |
| Midland | 280 | $64,240 | $65,220 | $52,700 | $76,670 |
| Eagle Pass | 160 | $57,250 | $55,080 | $43,310 | $64,260 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for licensed vocational nurses in Texas? Texas currently employs approximately 57,560 licensed vocational nurses 1. Nationally, licensed vocational nurse employment is projected to grow 2.6% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a licensed vocational nurse in Texas with an out-of-state license? Contact the Texas Board of Nursing for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Texas? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Texas.
How much do licensed vocational nurses earn in Texas compared to the national average? The median annual wage for licensed vocational nurses in Texas is $62,240, which is $100 below the national median of $62,340 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Texas
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Texas (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Texas
- Best HVAC Schools in Texas (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Texas
- Best Plumbing Schools in Texas (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Texas
Explore More Trades in Texas
- Electrician in Texas
- Plumber in Texas
- HVAC Technician in Texas
- Welder in Texas
- Carpenter in Texas
- Solar Installation Technician in Texas
- Auto Mechanic in Texas
- CNC Machinist in Texas
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Texas
- Medical Assistant in Texas
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Texas Board of Nursing - Licensing Information: https://www.bon.texas.gov/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |