How to Become an Occupational Therapy Assistant in Iowa (2026)
Iowa employs about 400 occupational therapy assistants earning a median $64,140 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as an Occupational Therapy Assistant here means completing an ACOTE-accredited OTA program, the NBCOT COTA exam, and state OTA licensure. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Iowa): $64,140/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Iowa: 400 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.77x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 19.2% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Occupational Therapy Assistant Schools in Iowa
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Kirkwood Community College | 56.3 | Contact school for pricing | $48,663 | Not reported | Yes* | 90 mi |
| 2 | Western Technical College | 56.2 | Contact school for pricing | $53,114 | 36% | Yes* | 141 mi |
| 3 | Indian Hills Community College | 56.1 | Contact school for pricing | $50,322 | Not reported | Yes* | 105 mi |
| 4 | Hawkeye Community College | 54.6 | Contact school for pricing | $49,163 | 38% | Yes* | 48 mi |
| 5 | Ross College-Davenport | 23.4 | Contact school for pricing | $34,405 | 62% | — | 152 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Iowa employs approximately 400 occupational therapy assistants according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $64,140 1. Nationally, occupational therapy assistant employment is projected to grow 19.2% from 2024 to 2034, with about 7,200 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become an Occupational Therapy Assistant in Iowa, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: ACOTE-accredited occupational therapy assistant program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: an ACOTE-accredited OTA program, the NBCOT COTA exam, and state OTA licensure
- Exam: NBCOT COTA
- Median wage (Iowa): $64,140 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become an Occupational Therapy Assistant in Iowa
How to become an Occupational Therapy Assistant in Iowa? Complete an ACOTE-accredited OTA program, the NBCOT COTA exam, and state OTA licensure. Apply through the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish an ACOTE-accredited OTA program, the NBCOT COTA exam, and state OTA licensure. Confirm current hour totals with the program and the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Iowa? Yes. Iowa typically registers this role through the program and employer. See the licensing section below.
What do occupational therapy assistants earn in Iowa? The median annual wage for occupational therapy assistants in Iowa is $64,140 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $47,670 and experienced professionals can earn $79,800 or more 1.
How to Become an Occupational Therapy Assistant in Iowa
- Meet program entry rules. OTA programs typically require a high school diploma or GED and prerequisites.
- Complete an ACOTE-accredited OTA program. Finish an associate-level ACOTE-accredited program in Iowa. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Pass NBCOT COTA. Pass the NBCOT Certified Occupational Therapy Assistant exam.
- Apply for state OTA licensure. Apply to the program and employer. Do not treat occupational therapist rows as the assistant path.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Occupational Therapy Assistant License Requirements in Iowa
Occupational therapy assistants complete an ACOTE-accredited program, pass NBCOT COTA, and apply to the program and employer.
Typical path
Complete an ACOTE-accredited OTA program.
Pass NBCOT COTA.
Apply to the program and employer for OTA licensure.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Occupational Therapy Assistant Wages by Metro Area in Iowa
Occupational Therapy Assistants Wages by Metro Area in Iowa
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), occupational therapy assistants wages in Iowa vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Des Moines-West Des Moines | 80 | $64,250 | $66,830 | $50,780 | $83,780 |
| Omaha | 80 | $65,930 | $66,170 | $49,950 | $81,110 |
| Davenport-Moline-Rock Island | 60 | $61,510 | $66,030 | $42,710 | $93,600 |
| Cedar Rapids | 50 | $52,560 | $56,060 | $46,750 | $72,850 |
| Waterloo-Cedar Falls | 40 | $61,560 | $62,040 | $47,670 | $74,320 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for occupational therapy assistants in Iowa? Iowa currently employs approximately 400 occupational therapy assistants 1. Nationally, occupational therapy assistant employment is projected to grow 19.2% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as an occupational therapy assistant in Iowa with an out-of-state license? Contact the program and employer for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Iowa? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Iowa.
How much do occupational therapy assistants earn in Iowa compared to the national average? The median annual wage for occupational therapy assistants in Iowa is $64,140, which is $4,200 below the national median of $68,340 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Iowa
Top local programs
- Best Occupational Therapy Assistant Programs in Altoona, Iowa (2026)
- Best Occupational Therapy Assistant Programs in Ames, Iowa (2026)
- Best Occupational Therapy Assistant Programs in Ankeny, Iowa (2026)
- Best Occupational Therapy Assistant Programs in Bettendorf, Iowa (2026)
- Best Occupational Therapy Assistant Programs in Boone, Iowa (2026)
- Best Occupational Therapy Assistant Programs in Burlington, Iowa (2026)
- Best Occupational Therapy Assistant Programs in Cedar Falls, Iowa (2026)
- Best Occupational Therapy Assistant Programs in Cedar Rapids, Iowa (2026)
- Best Occupational Therapy Assistant Programs in Clinton, Iowa (2026)
- Best Occupational Therapy Assistant Programs in Clive, Iowa (2026)
- Best Occupational Therapy Assistant Programs in Coralville, Iowa (2026)
- Best Occupational Therapy Assistant Programs in Council Bluffs, Iowa (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Iowa (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Iowa
- Best HVAC Schools in Iowa (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Iowa
- Best Plumbing Schools in Iowa (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Iowa
Explore More Trades in Iowa
- Electrician in Iowa
- Plumber in Iowa
- HVAC Technician in Iowa
- Welder in Iowa
- Carpenter in Iowa
- Solar Installation Technician in Iowa
- Auto Mechanic in Iowa
- CNC Machinist in Iowa
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Iowa
- Medical Assistant in Iowa
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |