How to Become a Licensed Vocational Nurse in Vermont (2026)
Vermont employs about 1,130 licensed vocational nurses earning a median $69,930 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Licensed Vocational Nurse here means completing a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure, then applying through Vermont Secretary of State - Nursing - Board.
Compare Licensed Vocational Nurse Schools in Vermont
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition (published, per year) | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Charles H McCann Technical School | 74.3 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 100% | — | 111 mi |
| 2 | Samaritan Hospital School of Nursing | 67.6 | $15,358 | Not reported | 50% | — | 114 mi |
| 3 | Clinton Essex Warren Washington BOCES | 67.0 | Contact school for pricing | $39,772 | 89% | — | 47 mi |
| 4 | Hudson Valley Community College | 62.7 | $6,796 in-state / $11,852 out-of-state | $54,719 | 35% | Yes* | 117 mi |
| 5 | Washington Saratoga Warren Hamilton Essex BOCES-Practical Nursing Program | 62.2 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 79% | — | 76 mi |
| 6 | Greenfield Community College | 54.3 | $5,810 in-state / $11,930 out-of-state | $52,747 | 31% | Yes* | 115 mi |
| 7 | Albany BOCES-Adult Practical Nursing Program | 48.9 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 74% | — | 117 mi |
| 8 | North Country Community College | 47.8 | $6,682 in-state / $9,370 out-of-state | $54,281 | 29% | Yes* | 66 mi |
| 9 | River Valley Community College | 44.2 | $6,940 in-state / $15,190 out-of-state | $54,465 | 22% | — | 63 mi |
| 10 | Harmony Health Care Institute | 43.7 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 87% | — | 120 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Vermont employs approximately 1,130 licensed vocational nurses according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $69,930 1. Nationally, licensed vocational nurse employment is projected to grow 2.6% from 2024 to 2034, with about 54,400 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Licensed Vocational Nurse in Vermont, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: state-approved practical or vocational nursing program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure
- Licensing authority: Vermont Secretary of State - Nursing - Board
- Exam: NCLEX-PN
- Median wage (Vermont): $69,930 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Licensed Vocational Nurse in Vermont
How to become a Licensed Vocational Nurse in Vermont? Complete a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure. Apply through Vermont Secretary of State - Nursing - Board.
How long does it take? Most people finish a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program, the NCLEX-PN, and state LPN or LVN licensure. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Vermont Secretary of State - Nursing - Board.
Do I need a license in Vermont? Yes. Vermont credentials this role through Vermont Secretary of State - Nursing - Board 3. See the licensing section below.
What do licensed vocational nurses earn in Vermont? The median annual wage for licensed vocational nurses in Vermont is $69,930 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $50,230 and experienced professionals can earn $84,710 or more 1.
How to Become a Licensed Vocational Nurse in Vermont
- Meet program entry rules. Approved practical or vocational nursing programs in Vermont typically require a high school diploma or GED. Confirm current age and prerequisite rules with the program and Vermont Secretary of State - Nursing - Board.
- Complete a state-approved PN or VN program. Finish a board-approved practical or vocational nursing program in Vermont. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Pass the NCLEX-PN. Apply to Vermont Secretary of State - Nursing - Board for authorization to test, then pass the NCLEX-PN. An RN exam does not substitute.
- Apply for LPN or LVN licensure. Obtain the practical or vocational nursing license from Vermont Secretary of State - Nursing - Board before practicing. Confirm reciprocity with the board.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Licensed Vocational Nurse License Requirements in Vermont
Vermont licenses practical and vocational nurses through Vermont Secretary of State - Nursing - Board. The path is an approved PN or VN program, the NCLEX-PN, and a state LPN or LVN license. Some states use the LVN title; others use LPN. See Vermont Secretary of State - Nursing - Board 3.
Typical path
Meet the program’s entry rules.
Complete a state-approved practical or vocational nursing program.
Pass the NCLEX-PN.
Apply to Vermont Secretary of State - Nursing - Board for LPN or LVN licensure.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Vermont Secretary of State - Nursing - Board before you enroll.
Licensed Vocational Nurse Wages by Metro Area in Vermont
Licensed Practical and Licensed Vocational Nurses Wages by Metro Area in Vermont
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses wages in Vermont vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Burlington-South Burlington | 350 | $75,920 | $73,410 | $58,300 | $90,940 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for licensed vocational nurses in Vermont? Vermont currently employs approximately 1,130 licensed vocational nurses 1. Nationally, licensed vocational nurse employment is projected to grow 2.6% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a licensed vocational nurse in Vermont with an out-of-state license? Contact the Vermont Secretary of State - Nursing - Board for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Vermont? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Vermont.
How much do licensed vocational nurses earn in Vermont compared to the national average? The median annual wage for licensed vocational nurses in Vermont is $69,930, which is $7,590 above the national median of $62,340 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Vermont
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Vermont (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Vermont
- Best HVAC Schools in Vermont (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Vermont
- Best Plumbing Schools in Vermont (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Vermont
Explore More Trades in Vermont
- Electrician in Vermont
- Plumber in Vermont
- HVAC Technician in Vermont
- Welder in Vermont
- Carpenter in Vermont
- Solar Installation Technician in Vermont
- Auto Mechanic in Vermont
- CNC Machinist in Vermont
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Vermont
- Medical Assistant in Vermont
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Vermont Secretary of State - Nursing - Board - Licensing Information: https://sos.vermont.gov/nursing/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |