How to Become an Optician in California (2026)
California employs about 7,840 opticians earning a median $57,990 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as an Optician here means completing an opticianry program or apprenticeship where the state uses one, then a dispensing-optician license in states that license the trade. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
Compare Optician Schools in California
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Pasadena City College | 71.5 | Contact school for pricing | $48,980 | Not reported | Yes* | 119 mi |
| 2 | Irvine Valley College | 65.0 | $1,156 - $13,001 | $55,055 | 57% | — | 157 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Rio Salado College | 60.8 | Contact school for pricing | $58,656 | 6% | Yes* | 452 mi |
| 4 | American Career College-Ontario | 52.5 | Contact school for pricing | $43,139 | Not reported | Yes* | 142 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute | 52.4 | Contact school for pricing | $34,652 | Not reported | Yes* | 725 mi |
| 6 | San Jose City College | 47.4 | Contact school for pricing | $57,895 | 33% | Yes* | 186 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | College of Southern Nevada | 46.6 | Contact school for pricing | $51,080 | 19% | Yes* | 246 mi |
| 8 | American Career College-Los Angeles | 43.6 | Contact school for pricing | $42,969 | 74% | — | 117 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
California employs approximately 7,840 opticians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $57,990 1. Nationally, optician employment is projected to grow 2.9% from 2024 to 2034, with about 6,800 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become an Optician in California, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: opticianry program or state-recognized apprentice path (find programs)
- Typical timeline: an opticianry program or apprenticeship where the state uses one, then a dispensing-optician license in states that license the trade
- Exam: ABO-NCLE and/or the state dispensing-optician exam
- Median wage (California): $57,990 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become an Optician in California
How to become an Optician in California? Complete an opticianry program or apprenticeship where the state uses one, then a dispensing-optician license in states that license the trade. Apply through the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish an opticianry program or apprenticeship where the state uses one, then a dispensing-optician license in states that license the trade. Confirm current hour totals with the program and the program and employer.
Do I need a license in California? Yes. California typically registers this role through the program and employer. See the licensing section below.
What do opticians earn in California? The median annual wage for opticians in California is $57,990 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $42,390 and experienced professionals can earn $81,680 or more 1.
How to Become an Optician in California
- Meet entry rules. Confirm age and education with the program and employer. Do not treat minimum age as years of work.
- Complete an opticianry program or recognized apprentice path. Some states use a two-year program; others use a board-registered apprentice path. That is not a DAS construction apprenticeship.
- Pass ABO-NCLE or the state exam. Confirm which exam the program and employer requires.
- Apply for the dispensing-optician license. Apply to the program and employer in states that license opticians. Do not treat optometrist rows as the optician path.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Optician License Requirements in California
Dispensing opticians are licensed in some states. The path is an opticianry program or board apprentice route, then the state exam. Optometrist licenses are a different occupation.
Typical path
Complete an opticianry program or board apprentice path.
Pass the required exam.
Apply to the program and employer where the state licenses opticians.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Optician Wages by Metro Area in California
Opticians, Dispensing Wages by Metro Area in California
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), opticians, dispensing wages in California vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Los Angeles-Long Beach-Anaheim | 3,070 | $56,130 | $59,720 | $40,570 | $81,920 |
| San Francisco-Oakland-Fremont | 940 | $58,360 | $65,260 | $37,580 | $94,410 |
| Riverside-San Bernardino-Ontario | 870 | $55,070 | $58,870 | $42,050 | $79,090 |
| Sacramento-Roseville-Folsom | 580 | $62,240 | $63,200 | $46,100 | $80,430 |
| San Diego-Chula Vista-Carlsbad | 490 | $58,240 | $62,200 | $45,640 | $80,240 |
| San Jose-Sunnyvale-Santa Clara | 390 | $60,480 | $66,100 | $50,750 | $83,570 |
| Fresno | 160 | $50,960 | $58,460 | $42,600 | $78,070 |
| Oxnard-Thousand Oaks-Ventura | 150 | $50,520 | $58,630 | $45,640 | $81,660 |
| Bakersfield-Delano | 130 | $46,970 | $55,360 | $42,590 | $78,830 |
| Modesto | 120 | $59,010 | $60,400 | $37,580 | $79,090 |
| Santa Rosa-Petaluma | 120 | $77,460 | $70,420 | $48,270 | $87,940 |
| Stockton-Lodi | 120 | $58,250 | $61,670 | $45,260 | $79,090 |
| Vallejo | 90 | $78,830 | $69,690 | $47,760 | $86,220 |
| Salinas | 50 | $55,140 | $57,190 | $35,150 | $77,460 |
| Santa Cruz-Watsonville | 50 | $55,950 | $58,650 | $46,910 | $77,460 |
| Santa Maria-Santa Barbara | 50 | $55,680 | $60,530 | $42,350 | $78,830 |
| Napa | 40 | $57,620 | $63,080 | $49,170 | $84,560 |
| Redding | 40 | $46,040 | $50,150 | $39,540 | $77,460 |
| San Luis Obispo-Paso Robles | 40 | $55,380 | $58,180 | $44,240 | $78,830 |
| Visalia | 40 | $50,590 | $57,690 | $45,180 | $79,090 |
| Chico | 30 | $56,100 | $60,110 | $45,050 | $77,460 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for opticians in California? California currently employs approximately 7,840 opticians 1. Nationally, optician employment is projected to grow 2.9% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as an optician in California with an out-of-state license? Contact the program and employer for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in California? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in California.
How much do opticians earn in California compared to the national average? The median annual wage for opticians in California is $57,990, which is $11,430 above the national median of $46,560 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In California
Top local programs
- Best Optician Programs in Adelanto, California (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Agoura Hills, California (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Alameda, California (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Alhambra, California (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Aliso Viejo, California (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in American Canyon, California (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Anaheim, California (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Antioch, California (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Apple Valley, California (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Arcadia, California (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Arroyo Grande, California (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Arvin, California (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in California (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in California
- Best HVAC Schools in California (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in California
- Best Plumbing Schools in California (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in California
Explore More Trades in California
- Electrician in California
- Plumber in California
- HVAC Technician in California
- Welder in California
- Carpenter in California
- Solar Installation Technician in California
- Auto Mechanic in California
- CNC Machinist in California
- Certified Nursing Assistant in California
- Medical Assistant in California
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |