How to Become an Occupational Therapy Assistant in Louisiana (2026)

Louisiana employs about 760 occupational therapy assistants earning a median $66,090 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as an Occupational Therapy Assistant here means completing an ACOTE-accredited OTA program, the NBCOT COTA exam, and state OTA licensure. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.

Key Facts

  • Median wage (Louisiana): $66,090/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Employed in Louisiana: 760 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Location quotient: 1.18x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Projected growth: 19.2% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)

Sponsored - request program info

Compare Occupational Therapy Assistant Schools in Louisiana

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
153.5Contact school for pricing$39,984Not reportedYes*175 mi
252.2Contact school for pricing$43,603Not reportedYes*131 mi
351.3Contact school for pricing$44,103Not reportedYes*156 mi
450.4Contact school for pricing$29,29942%Yes*173 mi
542.3Contact school for pricing$43,03314%Yes*155 mi
641.7Contact school for pricing$48,14123%Yes*120 mi

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Louisiana employs approximately 760 occupational therapy assistants according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $66,090 1. Nationally, occupational therapy assistant employment is projected to grow 19.2% from 2024 to 2034, with about 7,200 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become an Occupational Therapy Assistant in Louisiana, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.

At a Glance

  • Training paths: ACOTE-accredited occupational therapy assistant program (find programs)
  • Typical timeline: an ACOTE-accredited OTA program, the NBCOT COTA exam, and state OTA licensure
  • Exam: NBCOT COTA
  • Median wage (Louisiana): $66,090 per year 1

Quick Answers About How to Become an Occupational Therapy Assistant in Louisiana

How to become an Occupational Therapy Assistant in Louisiana? Complete an ACOTE-accredited OTA program, the NBCOT COTA exam, and state OTA licensure. Apply through the program and employer.

How long does it take? Most people finish an ACOTE-accredited OTA program, the NBCOT COTA exam, and state OTA licensure. Confirm current hour totals with the program and the program and employer.

Do I need a license in Louisiana? Yes. Louisiana typically registers this role through the program and employer. See the licensing section below.

What do occupational therapy assistants earn in Louisiana? The median annual wage for occupational therapy assistants in Louisiana is $66,090 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $31,530 and experienced professionals can earn $83,200 or more 1.

How to Become an Occupational Therapy Assistant in Louisiana

  1. Meet program entry rules. OTA programs typically require a high school diploma or GED and prerequisites.
  2. Complete an ACOTE-accredited OTA program. Finish an associate-level ACOTE-accredited program in Louisiana. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
  3. Pass NBCOT COTA. Pass the NBCOT Certified Occupational Therapy Assistant exam.
  4. Apply for state OTA licensure. Apply to the program and employer. Do not treat occupational therapist rows as the assistant path.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Occupational Therapy Assistant License Requirements in Louisiana

Occupational therapy assistants complete an ACOTE-accredited program, pass NBCOT COTA, and apply to the program and employer.

Typical path

  1. Complete an ACOTE-accredited OTA program.

  2. Pass NBCOT COTA.

  3. Apply to the program and employer for OTA licensure.

Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.

Occupational Therapy Assistant Wages by Metro Area in Louisiana

Occupational Therapy Assistants Wages by Metro Area in Louisiana

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), occupational therapy assistants wages in Louisiana vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Baton Rouge130$63,030$53,910$19,570$84,800
New Orleans-Metairie130$65,850$70,460$59,220$90,190
Shreveport-Bossier City90$69,570$66,160$44,640$81,530
Lafayette60$64,900$66,910$52,540$79,780
Lake Charles50$77,820$73,930$61,210$95,450
Houma-Bayou Cane-Thibodaux40$75,850$71,900$60,510$93,320
Monroe40$64,130$63,700$49,240$77,320

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for occupational therapy assistants in Louisiana? Louisiana currently employs approximately 760 occupational therapy assistants 1. Nationally, occupational therapy assistant employment is projected to grow 19.2% from 2024 to 2034 2.

Can I work as an occupational therapy assistant in Louisiana with an out-of-state license? Contact the program and employer for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.

What training programs are available in Louisiana? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Louisiana.

How much do occupational therapy assistants earn in Louisiana compared to the national average? The median annual wage for occupational therapy assistants in Louisiana is $66,090, which is $2,250 below the national median of $68,340 according to BLS data 1.

In Louisiana

Top local programs

Explore More Trades in Louisiana

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)